We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible staff!!! Horrible rooms!!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #132 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible staff!!! Horrible rooms!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Staff was smoking cigarettes while giving service.the room had no lighting except over the beds changed rooms twice because of the horrible mildew smell in carpet then on top of all the hell..the trailer trash front desk (blank) was trying to charge $40.00 because I left the room at 12:15 telling me I need to leave or she was going to call the police..really!!!! All I have to say is f#@ Woodlawn inn

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beentherednthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
New owners and renovated hotel since May 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    12
    8
    19
See reviews for
14
12
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
258 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a run-down, dirty dump. The clientele are the drug dealers, prostitutes and pimps whose business is related to the strip club NEXT DOOR TO THIS CESSPOOL. The parking lot fills up at night with loud, drunk, scary people, laughing, screaming, blowing their vehicle horns and scattering garbage everywhere.

The rooms are dirty: peeling wallpaper, badly re-painted bathrooms, dingy stained towels and sheets. Bad television. Ugly, mismatched, uncomfortable furniture. Thin walls. Dirty carpet. I found LONG GROSS HAIRS in the tub and in the bed.

It's very telling that among the things inside the rooms is a NOTE DETAILING WHAT TO DO IF YOU WITNESS OR SUSPECT HUMAN TRAFFICKING!

Stay far, far away. If you get stuck with a reservation here, protect yourself. Don't even check in. Park at the IHOP (to protect your car) and spend the night drinking coffee.

Room Tip: Do not check in. Park at the IHOP under a street light and sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingbillbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
New owners and renovated hotel since May 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The staff was pleasant and made me feel at home and at ease, it was a good deal for your buck. restaurants were near by, i hop and etc... the traffic was bad in the area but overall the hotel was a fair experience alot of customer service so i will certainly stay again the rooms were decent as well. they have wifi but the breakfast is just a starter.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhan6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here on a week long paint job out of town. I selected the hotel because of its location/price and wasn't disappointed. Less than a mile to interstate 77 was helpful getting to my jobs on time. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the free WIFI had a strong signal. The free breakfast was okay but there was an IHOP in the same parking lot plus there was a delicious Mexican restaurant next door. Overall good experience and would stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was on the entrance side of the hotel just off the elevator and had no noise or compaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanS275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here on a business trip and want to say it was great experience. The place was clean and smelled pleasant. The location was centrally located and near interstate 77. It also had a strong internet connection which helped with business. The breakfast was very fulfilling and offered a wide variety of choices. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here CIAA Weekend. When you pulled up you might be a lil worried looking on the outside. But it was a good hotel and I booked at the last minute. Check was easy breezy the staff was nice. The cleaning lady was really sweet. Overall I enjoyed my stay and will probably stay there nice year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellanicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The customer service at this hotel is absolutely horrible. The location is ok, it is right off the interstate however, it is right behind a ihop and good luck making a left. The rooms at sub par at best. The sheets are well used and the room has an odor. Thank God I did not stay here with my daughter because I would definitely be leaving with her upon walking into the room. The woman at the front desk was miserable and very rude. I asked for a late check out and was told that I NEEDED to check out on time. Today is Thanksgiving and she must not have got the memo. I would not stay at another Howard Johnson if my car was the only other option. Very dissatisfied. Save your money! Go someplace else.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_mangan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadLogan, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
As the saying goes, better late than never..
Dear Valued Guest, we appreciate your feedback on the former Howard Johnson and are disappointed to hear of such an unsatisfactory stay. However, we are pleased to announce that the hotel has been purchased by new owners and rebranded to something that we can all be proud of. Our guest service agents are dedicated to providing you with superior service every moment of your stay and we insist you return to experience that. Should you return I would like to personally handle your accommodations and oversee your guaranteed experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Montclaire South
Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 122 W Woodlawn Rd, Charlotte, NC 28217-2172 (Formerly Woodlawn Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated hotel. We offer complimentary hot breakfast every morning from 6 am to 9 am, free WIFI, fitness center and a business center. We are one mile from light rail if you wish to explore downtown Charlotte. We offer 24 hour free shuttle service to Charlotte Douglas International airport and US Air training center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Charlotte
Charlotte Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing