We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crenshaw CountyAlabama Families Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Ranked #21 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, United States
1 review
“Crenshaw CountyAlabama Families Reunion”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our visit was to participate in a County Family reunion (Crenshaw County Alabama Families Reunion) 17-21 July 2014. Every venue was clean, dressed and ready on time. All staff was professionally in all actions and especially Ms. Stubbs-Hall. As I said earlier she is a keeper. Keep up the great work

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ned S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Ned S,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms and that we met and exceeded your expectations with your Family Reunion Event. Hats off to Ms. Monique Stubbs-Hall, as well as our Culinary Staff and Banquets Staff for making your reunion a huge success. Our staff strives to go above and beyond and to give our guests the "wow" experience. It is our goal that every guest has the Ultimate Stay Experience and hope that you continue to choose the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location. We look forward to hosting your family reunion again next year.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    380
    146
    82
    37
See reviews for
333
255
76
732
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New London, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very good all the way around. Definitely recommend this Hilton location - very close to office. Minor issue with TV. Accommodation were great - breakfast brunch was outstanding. Adjacent to shopping, restaurants, and other facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Matthew H,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We were glad to hear that our hotel is so conveniently located to many shops and restaurants and to your office. We were also delighted to hear that you enoyed breakfast in our Lakefront Restaurant. Hats off to our culinary staff for making wonderful healthy choices for our guests for breakfast. We look forward to you choosing the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location.

Very truly yours,
Marieta b | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our first time working with the Hilton Charlotte University Place, I've stayed at Hiltons before and enjoyed my stays. The Charlotte Hilton University Place updated their lobby, rooms, fittness and have a state of the art business center and also a coffee shop that serves Starbucks. We held our Family union there for 4 days and the staff worked so hard to make it wonderful event for us. I worked with Monique Stubs and Maureen Mullen, the only thing I had to do was give them the number attending and our food and beverage request and they worked with the restaurant manager and chef to make this seemless, much LOVE to the ladies and staff. Those who attended the banquet and other activities were very happy and said they had a great time. The Charlotte Hilton University Place is surrounded by restaurants,shopping, a walking trail around the lake and paddle boats that the kids really enjoyed with the ducks. The staff at this location will go out of their way to assist you and make your stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Ed G,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your Family Reunion. We were delighted to hear that our two Sales Managers, Monique Stubbs-Hall and Maureen Mullen went above and beyond to make sure your family reunion was a success. They work hand-in-hand with our culinary staff and banquets team to make each and every event memorable. We were also glad to hear that you enjoyed the lake with the surrounding shops and restaurants for your families to enjoy and that our front desk staff was very accommodating in mentioning all the activities to do such as the paddle boats and feeding the ducks. We look forward to hosting your family reunion again next year.

With Warm Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

hotel was very nice and staff very friendly cooling had some troubles but they were addressed promptly suroundings (lake area) was a bit dark very close to business area and restaurants. shuttle services was great

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sergio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sergio B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We are in the process of renovating all of our guests rooms to offer a better product for our guests, as well as making improvements to our A/C units. We were glad to hear that our Guest Service Agents were prompt in notifying Engineering and that our Engineering Department was quick in responding to the issues regarding the A/C units. We were also glad to hear that our hotel is conveniently located to the business areas and restaurants and that our shuttle drivers met and exceeded your expectations.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future and will have an opportunity to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The check-in clerk was kind enough to give me an upgraded room. It was an executive suite and it sure lived up to the designation. Loved everything about the room. It was of course on a high floor with great views. The room was overlooking this magnificent,thriving 'boardwalk' area, that is quite a happening place in the evening. There is a lake, with paved walking trails around it, and a great many decent restaurants lining them. The room itself was just splendid. It had a huge jacuzzi and ample spaces for a mini kitchenette, a luxurious bathroom with floor to ceiling glass enclosing showers (yes two, not one and one with multiple shower heads and jets)! The bed was extremely comfortable and relaxing. This was one of the best rooms I had stayed at a Hilton and that is why I hesitate to say anything negative about it. However I can't help but mention the following puzzling issue. The humongous suite had a teeny-tiny closet for clothes but what baffled me was that it had no rods and hangars! I have pictures to prove it. I did not complain to the management because I received a sweet welcoming email from them the moment I checked in. Also I had a workaround since I could keep my clothes in the garment bag as an alternative. So this would be the only reason I refrain from giving this stay the highest complement. Other than that this was a superb hotel stay for me in a long time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Subir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear SubirMukherjee,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of our parlor suites and you were able to stay in the room with our jacuzzi tub and mini kitchenette. We do apologize for the bar being missing in your closet during your stay; however, we have installed a new one. I hope that you will return again soon.

With Warm Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I've worked with the Hilton Charlotte University Place since 2008 and each year they get better. They have been so innovative in their renovations. They've updated the lobby and have a state of the art business center right there. They add a coffee shop that serves Starbucks. This was so popular during the event we held that by Sunday morning they were out of espresso!

We held a Banquet for the first time and the staff worked so hard to make it wonderful for us. Rich Shoener and Maureen Mullen worked with Marek and the Chef along with Garrett (restaurant manager) to make this seemless. Those who attended the banquet were very happy. (A private reading by George R.R. Martin might have had something to do with it.)

Because of a lot of logistics that needed to be closely monitored, the staff stayed in constant touch with our staff and they worked so hard to make our room changes work. Both the Banquet Captains - Marek and Jason (not Adam), are fantastic.

Elizabeth at the front desk also worked hard to help assist me and our guests to keep things running smoothly.

The security staff worked with our security staff to manage our party floors which were busier than ever this year.

We made use of every inch of space at this hotel including the courtyard outside of the Lakeview room. What a fantastic outdoor venue.

Also, a couple from our convention got married poolside. The pool has been renovated to make it another exquisite outdoor venue complete with a fireplace, cabanas, and a bar.

The Charlotte Hilton University Place is surrounded by restaurants and shopping (they are situated in the Shoppes at University Place). There are over 10 restaurants in very short walking distance.

However, the best part of this hotel is the people. The staff at this location will go out of their way to assist you and make your stay wonderful. Even if it means delivering fresh towels at 2am.

I highly recommend this property for events, business trips, and vacations. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jada Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Jada Hope,

Thank you so much for the outstanding feedback you gave us regarding your event. I can honestly say that we have an amazing Sales, Banquets and CulinaryTeam that strive to work together to make each event a successful one. I will share with Upper Management what a great job Rich, Maureen, Elizabeth, Chef, Garrett, Marek and Jason did to deliver the service you were expecting from a Hilton property. We look forward to hosting another one of your events in the future. Thank you again for your kind words. Our staff deserves the recognition!

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pace, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Except for the "no smoking" policy the accommodations are great. The lobster special for Wednesday's dinner was very tasty at a good price. The fitness center was excellent and modern.The hotel was very remote from the Convention Center. Required too much commute time on shuttle buses. Self-parking was inadequate. The staff was adequate and friendly. Closeness to the mall behind the hotel was a plus with restaurants on the perimeter and a nice nail salon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bernice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Bernice R,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your dining experience in our Lakefront Restaurant and your stay with us. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lobster and the many amenities our hotel has to offer. I can say without a doubt that we have an amazing culinary staff! They are very passionate about what they do and it shows in their presentation of their food and the quality as well. We were also glad to hear that you enjoyed the many shops and restaurants and that our location is conveniently located to the Convention Center. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#31 of 178 in Charlotte
1,527 reviews
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Property: Hilton Charlotte University Place
Address: 8629 J M Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-8426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing