We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Holiday Inn was impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Ranked #4 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our church hosted a marriage retreat over Valentine's Day weekend. Have to admit we were unsure about the location because we hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn in a long time and didn't remember it being very nice. Overall, we were pleasantly surprised and had a great experience.
At check-in, we were very impressed by the front desk and lobby area….from the friendly customer service to the chic décor and inviting atmosphere. We were told the lobby had been recently renovated. As we made our way to our room, it was evident that the renovations went throughout the hotel. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious, and had a nice view.

Our evening dining experience was great. We had a private room for all of the couples. The servers were top notch and they treated us like royalty.

If you are looking for a hotel in the area, we would definitely recommend this one!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keyla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was in the area for a meeting and this is the hotel where my group had a block of rooms. On its face, the price of the room was reasonable, but the service at the hotel was such that I would rather have paid more and gone somewhere that had better service and at least made me think it was somewhat clean. When I checked in, the lady at the front desk treated me like I was planning to run out without paying the bill. She kept talking about paying for the room in advance. I finally was able to understand (I think) that the room would not be billed until after the stay and my card was to cover incidentals. Not only was she confusing, she acted like she was doing me a favor letting me stay in her hotel. Not the kind of attitude I would want someone entering my business for the first time to experience.The rooms were nothing special, but there was a microwave, refrigerator, and flat screen tv. Although the room was supposed to accommodate four, there were only two bath cloths in the room. There were only two of us in the room, but I like to have an extra bath cloth and if the room is stated to allow four, why only put in two bath cloths, three hand towels, and three towels? So, the next day, I left a tip for the maid and a note asking for at least four bath cloths. When we returned to the room, there were zero bath cloths and some trash left on the counter from making coffee was still in the room. We actually were not sure the room had been cleaned. And my friend across the hall later told us she found trash in her room when she checked in and asked them to remove it. The next day when she returned to her room, someone had used her toilet and not flushed it and it did not appear her room had been completely cleaned either. We called and asked for bath cloths and they brought us more of everything, and still just two bath cloths. My friend complained to the management about the used toilet and in their defense, the manager over housekeeping (Michael I believe) did address her concerns, although it was quite apparent he probably has an employee who cannot or will not do the job she/he is being paid to do. Other than that manager, the only other staff members we encountered who seemed to understand customer service were the people in the restaurant. I don't know our waitress' name, but she was very attentive and pleasant. If only some of her pleasant attitude could rub off on some of the other staff with whom we had the misfortune to deal. This was the third straight time staying at a Holiday Inn and having a less than satisfactory stay. I think I am going to give up on them. They have consistently been a disappointment.

Room Tip: There are lots of hotels in the area that would probably be better maintained and better value for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Dee D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We loved everything about this hotel except breakfast. The staff was very friendly, the room was updated and clean. We were there to get some rest and were so glad to find it was VERY quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We liked the wall thermostat for the heat also.
We booked thinking breakfast was included. When we arrived we learned that only a continental breakfast is included and only on weekdays. We were there on the weekend. They did give us half off of breakfast in the restaurant which we tried the first day. It was adequate, not great, but the most disappointing thing was the coffee was lukewarm. We had several refills hoping it would be hot but never was. The second morning we made coffee in our room and went down to see if we could get a sweet roll or something from vending. Nothing was available suitable for breakfast, but they did SELL us 2 muffins from the restaurant for $7!! You would think that if they could discount a full breakfast and provide a weekday continental breakfast that they could part with 2 muffins for less than $7!

Room Tip: Our room was so quiet and the whole floor seemed to be. I did not notice anything that I would ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuckersnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICUmgmt, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Tuckersnana,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Charlotte University. We are glad you found our staff friendly and the room clean. In regards to the breakfast, we apologize for letting you down. All feedback is acted upon and is used to improve our service.
We would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be in the future!

--Holiday Inn Charlotte University Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely facility!! Super friendly staff! I'm a holiday inn employee and had stayed there using the employee rate and the front desk attendant STILL made me feel special :) Even allowed us to pick our room type! (King!! :D) Large, spacious rooms! And the televisions! EKK!! :) AMAZING! :D Our plan was to get up early but we ended up watching shows and wished we didn't have to leave! (ComFY Beds!!) It was funny, later on that night -3A.M- the fire alarms went off and everyone was evacuated! The staff was very cool and collective, directing us. I was grateful :) Encouraged to stay here!!
PS. The alarms went off over some silly person smoking, pfft.

Room Tip: Would recommend not staying on the highest floor, in case you ARE evacuated. That's a lot of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simply_Indefinitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICUmgmt, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Simply_Indefinitely,

Thank you for the amazing review about the Holiday Inn Charlotte University! We do our best to make every guest feel special when staying at our hotel. Glad we could accomodate you and hope you choose us in the future!

--Holiday Inn Charlotte University Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed 01.16- 01.19.14. The beds at this hotel were THE most comfortable beds. We were so thankful because they allowed for a great nights sleep. The hotel is modern, clean, and in a great location relative to UNCC. The staff was very kind, helpful, and professional.

I would say the restaurant is the only thing 'lacking' at this location. We ate breakfast there one morning. The buffet would compare to that of a free offering at the Holiday Inn Express, but here you were charged $12.95. We also ordered blueberry waffles off the menu, and I swear it was an Eggo-type heat/serve waffle for $8.95. Needless to say we didn't try again.

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this location. I'm sure we will be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The staff there is super friendly. Racheal and Kimberly are two of the freindliest and most help ladies in the hotel and they both make sure that their breakfast and dinner are always on point. I can't wait to go back and visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICUmgmt, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Kiehansen,

We are excited to hear you had an excellent stay with us! We will let Racheal and Kimberly know about your gracious comment. Looking forward to your next arrival!

-Holiday Inn Charlotte University Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I've been staying here on Business for a few weeks and the lounge staff is amazing. After working all day they are easily the highlight of my day. The staff consists mainly of two awesome ladies, Alanna and T, that make sure anything you need is taken care of. These two ladies are the reason I come back here to stay.
The overall Hotel is clean and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear 68piper,
It is great to hear that our staff is one of the reasons you come back to our hotel. We hope that you continue to choose the Holiday Inn Charlotte University as your home away from home!
-Anthony White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn University Place
#80 of 180 in Charlotte
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Address: 8520 University Exec Park Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3365
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £72 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing