We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky find on long road trip”
Review of Continental Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Continental Inn
Ranked #111 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lucky find on long road trip”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were travelling from Maryland to Atlanta and had made tentative plans to travel further on first day but my granddaughter was sick and we decided to stop in Charlotte and called hotel.com to make reservation. We checked into a hotel and we had the most horrible experience and demanded a full refund. After having lost 1 hour of driving time we were exhausted. The luck was seeing CONTINENTAL INN and an "Open" sign. This is a clean and safe place to spend a night with your family, not a drug or prostitute hang-out. travelling with family I want clean rooms, clean bedding and towels, safe enviroment, refrigerator, microwave, Wi-Fi. The price was right, AAA accepted, the breakfast was a BONUS. It is located in a very commercial area with restaurants, banks, gas stations, but Quiet and just off I85 exit 41

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALICIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    16
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
10
14
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have stayed here on regular days as well as special events, and I must say that I am impressed with the kind of service continental inn provides for their guests.
First off the ambience was clean and quiet. There were many fast food chains around the area. The staff is always friendly and enthusiastic even though we checked in after mid-night.
The house-keepers had done a fantastic job keeping the rooms clean and well maintained. No hassles, no issues. I would be certainly coming back to Charlotte and looking forward to stay here again.

Room Tip: reserve early and ask for one on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velm
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very good hotel, clean and cheap.
only the location is a little bit on the downside.
we had no problems whatsoever, but looking around doesn't give you a safe feeling.
there is no pool, so couldn't give a rating about that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Icesaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stay one night in the hotel clean room wonderful location. I was overcharged $100 and I was told that I was laying in the bed and I haved visitors at 11:00 pm by the manager. Hotel has no visitor policy!!! I was visiting family that lived Charlotte my family lived a mile from the hotel that why I chose it. The visitor was my great Aunt a 64 year old lady.. Stay away from this hotel by the way got my money back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental I, Manager at Continental Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2015
Nice to here you loved the place.

I would like to mention we don't appreciate visitors after 7 pm.

I am really sorry to hear you had an extra charge on your card and that it was refunded to you.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
228 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed over night passing through. No reservations, received a nice room, close to the office with easy parking, and the staff proved courteous. There is a Wendy's restaurant next to this hotel with another fast food place across the street for close-by eating. The internet was fast and television had mostly local channels - no cable, but was ok for providing background noise. The hotel had security cameras throughout the premises. Location was just out of Charlotte's busy downtown area (which was also nice by the way). The room wasn't the cleanest (would not call it dirty either), but the price was charged at $60.00 for the night which is less than half if one were to have stayed downtown.

Room Tip: The room had a desk to sit at right by the television while using one's computer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

First impression was AGED budget inn, and that's what I was looking for. Inn has esstinal stuffs provided such as breakfast, free WiFi. Location is great as well. However, at least I would like to see new tint on matress in future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cactus_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
#110 of 177 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
#113 of 177 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Charlotte
Motel 6 Charlotte
#159 of 177 in Charlotte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#82 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Property: Continental Inn
Address: 1100 W Sugar Creek Rd, Charlotte, NC 28213-5420
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Continental Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Continental Inn located off Interstate 85 in Charlotte. After a long, tiring day on the road, there's nothing better than checking into a motel that offers the best location, the most amenities and a totally stress free environment. If you want truly affordable Luxury, look no further! Choosing this Continental Inn will be the easiest part of your trip. At the Continental Inn, we want you to enjoy your stay and to help make sure that happens we offer beautiful, clean rooms, to help you relax at the end of a busy day. Amenities: Free hot deluxe Breakfast w/ Eggs and waffles, Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet, Free Local and Long Distance calls, Micro/Fridge in rooms, Cable TV with HBO in All Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing