We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head of housekeeping Rude!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Ranked #4 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I would first like to say this was a VERY nice hotel to stay at. We where put up by my husbands job, I stayed at the hotel during the day. It is the housekeeping that brought this rating down!
Some of the house keeping was very sweet, but most, including the HEAD of housekeeping was VERY rude! I had the do not disturb sign on the door often,(no need to have to clean everyday), she would loudly knock on the door anyway, WITH the sign out pretty much every day, and WOULD NOT leave until she MADE me answer the door! One of the times I made a mistake to not just leave the sign out AND lock the door,(like I was having to start doing or she would just walk right in), and one of the MALE housekeeping staff walked right in when I was using the restroom, I did not have the bathroom door closed, however did have the sign out!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADISNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear ADISNEY,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that you found it nice to stay at our hotel. Although I would have preferred you had a more comfortable accommodation. It is truly disheartening to hear that your recent experience was negatively affected by the level of service you have received from our housekeeping. Your feedback is highly appreciated and I am confident that our hotel management will take the necessary actions to improve our services.

I hope that you will give us another chance to host you again as we would like to provide you with a better stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stay here over the weekend with my wife while visiting friends. This hotel was amazing. The room was a little musky when we came in but once the AC ran the smell disappeared. The bed was so comfortable to sleep in. The staff was extremely nice. They provide free shuttle service to a five mile radius. You need to go no further then 5 miles or ever 2 miles. The hotel is surrounded by nice eating establishments and bars. The staff gave us 1/2 discount coupons for the full breakfast served at the hotel. The breakfast was fine but it could have been slightly better. The bacon was cooked some what over done and way greasy (that would be my only complaint here). I rate the place 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henrocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are priority members and came to Charlotte for a job interview, It was stressful enough to deal with that but the staff was so helpful and made us feel at home. The lady who checked us in around 11 pm (sorry I do not remember her name but she was from Panama and we enjoyed talking with her) was so efficient. The next morning I got directions from Janet Price at the front desk to a local department store. I was running a little late and she made me feel calmer. Very nice lady and very knowledgable! Moe waited on us for breakfast and he was wonderful and attentive as well. Beautiful renovation. Will come back if my husband gets the job offer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I really can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. I have been a Member since 1999 and this is one of the best. The front desk and food/beverage employees went above and beyond their calls of duties. Carolyn, Naomi, Shirley and Mark made me feel very special and better than an executive at check in/out or whenever I pass. Ola, Rachel and Kimberley are exceptional at their performed duties. These individuals were always smiling, polite and their work habits-behavior exemplified the phrase: 5 Stars Service. Someone in my party requested something extra ordinary; Ola not only provided his request but, she gave us 2 other servings from the kitchen. This was awesome- she could have easily said: "we do not have that" and she would have been correct. To me and my friends, Ola is not only an asset to this hotel but to the entire service industry. Thanks very much and you have my total recommendations.

Room Tip: The king rooms are large and open with lots of space to move about. Stay on the 3 top floors and esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelga117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great place. The fitness facility had brand new equipment. The concierge lounge was very nice. The food was very good. Helpful staff. Ola especially was very nice in helping to make my stay fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netguy5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I am both an IHG platinum member and a hilton honors gold member and have usually found that the hilton properties are a higher quality. However, this hotel shatters that norm. Not only is the hotel very nice, the staff, breakfast, and rooms are great! If you are staying in the Charlotte area, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreyForVols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

One of the more pleasant HI Properties I have stayed at. Throughout my visit there was a consistently excellent, warm attitude from the staff. It was a pleasure. The property is in a convenient location. Common areas are nice and the room was good. No issues. Easy access from I85.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Sleep Inn University Place
#85 of 182 in Charlotte
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Address: 8520 University Exec Park Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3365
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £73 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing