We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in the middle of Charlotte downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Ranked #23 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the Marriott for Valentines Day. This was one of the only hotels with rooms available on Valentines Day. I was very impressed with the place as we entered the hotel. After check-in we had a drink in the hotel wine bar and then went to Epicentre for dinner (block away) so we didn't experience all the hotel had. The sports bar looked nice and the pool looked very cool. There is a Starbucks coffee that is located in the lobby so that was very nice. The room was very clean looking and bed was comfortable. My only complain was a musty smell in the room. It appeared there was a wet spot on the floor that could have been the cause. I would fault the hotel for this and it wasn't bad enough to complain. But if i was staying more then a night i would have had my room changed. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for Charlotte Marriott City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Having been stranded un Charlotte fue to the snow storm that hit the east, I found myself in this great hotel, getting the warmest welcome by the friendliest staff ever!
Rooms are spacy, comfortable desk to work, good linen, good mattress and down pillows. Ordered in room service and was again was greeted by good service and lovely teriyaki salmon salad and sorbets. Wish I could come here more
Often!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I were on our first "Staycation" since our kids were born 3 years ago. We spent the additional money to get a corner room with a King-size bed. We checked in only to find that were were given a standard room right by the elevator. One call alter, the staff apologized and instead of fighting with us, offered us the top floor presidential suite. The suite was fantastic and the staff all around was very attentive. It was nice to not have to worry about battling with the reservation team as happens most of the time when these mishaps happen. The room was wonderful and clean, and the overall experience was one to be remembered.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The staff, and appointments are some of the best in Charlotte, and rank in the top three Marriott's I have stayed worldwide. Nothing left to chance. Great facilities, the YMCA is across a skybridge, shopping downstairs, great sports bar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Nothing special about this Uptown Marriott. If you need to stay in the city center this is it, but beware the rooms are very small. The bathrooms are teeny, tiny...to get in the shower you have to reach around the toilet to turn the water off and on. Did not dine at any of the restaurants on site, so cannot rate those. Did eat at Mimosa's and the Wooden Vine next door, both are excellent choices within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbuggers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I booked a room over new years eve, 2013. we were in town to see a play and did not feel like driving home after the performance.

After reading reviews on this hotel regarding noisy hallways, I was prepared for less than a restful evening. Was I surprised.

On check in we were given wrist bands and told we had to show them to gain entrance to the hotel after 5:00PM.

When we returned to the hotel about 1:00 AM on New Years Day, the lobby was occupied by a lot of security but no one else. When we got off on our floor it was quiet as a tomb. There was never any noise for our entire stay. Thanks for a restful evening Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuardDog61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Manager at Charlotte Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We appreciate your wonderful review. It is rewarding for the management and staff to hear that our efforts to provide an enjoyable holiday experience were successful. We continually strive to maintain high service standards and are pleased you enjoyed a restful night’s sleep. Thank you for sharing your experience and choosing to spend your night in Charlotte with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I thought it was a few notches above your standard city center Marriott mainly due to its location & lobby staff. Its situated in the exact center of "uptown"--the 4 statues at the intersection of Tryon & Trade streets mark the true "center" of the city. This means its walking distance to some great restaurants--5church, Dandelion Market, Roosters & Kings Kitchen, plus only a couple blocks from the convention center & arena. Check in was super quick & my concierge level executive suite was a great corner room with a really nice layout. Lobby staff was very friendly & hospitable. Each morning they placed coffee, croissants & Danishes out, and each evening they put out a large carafe of a hot beverage (cider, tea or hot chocolate) & a dessert. A very nice touch that I've never seen at a Marriott. Underground parking is convenient ($16/night). Since concierge was closed on the weekend i stayed, I was given breakfast coupon for cold buffet at lobby restaurant. It was mediocre at best & service was slow & not very professional. Head to the Starbucks a few hundred yards away in the adjacent building's lobby instead-- or better yet, the Dean & Deluca a block away!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank theresaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#53 of 178 in Charlotte
2,077 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott City Center

Address: 100 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2144
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £126 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlotte Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new polish to a building filled with history and character, Charlotte Marriott(R) City Center is breaking the mold of hotel design with a residential-style aesthetic. Our Charlotte, NC, hotel's reinvented style draws the Charlotte community into dynamic, tech-enabled public spaces perfect for connectivity and integration. Our fresh, open-design approach to the traditional hotel lobby features a coffee social hub with locally sourced coffee, unique retail and limited-edition food selections. Stoke, a community-inspired dining experience with an immersive kitchen, places guests in the center of the action. We've tailored our guest room designs with inventive solutions, and our new fitness concept goes beyond the ordinary with more than 600 on-demand workouts and state-of-the-art equipment. Foster collaboration and harness the ingenuity of your group in 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including our new Event Hub with high-end technology enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlotte Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott City Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing