We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It works.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Charlotte Center City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Ranked #31 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It works.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed overnight in August 2012 for a football game. The price of the hotel is comparable to others in the area and I found the value for what we got to be great! The location is FANTASTIC! It was 5 blocks from the stadium, and a block to the Epicenter. The room was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable. There were a total of 10 pillows in our room which I found amazing for a hotel, but they were all super soft and squishy - maybe a mix of soft and firm would be better.
Included in our stay is free use of the YMCA which is at the hotel complex. We did not use it because we didn't have time on Saturday and Sunday it is closed, but I think it is a good thing to point out.
Parking is ridiculous! I was charged $16 by the hotel to park overnight in the shared lot below the hotel. Most other lots I have used are $10 and under. I was even more upset by the price to park when we left the garage the next day, our total only came to $5.50! Apparently it is cheaper to park there during the weekend, but the hotel does not price accordingly.
Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Jessica B: Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience while at our hotel. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your guest room & our convenient location just 5 blocks to the football stadium & a block to the Epicenter. I understand your concern about the parking price and wanted to explain. Most of the lots in the area did not offer overnight parking – only day parking at a rate as you stated of $10 on weekends. The garage connected to the hotel is not owned by the hotel and they do offer a day rate on most weekends of only $5 but the overnight rate is $20. If you were charged only $5 for overnight parking than you were fortunate. I truly hope that I was able to answer the discrepancy in the pricing. I really do think the Carolina Panthers are going to have a great season. Please let me know will be staying with us later this year for a Panthers Home football game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    438
    204
    78
    49
See reviews for
213
316
80
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

There was no way around paying a fortune even though the room is reasonably priced. I would've considered spending money on a movie, or some room service, if I didn't feel like every dollar was squeezed out of my wallet. Parking, a pool, the internet... how is wifi not free in 2012?! Completely ridiculous. Never staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Jamie B: Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I sincerely appreciate your honest feedback about your experience while at our hotel. I truly hate that you did not enjoy your stay. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate guest needs and meet guest expectation as far as pricing& amenities. I did want to make you aware that there is no charge for the pool; guests of the hotel have complimentary use of the 50,000 sq. foot YMCA with an Olympic size lap pool that is connected to our hotel. We do charge a daily rate of $9.95 for internet and we just completed a $200,000 upgrade to provide better wireless coverage throughout the hotel and expand the bandwidth. Being a center city location, parking can be expensive, in fact we did not own the garage and the rate our guests are charged is a discount from the regular price. We hope to have the opportunity to provide a great hotel stay to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Hilton Charlotte Center City en route to Hilton Head Island. We booked our stay through Priceline and received the hotel for a steal! The hotel is located just a block or two from the Epicenter where there are tons of restaurants and a WONDERFUL piano bar. Check out the piano bar!!! We had absolutely no complaints regarding the hotel. The only downfall was the internet was down the night we stayed but we were on vacation so we shouldn't be checking e-mail anyhow. :o)

Wonderful hotel Hilton!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Kelly B: Thank you so much for your feedback! I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize that the internet service was not working the evening of your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

i was all set to give this hotel an excellent review until the morning we checked out.
first, let me start with the positives, the location is great for walking to the panthers stadium (we were there for a game), and you could also walk to the bobcats arena or the NASCAR museum if you wanted to. there were also lots of restaurants and bars within a few blocks of the hotel, so great for nightlife, etc.
the room was clean, had a big flat screen tv and a super comfy bed.
we booked the "parking package", so we had valet included on our stay. those guys were great, both when we checked in and checked out. i wish i didn't have to group them in this review because they were polite and helpful with the car.
unfortunately, our trip ended poorly. the morning we checked out i ordered breakfast from room service a little after 9am. we ordered two standard breakfasts (eggs, sausage, toast) and some fruit. i was told our food would be delivered to our room within 25 minutes. an hour later still no food. when i called back down to room service, the girl said it should be there any minute. i told her i no longer wanted the food because it was time to check out and we wouldn't be able to enjoy it. twenty minutes later, the food showed up. there were all sorts of ridiculous up charges (like $6 for the coffee-which was supposed to be included, a delivery fee-which seems a little repetitive for "room service"). i told the girl we didn't want the food and wouldn't be paying for it, because after and hour and a half, it was time for us to check out and we didn't have time to eat it. but, the card we left when we checked in was still charged for the most expensive breakfast we didn't get to eat.
like i said before, if that incident had not happened, i would have given an excellent review of this hotel. if you do stay here, just make sure that you go across the street to the Panera for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Sarah T: Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience while at our hotel. I truly apologize that your room service breakfast order took so long to arrive to your room and that after you told us you did not want it -- we still charged you for it. I researched what happened and one of our team members accidently wrote down the wrong guest room and your order was delivered to a vacant room. When you called down again we had to re-start your order so that if was fresh and you were not suppose to be charged. I will contact you directly so that I can remove the room service charge from your bill. I was glad to read that other than the room service incident that you enjoyed our hotel & city. Once again, I truly apologize and we hope to have the opportunity to provide a great hotel stay to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The City Center Hilton is very conveniently-located one block from the Convention Center, and near a lot of sit-down dining and fast-food options. Overall, it is clean and comfortable. The Y across the walkway on the third floor is a little nicer than the usual exercise room, so I'd call that a plus. Its use was complimentary for HHonors (as was the Internet) but check whether they are included in your own deal. The breakfast was quite good and reasonably priced, although I'd suggest they offer a bigger selection of breads. The service at the hotel and restaurant was friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Mark B: Thank you for staying with us and for your review! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We’ll definitely look into offering a larger selection of breads, and thank you for the suggestion. Hope to have you stay with us again in the near future! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here and our stay was wonderful. Every staff member that we encountered gave exceptional customer service and were polite and friendly. The room was immaculate and quiet and the beds were VERY comfortable. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Charlotte area. I look forward to staying here again as we travel to Charlotte often and will make this our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Melissa M: Thank you so much for your feedback! I’m thrilled to hear that our hotel is your hotel of choice. We look forward to your next stay with us! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

The Hilton Charlotte City Center was perhaps the quietest room that I've ever stayed in. There was no noise from next door, no noise from the hallway or the outside, and the air conditioner was virtually silent. That was on top of a well furnished room. It all worked to provide an excellent night's sleep and an excellent place to work during the day.

The room was good sized, including, in addition to a king bed, a very large desk, a comfortable chair and a large settee. It had a refrigerator, an in-room safe and a large surface for luggage. A large flat-screen television hung on the wall over the desk. Everything was new, of modern design and very clean. The bed was comfortable, with fresh, clean linens.

The bathroom had very modern fixtures. The shower (no tub) was a walk-in affair that was big enough to have a party in. Everything there was clean and in good working order. Plenty of plush, huge bath sheets were provided.

Wireless internet was available in the room and worked just fine. For our business conference the normal fee was waived.

The staff we encountered were all very friendly. We had a couple of very good meals at the cafe in the lobby, the Coastal Kitchen and Bar. The hotel is located adjacent to the Charlotte Convention center. An abundance of good restaurants are within walking distance. The adjacent very large YWCA fitness center is available for hotel guests to use. The Charlotte Trolly line stops right outside the back door of the hotel.

We had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear swj: Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! What a great review! I was so pleased to hear that you had an excellent night’s sleep with us and that you found everything to be just right. We’d love to have you stay with us again! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Property: Hilton Charlotte Center City
Address: 222 E 3rd St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing