We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood
Ranked #44 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Not a good value”
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Not an inexpensive hotel but is not equal to the service provided at nearby same-price hotels. The costly breakfast buffet is lopusy; some colleagues stayed across the street at a Holiday Inn and their breakfast, included, was better than the food served here.
There are no restuarants within walking distance. So if you are dining out for all meals and brining in any snacks such as fresh fruit, this won't bother you. The hotel keys say "Feel free to wander" but the second shift deskclerks are unfriendly about guests enjoying the lobby6...Most Courtyards make the guest very welcome to all the shared/common spaces; I'm not staying here again for this price I will stay at luxury style suite nearby. There are only 3 redeeming factors to this hotel 1- indoor spa; 2-large attractive courtyard garden;3-fresh indoor air. Its due for an interior overhaul too- not ragged yet but well-worn.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank researchpro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    113
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
91
61
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Very nice hotel. Everything was polished and meticulously clean. Room was spacious, very comfortable beds, good shower, spotless. Staff friendly, organized and knowledgeable of the area. Convenient location. Very good experience will be very happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquariusBusyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The ONLY hotel I ever stayed at which charged for a buffet no better than any free one in the country. For 23.90 for 2, I could have fed a family of five at Denny's. They have a sign about "weekend" buffet for 10.95, but your usual presumption is that "weekend" is Sat and Sun.
No vending machines, just a "Market" where a 20 0z Pepsi or bottle of water is 2.50

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

the room is your average hotel room so I can only rate it average. I do however have some issues:
1. the web site says it is a $20.00 taxi ride from the airport but mine cost $37.00 - if it was just $5 difference i wouldn't say anything but almost $20 more is to big not to mention
2. the room was very hot and stuffy. the air was completely off - i know it is to save money but when you are checking in on a hot June night this is not a very welcoming.
3. the facility is supposedly smoke free but to get into the lobby you have to walk through a cloud of smoke which is extremely frustrating.
4. again - smoke free? not so sure - the second floor smelled not of cigarette smoke but of marijuana.
5. no wirelss in the rooms and the internet took several minutes to finally come up once I plugged in and didn't work on the first try either - the third time was the charm and I am an IT person so I know what I am doing.
6. you have to sign up daily for the internet instead of being able to sign up for the duration of the stay - minor but for those that use it alot could be annoying.

so I said overall I will recomment this hotel because it is not bad enough to tell someone not to stay at all but I have definately stayed in better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof411083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I stay at alot of Marriott brands but this was my first Courtyard stay so I can't compare it to other Courtyards. I stayed here because it is a Marriott brand and the price was good. It was race weekend (wasn't there for the race) and alot of places were higher. The hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff was courteous and the maid service was prompt. The internet was faster than most Marriott’s I have used. My room was located close to and outside exit which was handy for loading and unloading. I didn't use the pool but it looked very nice and I also had a small patio outside of my sliding glass door. I didn't use the breakfast because I was in a hurry both mornings and just went through a local drive through, I do agree with one poster that $12 seems high for breakfast when I could go somewhere else cheaper. I also agree with one poster that seeing a sign "Did you remember to lock your doors, windows, and remove all of your valuables from your vehicle" doesn't make you feel good, but I have noticed those signs at alot of places in Charlotte, so I don't know that the sign means it is an unsafe area.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphinfan200013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This is a fine place to stay, but there is nothing special about it. Everything is just OK. The room is clean, but lacks a refrigerator. Internet access requires a plug-in - wireless is not available. The connection is a little slow, but not terribly so. The breakfast food is fine, but it is included in my rate. I wouldn't pay for it otherwise. The staff is friendly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tldolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2010

No problems with this place at all, especially considering the great price that we got! The only issue I had was with their phone service when I called them from home before arriving. There was a bad phone connection everytime I called. The beds here were VERY soft and they have 4 pillows per bed, but they are half size pillows. We didn't use the internet while we were there, so I don't know about that. My husband left something in the room, and rememered after we checked out. The staff was very helpful at helping him retrieve the book he left in the room.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank demdelgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montclaire South
TownePlace Suites Charlotte Arrowood
Montclaire South
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte-Arrowood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood

Property: Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood
Address: 800 W Arrowood Rd, Charlotte, NC 28217-5006
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#25 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#53 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood hotel near Carowinds is just minutes from downtown Charlotte at the junction of I-485 and I-77. Its convenient location offers easy access to the Charlotte Convention Center, Fort Mill, SC and attractions such as Carowinds Theme Park and the Billy Graham Library. Business travelers to this Courtyard Charlotte, NC hotel can take advantage of thoughtful amenities and flexible work space with complimentary high-speed internet. Business Parks such as Whitehall, Red Oak and Arrowpoint are minutes away, plus the Charlotte International Airport (CLT) is just 9 miles from the hotel. Families on vacation can relax in our outdoor pool, have breakfast and/or dinner in The Bistro, and enjoy the always friendly Marriott service. For those looking to plan a seminar, meeting or event in Charlotte, the hotel offers 1,200 square feet of flexible meeting facilities. We look forward to welcoming you to the greater Charlotte area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Charlotte Arrowood Hotel Charlotte
Courtyard Charlotte Arrowwood
Charlotte Marriott
Charlotte Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing