We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect from a Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Exactly what you expect from a Hilton”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for a business meeting and it was exactly what you expect from a Hilton Hotel. Very clean large room, outstanding service, good breakfast and very close to several restaurants.
Have stayed here in the past and always look forward to attending meetings and staying overnight at this location. An added bonus is that the pricing is great for this quality of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Pjkiss

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the amenity we offer. Your unquestionable loyalty is something we do not take for granted and we look forward to your next visit to Charlotte.

Sincerely
Guest Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    377
    141
    79
    36
See reviews for
326
252
76
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I used the Hilton University in Charlotte NC for my 16 year marriage renewal. I began working with the Hilton staff (Emily Bowers) in February of 2013. Between my planner (Fabulously Create Events) and Emily I didnt worry about a thing. The Hotel allowed me and my husband to visit any time we wanted to look around, measure the gazeebo etc, which made my life much easier and lessened my anxiety.

Our event went off without a hitch! The hotel was beautiful, we were married (or renewed our vows) on the pier with the back drop of the water fountain (breathtaking). The area was clean and beautiful. My guest loved the ambiance of it. After the ceremony the staff waited for my guests and handed them glasses of wine and water as they entered the beautifully decorated room.
Many of my friends and family stayed at the hotel. The allowed me to leave gift bags for each of my guests and my guests loved their rooms. Everyone thought it was a perfect idea to have everything in one place. Which also meant that I didnt have to worry about having an open bar!

My husband and I had the time of our lives.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have the most beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Darla B,

On behalf of our management team we would like to congratulate you on such a momentous milestone and allowing us to be part of it all. Thank you for taking the time to share your exceptional service story with others. We look forward to many more milestone!

Sincerely
Guest Loyalty Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I usually stay at Marriott hotels for business but bit on a Hilton promotion to get Gold status for a few months. So I got to stay on an "executive" level at this hotel, which I assumed would earn me an extra nice room. To my surprise, the carpet was worn and dirty, the walls near the bed had several food or drink stains that could likely be cleaned if they tried harder (room 1028, btw), the bathroom was cramped and had a crappy old shower/tub, and the walls were thin enough for me to listen to the programming next door.

The only mild positives were a decent bed and room furniture.

All in all, I was not very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marteen239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello Marteen239,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase our usual levels of service when your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

Sincerely
Guest Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I was in Charlotte for a conference. There was 600+ attendees. The staff was very helpful. The front desk staff was extremely helpful with the local area and having the business center right in the lobby made it easily accessible. The breakfast buffet was bountiful however the restaurant was a little small for the size of the hotel.Trip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake! Its an awesome view.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lanny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Lanny68,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Charlotte!

At your service
Guest Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Staying at the Hilton University Place was not only a pleasurable experience due to the professional Hilton service but was also a wonderful atmosphere for conference attendance and enjoying the surrounding lake area with fantastic restaurants and shopping! The service from the front lobby personnel to the restaurant servers to the bellhops gathering luggage in the pouring rain to all other personnel was exceptionally professional, courteous, and catered to a traveler's every need.
The combined restaurant and bar area was splendid with numerous groupings into the outer area to relax and enjoy drinks/food. The hotel overlooks a beautiful lake area with other wonderful restaurants surrounding the water - a very picturesque setting to compliment a busy day and provide total relaxation.
For exercise and physical activity there is a superb fitness room and/or one can run/jog/walk around the lake. The accommodation is quality Hilton with comfortable and plush beds and views overlooking the lake. There is spacious areas within the room for business purposes, WIFI, desk, and lounging.
Due to the fact that I was speaking at a conference at this facility, I was able to witness their conference personnel in action who provided wonderful refreshments, kept the various conference rooms clean, refreshed and tidy, and ran a superb operation throughout the vast conference area setup.
There is ample parking and the hotel is located next door to a shopping area which is very convenient as well as a major downtown park within a mile for walking or running.
Overall this visit to the Hilton University Place was a total professional/pleasurable experience which rates much higher than the scale provided.

Room Tip: If you pay just a little bit more, you can have a room on the executive floors which is well worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladd298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Ladd298,

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful review about our service and amenities. Our employees are so excited to receive reviews that praise their service and hard work! Thank you and look forward to your next visit to Charlotte.

Sincerely
Guest Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel was very nice with a great on site restaurant. Was there on the Friday before a Nascar race so traffic was terrible. Exiting off of 85 and trying to get over to turn into the property was just about impossible,much easier to go past and then take a right to come back across at a light.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello Wesley S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and look forward to your next visit to Charlotte.

At your service,
Guest Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A recent stay at this hotel rated a solid "average".
I found the public facilities and room to be dated and due for renovation. The carpet, in particular, was stained and worn. Convention facilities were inadequate for the event I attended. Small cramped breakout rooms and a awkward conference room (Grand Ballroom?), with less-than-current AV capabilities are cited. A group lunch event was unimpressive, both in service and food quality. Breakfast buffets were adequate.
The location is in an economically hard-hit area - even a once-local Wal-Mart has closed - how often do you ever see that? The adjacent Boardwalk offers a few very casual dining options and more shuttered storefronts. Food service overall was average, although the Turkey panini is a good choice.
Room maid service was inconsistent. One day the room was serviced after 4pm. Shower soap was removed and not replaced and the in-room coffee was not replenished.
Lobby bar was small and awkwardly placed, but Guinness on-tap scores large with me. Other local micro-brews were also on-tap.
Summary: needs updating, convention facilities are very limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agyei O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Loge54,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guest expect. We are deeply sorry our hotel amenities did not live up to your expectation. Please know our hotel will be going through a total renovation starting next month and your concerns are on tap to be addressed. We have taken note of your comments and have shared them with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

At your service
Guest Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#45 of 178 in Charlotte
2,007 reviews
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Property: Hilton Charlotte University Place
Address: 8629 J M Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-8426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing