We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Charlotte Center City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Ranked #31 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Can't beat this location in the heart of Charlotte Uptown. Restaurant menu is a bit overpriced, but luckily within walking distance to many great restaurants. The amenities are top notch, especially access to the YMCA facility adjacent to the hotel. Get in a quality workout and then grab a drink at Smoothie King, also located in the same adjacent tower. I've stayed here multiple times for business and will continue to be my first choice when traveling to Charlotte.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Matthew J, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities the city of Charlotte has available within walking distance to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    436
    203
    78
    49
See reviews for
212
315
80
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its location close to the Bank of America stadium as we had tickets for the Guiness International Champions Cup. The location was great. However, we arrived early and our room was not ready, they promised to phone when it was available. At 3 pm the original promised time we went back, still no room. As we waited we saw new arrivals leaving with rooms, at 3:30 we went back to the Front Desk and got a room. If we had not followed up I do not think we would have heard from them. The hotel was understaffed, obviously they did not have enough housekeeping and the Front Desk needed more help, both were poor planning and management. There is no concierge desk and with the front so busy no one to help. As you exit out to the plaza on the second floor there are several tables right there, where the same people seemed to sit all day and smoke. We would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JustRetired2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear JustRetired2013, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am truly sorry for the experience you had during your stay. I assure you this is no way typical of our hotel. We reviewed the issues that occurred over this weekend and as a team discussed the challenges and put together an action plan to ensure this type of situation does not occur again in the future. I sincerely hope the next time your travels take you to Charlotte you will give us another opportunity to earn your trust and show you a true Hilton 4-Diamond experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms are quite spacious mine had 2 queen beds, very nice bathroom the shower is particularly good. Free hi speed wifi available in rooms, I was expecting a parcel which arrived before I did and the hotel kept it in perfect conditions. Beds are very comfortable, and there are many plugs throughout the room, the flatscreen is big and it has USB ports. On the second floor of the hotel, there are a few restaurants and a few shops. Quiet hotel to be in the city centre, the location is excellent, walking distance to many restaurants although if you plan a very late dinner after 11 pm you have a limited selection. Overall employees are helpful and friendly except for one lady at front desk, I did not have the opportunity to eat at the hotel. Accesibility from highways and from airport is good and easy, I did rent a car at the airport. The hotel offers parking facilities which is about 20 dollars per day although the weekends is for 5 dollars unlimited time. In conclusion it is great value for money. I would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear World T, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. Our team takes great pride in providing our guests a true 4-Diamond experience and it is truly appreciated that you took notice and provided a review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have stayed here before and will continue to stay here but wont get the breakfast option. The room is spacious and clean and there is really not a bad view from anywhere. The beds are amazingly comfortable. We were given a room on the 22nd floor and purchased the package that included breakfast. There is an executive lounge that breakfast is served in and is open on weekends til 11. We got there at 930 and the eggs and the oatmeal were soupy and cold, the potatoes & sausage were cold and there was one small bite of sliced turkey left that never got replenished. The dining staff staying in the kitchen area talking to a female security guard for the entire 40 minutes we were in there. Surely they are provided some breaktime to gossip. I would say, save your money and venture out to some of the local places in town for breakfast.

Room Tip: I prefer to get a room as high as possible for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark W, Director of Food and Beverage at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jenoral-

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am very sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations for breakfast. The service level you received is not reflective of our 4 diamond service and I apologize. I sincerely appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can ensure our team can exceed your expectations. I hope the next time your travels take you to Charlotte you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Charlotte Center City for one night with our infant son. We had a King bed room with a city view.

The room was spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable. The bed was clean and provided a good night's rest. The view from the room was pleasant. The hotel property itself is luxurious and beautiful.

Our issues were as follows:
Parking is somewhat frustrating. The garage is mostly underground and shared with the office building adjacent to the hotel, in addition to being open to the public. It is dark, loud, and smells. The overnight rate seems excessive. It is a hassle parking your car, unloading, getting everything up the garage elevator, walking across the garage to the hotel entrance, walking across the 2nd floor of the lobby to yet another elevator, taking it down to the registration desk, then taking it back up to your room. Valet parking is available for an additional charge, but I never believe valet parking is worth the extra money.

We did have an issue with the bathroom in our room which we didn't encounter until the morning of our check-out. I notified the front desk during our check-out process and the situation was rectified to my satisfaction by Chelsea. She was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Cory 1773, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am sincerely sorry for the issues you experienced in our parking garage. The garage itself is owned and managed by the adjoining office building. We are working with our partners to add better signage to assist our guests in navigating the garage more easily. I am glad to hear that Chelsea was able to assist you upon your departure. It would be my pleasure to pass on your comments to her at our next morning meeting. We hope to see you again the next time your travels take you to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

It's was great seeing Charlotte, NC adorned in pink and green. I especially appreciated my beautiful Hilton room key. What a nice touch, Hilton! Also, I loved having all the fresh fruit on the breakfast buffet. Not only was the display appealing, but the food was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark W, Director of Food and Beverage at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sharon S-

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. We are glad you enjoyed the "enhancements" we chose to make your groups stay more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at this Hilton during the AKA Convention. The front desk agent Keisha was awesome with superb customer service skills. She was very knowledgeable about the hotel area and all the amenities included with the hotel. I would stay her again and refer family and friends just to come in contact with her.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very spacious with nice city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark W, Food and Beverage Director at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Megan G.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel exceeded your expectations. I will share your comments referencing our front desk team who make it a point to educate our guest on the local attractions and our amenities. We are very proud of our team and sincerely appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#30 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Property: Hilton Charlotte Center City
Address: 222 E 3rd St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing