We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Ranked #32 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Johnson City
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great rooms and location”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Everything you could want is within walking distance. The rooms are very nice. They offer free bottles of water. If you want a bathrobe or a refrigerator, you just have to request it---no charge. There is a $18 charge a day to self park. Pay attention where you park (what letter). Parking garage was confusing.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1411. It was a corner room at the very end of the hall. It was great because we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srjpJohnsonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear srjpJohnsonCity: Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, we don’t own the parking garage connected to our hotel, but we do have valet parking available at a comparable rate, which I hope you will choose to utilize in the future and find it to be much more convenient and less confusing. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    464
    212
    89
    54
See reviews for
236
338
88
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference on site. I had some issues finding the entrance to the hotel as the sign is a bit hard to find from the street. I drove to the location and the parking deck is shared with the other businesses. Since the hotel is in the heart of the downtown and the banking district there are lots of walkable businesses and places to eat but like a business district most of them shut down as soon as the workers go home for the day.

The rooms were very spacious and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. i usually hate most hotel beds but i did like this one. All of the employees i encountered while there were extremely welcoming and inviting, from the valet (even though i did not valet my truck) to the waitress at the Restaurant. The only issue was the almost always empty concierge desk. I saw someone there once but the valets seemed to always be there and willing to answer questions and give recommendations.

Our room was cleaned promptly, Since i was attending a conference on site running up to my room in mid morning i frequently found my room already clean. On the last day i was there we were left with no towels. I found out this was not just our room as several others attending the conference had none and i had to call the front desk for them to be brought up. The woman i flagged down int he hallway still cleaning had no towels left on her cart.

Even though we had small issues everything was very promptly taken care, The hotel was actively monitoring their twitter account and was openly responding to questions. The only issue that was not handled well was the bar we were told one not to close out our checks because they were closing at 11pm only to have them stay open and all more people to create tabs until 1am. the next night we were told midnight but they stayed open till 2am. I'm not sure if this was a last minute decision but ti was rather annoying to be told they were closing only to find out they weren't.

i would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are not uniform in size, try to get a room on the side opposite the elevator banks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotTheCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear NotTheCar: Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! Glad to hear you found all of our employees to be extremely welcoming and inviting! Also, I was happy to hear that any issues you encountered were very promptly taken care of. As you experienced during your stay, our Front Desk, Bell & Valet team members all act as the Concierge for our guests. As for the issue in the bar, you are correct that we stayed open later that weekend than we had advertised. In an effort to accommodate our guests and based on business, we decided to extend our hours. I hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Charlotte! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Hall, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is close to many restaurants and bars in uptown Charlotte. The location is great for getting on the public transportation railway and the convention center. The hotel rooms were spacious, clean and inviting. When we checked in we were not welcomed very nicely from the front desk lady. In fact we were traveling with a group and no one received good service from the front desk worker who checked us in. Beware to NOT bring kids to this hotel hoping to swim. When I took my child to the YMCA to swim during the only 2 hours in the week she was allowed in the pool; the lanes were in use and she had to leave. Then the YMCA worker was very rude when I asked what other times my daughter could swim during our stay. The pool is ONLY for exercise; no lounging by the pool at this facility.
We were traveling with a group and we enjoyed the patio with tables and umbrellas almost nightly. The staff was overall friendly with our sometimes rowdy group and I appreciate their understanding of our fun. If I was planning a visit to Charlotte for a group this is an okay choice but just know that the pool is for exercise ONLY. The YMCA facilities are great for the health nut which are free to use for hotel guests. Parking was simple and the parking garage was clean and well lit. Parking was $18.00 a day which is not terrible for a bigger city. Again we had a few bumps in the road with the rude check-in and the pool situation but overall we had a nice stay at the Hilton City Center.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Amber N: Thanks for your feedback! Glad to hear you found our location to be great and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize that you didn’t receive a hospitable welcome, and I am disappointed to hear that. As you noticed during the rest of your stay, we strive to hire individuals who are friendly and who shine with the warmth of hospitality.
We are proud to be able to offer the state of the art Childress Klein YMCA as our work-out facility to our guests, but I do understand that there are limitations as far as children being able to use the pool. I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I attended a conference in Charlotte and the location was fabulous for such an event. The rooms were nicely done and clean. The staff was courteous and very helpful. The location was such that you could easily walk to several restaurants and other areas of Charlotte. I was charged for parking, and asked them to please remove it when I was heading out in a cab for the airport. Not sure why parking was put on my bill, but the front desk removed it in a timely fashion.

Room Tip: I was on the 15th Floor- Noise level was moderate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear IowaMom2011: Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Should your travels bring you to Charlotte again in the future, we’d love to have you stay with us again! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hilton in downtown Charlotte, we wanted to stay downtown because we were going to a concert. The proximity is fabulous, close to everything. Highly recommend this hotel, then again I've never stayed at a Hilton where I haven't been satisfied.

Room Tip: Request access to the executive floor, complimentary drinks at night, and breakfast in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ20Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear PJ20Fan: Thank you for choosing to stay with us, & thank you for your feedback! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you stay with us again in the future! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel was unprepared for the number of guests arriving on a Sunday afternoon for a stadium concert that started at 4:30p. We arrived at 2:52p for a 3:00p check in and didn't get to a room until 3:47p. We were one of many waiting for a room. The desk manager (he had a different official title) told us the reservation system of check out at noon and check in at 3:00 was designed to fail. (Not exactly a good pr/customer service approach.) Reservations were for one of the executive floors. We were not told how to access the lounge, the hours of operation during the day or hours for breakfast. And our room key did not work in the executive lounge when we went for breakfast.
On the positive side, the bed was very comfortable, and the room had recently been renovated. The location was only a few blocks from B of A stadium downtown.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernVoice10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear SouthernVoice10: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize that your room was not ready upon check-in, and I am sorry for the delay you experienced. I understand that would be extremely frustrating especially since you needed to get to a concert that evening. While it is important to have rooms ready upon check-in time, it is our top priority to ensure all rooms are up to Hilton standard prior to check-in. When it is very busy and guests check out after noon, this occasionally can create a delay in room availability. I hope you choose to give our hotel another opportunity to show you that we are passionate about guest service and exceeding guest expectations. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, MA
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I was speaking at a recent conference at the hotel, and was very pleasantly surprised that they reached out to me before my stay on Twitter well before I actually arrived. The rooms were nicely done, spacious (I upgraded to the exec level), and the breakfast upstairs was just right, and the customer service remained outstanding in every interaction I had with a member of the hotel staf throughout my stay.

Room Tip: If you can pay for the upgrade to exec / higher floor, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phollows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear phollows: Thank you so much for your feedback! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#31 of 178 in Charlotte
1,527 reviews
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#48 of 178 in Charlotte
2,037 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Property: Hilton Charlotte Center City
Address: 222 E 3rd St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing