We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bar and lounge Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Amazing Bar and lounge Staff!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I've been staying here on Business for a few weeks and the lounge staff is amazing. After working all day they are easily the highlight of my day. The staff consists mainly of two awesome ladies, Alanna and T, that make sure anything you need is taken care of. These two ladies are the reason I come back here to stay.
The overall Hotel is clean and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear 68piper,
It is great to hear that our staff is one of the reasons you come back to our hotel. We hope that you continue to choose the Holiday Inn Charlotte University as your home away from home!
-Anthony White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    135
    43
    22
    23
See reviews for
162
65
45
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

As part of a group staying there in November, we got the full look at the HI staff here, and they were sbsolutely top-flight start to finish. Any issues we had were addressed, from transporting us to a local mall (and the downtown arena) in groups, helping us with recommendations, answering questions and generally going the extra mile with anything we needed. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone heading to the Charlotte area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Tom M,
Thank you for the great review! We are glad that we could accomodate your group and that you had an excellent experience. Hope you choose the Holiday Inn Charlotte University for any future stays in Charlotte!
-Anthony White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Business and traveling is part of our lives me and my husband. Before we came to Charlotte we were reading about some hotels in our area of preference so we decided on the holiday inn specially we heard it is newly renovated, we stayed in it few years ago it was an ok place. so this time was really different it was easy to notice the changes. i love the fresh feel of newly renovated hotels. very clean and comfy. but you would not like the place unless there is nice staff guess what all of them were nice and friendly.
the downstairs restaurant was perfect place to hold our meeting. calm, neat and comfortable. the staff were professional. what added to our pleasant experience in there is meeting the sean the restaurant director who made sure everything was good, very nice guy with great personality. Rarely you meet someone like that who knows his job and seems his enjoys what he is doing. very educated and modest. My husband was impressed with his knowledge on hotels and food business, we learnt several things from him during the short time we spoke to him.
room was nice and clean and the room service was good so no complains at all.
whenever we have trip to charlotte holiday inn at university will be our choice we wont be wasting time searching.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Lor M,
We are glad you decided to choose us here at the Holiday Inn Charlotte University for your stay. I will let all of the staff know, especially Sean, about the great review you've given us. We are excited that we will be your choice hotel when you come back to Charlotte and can't wait to see you in the future!
-Anthony White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Freshly renovated,clean, moderne with a boutique feel.it really amazed me knowing that I've stayed here before, it's just like I've walked to a brand new hotel!!! What a nice transformation.

PROS:
Always clean and welcoming.
Free succulant breakfast in the concierge with heavy hors d'oeuvres every evening, very suitable for supper. Tasty and fresh.

Restaurant and concierge lounge crew very friendly and work hard to go the extra mile to make us feel at home. exceptionally treat each customer respectfully.
Restaurant Manager is also someone I can't say enough good about. he stopped by our table many times to check on us he just made us feel so special.

CONS:
Having been here over a dozen times in the past two years, I can't think of any. Even if I were able to, they are far outweighed by the beautiful facility, excellent value for the price, and professional yet personal attention to all guests and their individual needs. This hotel would really have to mess up big-time to drop even slightly from 5 stars.

THANK YOU, Sean and Carolyn for consistently superior value. This hotel is like the Chick-Fil-A of fast food, the harris teeter of supermarkets, and the Apple of electronics. Slightly higher in price but unsurpassed in value and customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Diane H,
This is an amazing review you've given us, and for that I Thank You! I'm glad to hear that we've exceeded your expectations and that you love our newly renovated hotel. I will make sure all of the staff knows how highly you spoke of each and every one of them and I'm sure they will be just as excited as I am about your review. We hope that you continue to choose the Holiday Inn Charlotte University for any future stay if you are in the area and are looking forward to it!
-Anthony White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife decided to throw me a surprise birthday party and used our Holiday Inn points to sneak my mother into town. She said the hotel was beautiful and everyone was very helpful. After she checked out and got back home she realized that she left her tablet at the hotel. Someone had turned it into the front desk. When she called, Carolyn put her mind at ease and was also the one who was there for her check in and out. I was able to swing by the next day and pick it up. Definitely went above and beyond and will highly recommend and use again for our out of town guest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Patrick H,
Thank you for the great review! I'm glad to hear Carolyn was there every step of the way and that she put your mind at ease in regards to the tablet. We hope you will return in the near future and we are looking forward to your arrival!
-Anthony White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Down here for the week. First time at this hotel. I overheard somebody state they just finished renovations so this is more or less a new hotel. I'm not into modern or retro but the style wasn't an eye sore or too BOLD. I didn't use any of the facilities beyond breakfast but I would come back based on what I saw and experienced. The BIGGEST factor was the staff. I mean ALL of them were nice and polite and helpful. This is the first hotel I have ever stayed at where the cleaning staff asked how my stay was and hoped that I would come back. I stepped into the elevator with a couple of staff members and they both asked how my stay was and if they could do anything for me. My wife and I stayed in a 5 star hotel once and we didn't get this kind of friendly greetings from everyone we met. Hats off to everyone on the hotel staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARedBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear WARedBear,
It is great to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at the Holiday Inn Charlotte University. Each guest should feel as if this were their home away from home. I will make sure the staff knows how highly you spoke about them and we hope you keep us in mind for any future reservations!
-Anthony White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Moved from California to Charlotte this year. This hotel was our home for over two months. We arrived during renovations and were able to witness the transformation of the hotel. It is gorgeous! We were treated as family by ALL the employees. As a Platinum Member, I had access to the Concierge Room for breakfast and an evening reception which were fantastic, specially on Wednesdays. Front Desk employees Janet, Naomi and Carolyn, Concierge employees Lisa and Kim, Stephanie. Manager Brent, Manager Debra. Driver Kyle. Again, all deserve praise. We felt at home. The Valle Family

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Rodolfo V,
We are glad that we became your home and you were able to witness the great transformation of the Holiday Inn Charlotte University. I will personally let all the employees know about the amazing review you've given us. We look forward to any future reservations you will have with us and hope to see you soon!
-Anthony White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Property: Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Address: 8520 University Exec Park Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3365
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing