We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great place to stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice quiet location with a lot of restaurant choices in the area. Easy to get to from downtown or from the Charlotte Motor Speedway. Breakfast was good. Nice bar area, although I didn't take advantage of it. Staff was friendly. My only complaint is that I requested a wake-up call and didn't get it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    135
    43
    22
    23
See reviews for
162
65
46
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gray Court, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband has had to be out of town for several weeks for work and this was my second week going along. It is hard to be away from home sometimes but by checkout on my second stay I felt like I was leaving family again. There are many smiling faces that are so friendly and caring but I would like to say a few that just stood out and I would love to see again, Carolyn at the front desk as everyone else was always concerned at how you were doing but she had the most smiling face no matter what she was doing and you cannot help but smile back. Kim in the executive lounge in the mornings reminded me of my own daughter and was just a ray of sunshine that I found to look forward to every single day. Hester was our housekeeper both weeks I was there and she was wonderful, she would do as little or as much as I asked, and was very friendly and easy to talk to. Overall though I do have to name my favorite person on my list and that would have to be Rusul, he has to be the easiest person I have ever talked to and made me feel as if I had a personal butler. Besides just being funny, Rusul took me anywhere I needed to go but most of the time he stayed with me, he always carried my bags even one day helped bag my groceries cause I was just finishing up. Also helped get things I needed when he saw me ask at the front desk! I think the only comment I could make that was not positive is I would have liked to see coffee offered at night in the executive lounge or maybe available more at hours other than the morning downstairs. Overall I have to say thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nybaby2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Ingrid is a great bartender! Very attentive and sure to please. Very personable and accountable. She always goes the extra mile no matter what kind of crowd she's serving. Very impressive customer service skills.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wintersquall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Visiting my daughter for a couple of days over the weekend. Our room had a fridge and a large updated King bed with nice pillows. We were on the 6th floor and it was quiet even though there were several youth athletic teams on the property. Breakfast was good and the staff was excellent .... I would definitely stay here again.

Dave B.
Dublin, OH

Room Tip: I'm not sure all the rooms on the lower floors were as nice (had a fridge) but you can ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Service and stay at this location was a breeze for me. Check-in and check-out are seamless, breakfasts and complementary services are even better. Everybody is super friendly here. The shuttlebus service is always awesome.

One of the shuttle drivers, Rasul, really blew me away with his service. Outgoing, friendly, attentive, and prompt. He was courteous and professional, and dressed sharp as a razor. Very open and welcoming personality. It felt like driving around town with an old friend!

Room Tip: Hotel has 6 rooming floors, ground level has no rooms. Seventh floor is closest to the lounge, but h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I will always stay here no matter what. I had an issue with my car and asked for assistance from Rasul....from the moment I asked for his help until the very end, he never left me. He made me feel like I was a part of a family that actually cared. His service will definitely keep me coming back to this hotel. I will recommend this hotel to everyone I know because of Rasul....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise0460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Was here for a horror/scifi convention, so I was expecting judgmental staff -- nope. Super good humor and respect as soon as I walked in. This immediately put me at ease. I was in and out throughout the day and night, from 8 am until 3am, and each shift had great staff at the front desk.

My corner room was tidy, with nice towel arrangements and all of that froufrou, which was groovy. It had a fridge, which was great. Microwave, even! Lots of space, too. The lighting was rather dim, and switches hard to find, but it was manageable.

One thing I appreciated was the foresight to buy earplugs at the Walgreen's just down the road, because the hotel room walls are paper thin. Shame there's no equivalent nose device, because despite the no-smoking policy, the room was lightly permeated with varying scents every night.

The one way roads here make traveling as a visitor difficult, but it is a very convenient location for eating and shopping. An all around solid, safe hotel with great service.

Room Tip: Corner room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotatoFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear PotatoFiend,

Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to hear your compliments of our staff and your room accommodations. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We appreciate the feedback you have provided which will help us as we continually enhance the product and service experience. We appreciate the feedback you have provided which will help us as we continually enhance the product and service experience.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Charlotte University Place
7.5 mi away
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
16.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake
15.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Property: Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Address: 8520 University Exec Park Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3365
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing