We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Nearby Hotels
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlotte Hotel(Charlotte)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Place Charlotte/Arrowood(Charlotte)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,673)
Filter reviews
1,673 results
Traveller rating
974
407
163
89
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
974
407
163
89
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewserin brownguest loyalty managerman made lakelake viewthe executive loungesmall lakecharlotte universityfamily reunionshopping and restaurantsbusiness tripexcellent stayvery nice hotelvalet parkingparking lotconferenceweddingbanquet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,138 - 1,143 of 1,673 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

everything went much better after we changed rooms. Adjoining rooms are very noisy, there is no sound barrier between the doors. No indoor pool in such a large, supposedly high-class hotel is ridiculous. The outdoor pool does not open until Memorial Day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Graham L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our adjoining guest rooms. We are the process of renovating our guest rooms to offer a better product. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

No complaints pretty decent place for the price. Rooms were quite with plenty of space (short term) for a family of 5. The breakfast room could have been a bigger. They have a very nice Happy Hour every Wednesday. The staff was friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and in nice condition however I would hope they would be planning an update in the next couple of years.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jason Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Jason Z,
Thank you for your feed back from your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our Manager's Reception on Wednesday evenings in our Executive Lounge. Our goal here at the Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel is to achieve Excellent Customer Satisfaction and was delighted to hear that our staff make your experience a pleasant one. We are in the process of renovations to offer a better product for our guests. For instance, our University Cafe, featuring "Starbucks" coffee just opened this past week. We look forward to you visiting us again soon!

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was okay, nothing to rave about. The room had a king size bed. The bathroom sink/counter looked warned out and the bedroom carpet was kinda stained, but not too offensive. What was good was the breakfast buffet. It's hard to beat at $5. It's a good value with good food. What impressed me was the hostess. She was very nice and was greeted everyday with a smile. The waitress, Kim, was equally as nice and she provided fast friendly service. Those two were more memorable than the hotel stay. The people up front should take note.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $5 per day for the breakfast buffet. There was sausage, bacon, variety of fruits, french toast, etc...great value.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 03rcode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear 03rcode,

Thank you for your feed back from your recent stay. We are in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms to offer a better product for our guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast with the variety of options to choose from. I will let our Restaurant Manager know that morning hostess and Kim did a great job! We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again and stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
The Hilton Charlotte University Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel was in the perfect location for my business trip I was able to walk to all of my appointments. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The van took me to the movies and when I needed a return ride they picked me up within 5 minutes. The breakfast bar was fantastic and the food choices were great. The staff accomodated the large group that we had for breakfast even though the room was packed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Kay M,

Thank you for your feed back from your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that our team went above and beyond from our bell staff, to the front desk, to sales and banquets team and our culinary and restaurant staff to make your stay and your event a successful one. Our goal is to give each and every guest the Ultimate Stay Experience! We look forward to hosting your conference in the future and choosing the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I are frequent travellers and always have difficulty finding a hotel that has everything you look for when you visit a different city. This hotel is the package. It is beautiful. It's in the best location in Charlotte. Great parking; valet or self service, really big parking lot. Very kind and courteous staff. Full size incredibly comfortable pillows on the bed, while many hotels are using cheap half size pillows these days. Lovely views of the water and lighted foot bridge at night from our room. Great coffee set up in our room with real creamers, not the powdered kind. Wonderful dinner and drink menu at their lovely on-site restaurant with an excellent wait staff. Really good selection on their breakfast bar. This will now be the only hotel we choose on our many return visits to Charlotte in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sharron6309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Sharron6309,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We were glad that our hotel is so convenient to many shops and restaurants in the area. We were delighted to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations both in customer service and the quality of our food and drinks. It is our goal that every guest has the Ultimate Stay Experience and hope that you continue to choose the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location. We look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews