We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Nearby Hotels
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Charlotte Hotel(Charlotte)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Place Charlotte/Arrowood(Charlotte)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
506
153
47
24
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
153
47
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred skyfront deskthe concierge loungeuniversity placefamily reunionthe entire staffrooms are cleangreat customer servicebreakfast buffeta great stayshuttle servicestaff was friendlyenjoyed my staymayrathidahathatori
Filter
Updating list...
595 - 600 of 754 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We loved everything about this hotel except breakfast. The staff was very friendly, the room was updated and clean. We were there to get some rest and were so glad to find it was VERY quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We liked the wall thermostat for the heat also.
We booked thinking breakfast was included. When we arrived we learned that only a continental breakfast is included and only on weekdays. We were there on the weekend. They did give us half off of breakfast in the restaurant which we tried the first day. It was adequate, not great, but the most disappointing thing was the coffee was lukewarm. We had several refills hoping it would be hot but never was. The second morning we made coffee in our room and went down to see if we could get a sweet roll or something from vending. Nothing was available suitable for breakfast, but they did SELL us 2 muffins from the restaurant for $7!! You would think that if they could discount a full breakfast and provide a weekday continental breakfast that they could part with 2 muffins for less than $7!

Room Tip: Our room was so quiet and the whole floor seemed to be. I did not notice anything that I would mention about room location.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuckersnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICUmgmt, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Tuckersnana,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Charlotte University. We are glad you found our staff friendly and the room clean. In regards to the breakfast, we apologize for letting you down. All feedback is acted upon and is used to improve our service.
We would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be in the future!

--Holiday Inn Charlotte University Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely facility!! Super friendly staff! I'm a holiday inn employee and had stayed there using the employee rate and the front desk attendant STILL made me feel special :) Even allowed us to pick our room type! (King!! :D) Large, spacious rooms! And the televisions! EKK!! :) AMAZING! :D Our plan was to get up early but we ended up watching shows and wished we didn't have to leave! (ComFY Beds!!) It was funny, later on that night -3A.M- the fire alarms went off and everyone was evacuated! The staff was very cool and collective, directing us. I was grateful :) Encouraged to stay here!!
PS. The alarms went off over some silly person smoking, pfft.

Room Tip: Would recommend not staying on the highest floor, in case you ARE evacuated. That's a lot of stairs!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simply_Indefinitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICUmgmt, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Simply_Indefinitely,

Thank you for the amazing review about the Holiday Inn Charlotte University! We do our best to make every guest feel special when staying at our hotel. Glad we could accomodate you and hope you choose us in the future!

--Holiday Inn Charlotte University Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed 01.16- 01.19.14. The beds at this hotel were THE most comfortable beds. We were so thankful because they allowed for a great nights sleep. The hotel is modern, clean, and in a great location relative to UNCC. The staff was very kind, helpful, and professional.

I would say the restaurant is the only thing 'lacking' at this location. We ate breakfast there one morning. The buffet would compare to that of a free offering at the Holiday Inn Express, but here you were charged $12.95. We also ordered blueberry waffles off the menu, and I swear it was an Eggo-type heat/serve waffle for $8.95. Needless to say we didn't try again.

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this location. I'm sure we will be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The staff there is super friendly. Racheal and Kimberly are two of the freindliest and most help ladies in the hotel and they both make sure that their breakfast and dinner are always on point. I can't wait to go back and visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICUmgmt, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Kiehansen,

We are excited to hear you had an excellent stay with us! We will let Racheal and Kimberly know about your gracious comment. Looking forward to your next arrival!

-Holiday Inn Charlotte University Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I've been staying here on Business for a few weeks and the lounge staff is amazing. After working all day they are easily the highlight of my day. The staff consists mainly of two awesome ladies, Alanna and T, that make sure anything you need is taken care of. These two ladies are the reason I come back here to stay.
The overall Hotel is clean and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear 68piper,
It is great to hear that our staff is one of the reasons you come back to our hotel. We hope that you continue to choose the Holiday Inn Charlotte University as your home away from home!
-Anthony White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews