We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke in a Nonsmoking room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Ranked #85 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smoke in a Nonsmoking room”
Reviewed 13 December 2006

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. The room and staff were very accomodating especially for the $54 price. I specifically requested a nonsmoking room. Upon arrival, the front desk staff told me that I would be in a smoking room. Stating allergies to smoke, I was put in a nonsmoking room. My husband was in the bathroom in the middle of the night and noticed a smell of smoke. We mentioned it to the housekeeper the next morning and asked that the room be fumigated. Upon arrival that evening the smell of smoke was unbelievably oppressive. The staff couldn't remedy the problem. If you have any problems with tobacco smoke I would not recommend that you stay there. Apparently, the smoke from the smoking rooms goes into the nonsmoking rooms.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Daisye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    131
    88
    43
    37
See reviews for
111
112
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

This has to be the BEST experience we've ever had. From start to finish, everything was spectacular! The service, the room, the staff, and the hotel overall. This is a beautiful hotel, and the staff make you feel at home each and every second of the day. I would definitely stay here again, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — I couldn't just pick one...everything was terrific!
  • Disliked — Well, I didn't like having to get up so early for breakfast, but that's not their fault! LOL
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at this hotel! You will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Slats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

We stayed at the Best Western Sterling Hotel & Suites for 4 nights from November 2 until November 6th 2006. My family is considering relocating to the Charlotte area so we thought we would check out the area.

I am giving this hotel a 2 and that is because the staff was friendly and wonderful, but the place is dumpy and some major renovation on the rooms need to be done.

We booked our hotel through hotwire. It was one of those you book and pre-pay and then you find out the hotel. It was given 2.5 stars. AAA gives it 3 diamonds in its Traveler's book. However,when we mentioned the hotel to friends/relatives, their repsonse was less than supportive and we got the question "how did you pick that hotel?" One local told us that the area was questionable. In all fairness, through hotwire, we paid $54 a night.

The hotel is located about two blocks ( or a little more)away from an IHOP, Krispy Kreme and a Gentleman's club. On the other side of 77 is an Embassy Suites that my husband stayed at ( on a different trip)and said was great.

We called several days before and the day of to try to get a Non-Smoking ( NS) double bed room. With hotwire, you get what you get. I am definitely chalking this one up for experience. It has never been a problem in the past to get a NS room; however, this is tabacco country and my family was stuck with the smoking room because the hotel was full. The staff said they would change us to a NS the 3rd and 4th night. Knowing our smoking room concerns and our children's health, the staff went in before we arrived and vaccumed baking powder all through out the room in order to reduce the scent. They also put us in the room at the end of the hotel. Once again the staff was great!

THe room number was 102.

This room was dumpy. The bedspreads were worn and dated looking circa 1980's. I pulled them off of the bed because they seemed icky. The two wing-backed chairs were worn and ragged ( torn- unraveling) in places. The furniture in the room looked like a bunch of left over pieces from different decades and different hotels. It didn't have that unifying look that you see at other hotels. ( i.e. the econolodge, holiday inn, etc) This is probably the designated hotwire room.

We went to sleep. The next morning after taking a shower, the fire alarm in the room started chirpping. My husband told the front desk. She immediately came down and changed the battery. Great service! However, after a few minutes, we realized the problem was not resolved and the alarm continued to chirp.
My husband informed the front desk. We were gone from 9am until 7pm that day. When we returned to our room, the smoke detector was still chirping. My husband told the front desk. He was told as soon as the maintenance man/driver returned he would send him down.

Our children were tired. Shortly the maintenance man came to our room. He stood on the ratty comforter on the bed to look at the smoke detector. He was still wearing his cowboy boots. Now, who knows where those boots had been ( men's public restroom's - ick), but there was no way I was going put my face near that comforter. Once again, it ended up on the floor. The maintenance man removed the smoke detector from his room and installed it in ours so that we would have a detector for the night. Once again great staff! He seemed concerned about our well-being enough to make sure we had a smoke detector. We knew this would be the last night in that room.

The next morning at 7am the front desk called us to let us know that people did not show up the night before and that we could move immediately into #306. They also wanted to get our room ready for the next customers. The front desk employee seemed a little overwhelmed since her replacement for the morning shift was running late. She wanted to make sure that we got the new room and that is why she called so early on a Saturday morning.

We relocated everything upstairs to the third floor. Then we left for the day. We returned later that evening to find ants in the bathroom. Also there was a bizarre familiar smell in the bathroom. We realized later that smoke was traveling from the first floor vents up two levels and coming through the bathroom vent. We also smelled it first thing in the morning, too.

My husband informed the front desk about the ants. We went out for the rest of the day. When we returned and got ready for bed there were still ants in the bathroom. Another thing we found out was that some of the major stations such as CBS were snowy and difficult to watch, but the rest of the cable worked. This room was definitely an improvement over 102. The furniture was more modern. There were extra pillows. The handle was missing of the entertainment center. The comforters were puffier and seemed newer. The furniture was not as worn. The front desk told us it was also a larger room.

As we were checking out on Monday morning, my husband informed them that the ants were still there. The front desk employee said she had the room sprayed. She said it was room 206 right? We were a floor higher in 306. I am sure the other hotel guests were surprised.

Every day we saw US air employees staying here. That was a surprise to me. Maybe they don't have a lot of choice. The front lobby does look renovated as does the breakfast area. Breakfast is minimal. This is exactly what it is no more and no less: cereal (raisin bran, frosted flakes, cheerios), milk, raisin bread, bagels, cream cheese, butter, jelly, donuts, danishes, and make your own waffles, coffee, and juice (oj,apple, grapefruit), bananas, and apples. This breakfast worked for us and the kids. It was well stocked and the area was kept clean.

The customers at the hotel were a mixed bag. You had families, airport employees, seniors, and then in the parking lot there was a truck parked next to our car. The person had a box in the back of the pick-up clearly labeled that the contents involved an inflatable toy used for pleasure ( if you catch my drift). I am sure he probably visited the gentleman's club down the street.

The price worked for us. We won't stay there again. My husband told the front desk that the employees really were great, but the place was a dump. The owner really needs to invest some money in fixing it up. I plan to contact AAA and suggest they re-evaluate their 3 diamond rating. I will be reluctant to book less than a 3-star on hotwire again. I have booked through hotwire before for both NYC and CO without a problem, but they were higher starred places. If we hadn't pre-paid for the room, we would have left.


I hope this helps you in making an informed decision. PS- in case you are wondering, we were not given any kind of refund or rate cut for the smoke detector problems or the ants. It may have made it less painful.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Book at least 3 stars or higher on Hotwire. I will never do a 2.5 star again through hotwire.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Momdemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 January 2005

We stayed here for one night and were very comfortable in our room. The room was clean and the staff friendly.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2004

Stayed here when need to go Charlotte for our green card process...although hotel site states it is next to the INS office its not..the office has moved to Tryvola rd( there are no hotels next to the new office yet !) But this was still a great place to stay for the price compared to others a little closer..this is about 5-10 mins drive if that. Staff helpful and pleasant, room clean and quiet ask for top floor 3rd and end of the corridor..no noise.Would recommend to anyone wanting clean pleasant hotel for the night...would stay here again

Helpful?
10 Thank daviex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel
Eagle Lake
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Address: 242 East Woodlawn Road, Charlotte, NC 28217-2202 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sterling Hotel Charlotte
Best Western Sterling Hotel And Suites
Best Western Charlotte
Charlotte Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing