We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - Kind of crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Ranked #52 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - Kind of crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel was very nice, but I thought it was maybe a bit crowded. There seemed to be several conventions in town all of whom were hanging out in the lobby at the same time. The common areas all seemed very noisy. However, the rooms were clean and large and the pool area was great.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    168
    53
    23
    25
See reviews for
96
111
19
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were looking for a girls weekend between Virginia and Georgia so Charlotte was 1/2 way for all of us! The one requirement was an outdoor pool so we chose The Marriott at SouthPark, and so glad we did! Upon arrival on Thursday afternoon, there was a delightful lady with complimentary wine and desert, what a way to start out getaway! We liked that it was off the interstate and a really pretty area of Charlotte. The service was very professional and super nice. The pool area was great, but the only thing I would change is to have more lounge chairs. That was very limited. The work out area was so nice (sorry we didn't use it). The special little aminites with the lemon water and towels provided was a nice touch. I will definately plan on staying at this Marriott again on my trips to Charlotte.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Wonderful service, the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate. Great location, across the street from the best mall in Charlotte. Great restaurants close by. Would love to come back!

One thing they could improve on is the hotel restaurant, we ate the breakfast buffet and it was just ok...would not pay to eat here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parispls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The parking is free, the lobby is lovely, the rooms are roomy and nicely decorated. We especially appreciated the numerous, easily accessible electrical outlets. So many hotels have few and are behind beds, armoires, etc. There are even outlets on both sides of the large marble vanity in the bathroom. The staff are friendly and helpful. When we checked in, we were informed that a wedding party was occupying most of the 6th (top) floor, but our room was on the 4th, so we should have no problem with noise--and they were correct. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but we had drinks in the lounge (again, lovely) and another time outside on the patio. Service was prompt. The upscale shopping areas and eating establishments are an extra plus. Toscana, a wonderful restaurant, is a few steps away. There are many others only a 2-5 minute drive away. I'm not sure about in-room internet, but there is a computer downstairs for free use.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0ckhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed over due to a strom and a missed fligh, we stayed at the marriot at Indianapolis and the difference is overwhelming, this hotel is not worth the money I was charged, the room was ok but it needs renovations and better cleaning service

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_soma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

This hotel was fantastic - I was greeted with Raspberry Brandy and truffles upon entering the lobby. Right across the street from the swanky Southpark mall (Neiman Marcus, Louis Vuitton, etc). Bed was very comfortable, room was spotless and the marble vanity in the bathroom was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsarolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

I stayed here for one night with my daughter and mother-in-law for a weekend shopping trip to Charlotte, including South Park Mall. This hotel is within walking distance to South Park. There is an up scale shopping and dining area right outside the hotel also. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, and and staff were prompt and friendly. Room rate included breakfast buffet, which was varied and tasty. I would definately stay here again if going to the South Park area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie4hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark
#62 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott SouthPark

Property: Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Address: 2200 Rexford Rd., Charlotte, NC 28211 (Formerly The Park Hotel)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#32 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#42 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte Marriott SouthPark 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlotte Marriott SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing