We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, beautiful”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a marriage retreat. The room we had was very nice, not the fanciest room in the building I'm sure, but it had all we needed and expected from a Marriott. Others in the group who were staying on the front side of the building did mention issues with noise from the street (loud people, there's a Hooter's across the street), but it was totally quiet on the other side. This hotel is perfectly located for walking to any number of restaurants and museums in Uptown. We had drinks in the sports bar downstairs, they made great Long Islands. Friends of ours visited the cigar bar and had a fantastic time shooting pool. Our second night there, the very friendly and helpful concierge told us about the outside terrace that is on the 5th(?) floor, outside the swimming pool. We took a bottle of wine, some snacks and some playing cards up there and had a fantastic evening. We were very happy with our stay here and would definitely choose it again for a trip to Charlotte.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter, away from Trade Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    315
    121
    33
    22
See reviews for
129
180
38
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was a great city center hotel. It is very conveniently located. We were greeted as we pulled in for parking and welcomed every step of the way. I was greeted as a Rewards member and check in was a breeze. I found a great deal for $159 that included the room, a free in-room movie, $50 dining credit, and free parking. The horse carriage rides pick you up right out front. The furnishings were all clean, up to date and had plenty of outlets. The beds were very comfortable. However, they are doubles, not queen. The restaurant served delicious, hot food. The rooms are a little small, but not unusual for city locations, I would definitely return - and keep eyes out for such great deals again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Centrally located in uptown Charlotte at a walking distance to any place in the uptown Charlotte area. Checkin was simple and easy - helpful staff at front desk - I had requested and got early checkin without any fuss. Hallways and rooms look very dated - carpet, furnishings all have a well worn look. Bathroom was functional and clean but also had a well worn look. All in the place felt basic and no frills. Restaurant has a decent buffet breakfast. Lobby area is fairly noisy and busy. The hotel has the feel of a functional hotel through which many people are passing constantly. Not a place you come to for relaxation or luxury experience. If you are looking for a centrally location, functional business hotel this is the right place. Leisure travelers seeking quiet and luxury should go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wings_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I recently stayed at this Marriott for a work related conference. I rated the hotel as average due to fact it needs a face lift. The hotel interior is worn and tired. I paid a discounted rate due to conference i attended, so i am not sure what the going rate is. If anything more than $189.00 which is what i paid, it is not worth it. There are newer hotels in the downtown area such as the Westin or Hilton. If you are attending a conference at the convention center, keep in mind it is a 10 minute walk to the center.

Room Tip: My room was near the ice machine which i could hear in the evening, so i recommend asking for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Nice clean hotel with a convenient location!
Really liked the service I got and the way I was treated! Really nice people!
Liked the room and the cleanliness of it!
Just a really good place to stay and be! It was nice to come back there to relax after business meetings all day! Really comfortable beds!
Thanks for a great stay and enjoyable people who work there!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbsurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Nice location. Very helpful staff but when will Marriott figure sports bars(champion) are obsolete ?? This Marriott even has a cigar bar (yuck). Nowhere elegant and quiet for normal folks
We asked for extra towels and coffee in our record and they weren't there
The staff is nice. The location fine but definitely not suited for my need of a quiet lounge for wine. Too bad. We won't be back. Lots of other fine hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smollyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro,NC
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Marriott City Center in Charlotte is in a great location - close to dining, activities and business - and is a full service hotel. Stayed here a few times - beds are comfortable, hotel is clean, service is good. Epicenter with a cool dining movie experience at SMG is a short walk. Enjoyed Irish pubs Ri Ra's and Fitzgerald's while there for the one night. All and all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#45 of 178 in Charlotte
2,003 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#49 of 178 in Charlotte
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott City Center

Property: Charlotte Marriott City Center
Address: 100 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2144
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlotte Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new polish to a building filled with history and character, Charlotte Marriott(R) City Center is breaking the mold of hotel design with a residential-style aesthetic. Our Charlotte, NC, hotel's reinvented style draws the Charlotte community into dynamic, tech-enabled public spaces perfect for connectivity and integration. Our fresh, open-design approach to the traditional hotel lobby features a coffee social hub with locally sourced coffee, unique retail and limited-edition food selections. Stoke, a community-inspired dining experience with an immersive kitchen, places guests in the center of the action. We've tailored our guest room designs with inventive solutions, and our new fitness concept goes beyond the ordinary with more than 600 on-demand workouts and state-of-the-art equipment. Foster collaboration and harness the ingenuity of your group in 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including our new Event Hub with high-end technology enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlotte Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott City Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing