We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for an event and/or putting up a large group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Ranked #54 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for an event and/or putting up a large group”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We used the Marriott at Southpark for our daughter's Bat Mitzvah party last year. We booked the Morrisoin ballroom downstairs including the foyer and the two adjacent smaller parlors which we used as "quiet" rooms for people who wanted to get away from the noise. For our out of town guests, we booked a large block of rooms at the hotel and we booked the Presidential Suite for Sunday so that we could offer our guests any easy way to do brunch before they left for the weekend.

The hotel is perfect for events like this. e.g. Weddings, business parties, Bar Mitzvah's etc. They have the best in-house Event Staff I've ever seen We worked with Jim Redmond who is the best!. They are reasonabily priced vs. some other hotels in the Charlotte area and overdeliever on everything they promise.

The hotel is not too big, but very nice, so there is a real cozy feel to the place and your guests will really get some extra special treatment. (I've been told that the hotel is planning a renovation of the lobby and restaurant area to make it even nicer -- which is good because the only downside to this hotel right now is that they don't have a large enough lobby area to congregate with family if you are in a group.)

As for location, you can't beat this spot. It is in a quiet nook right across the street from the Southpark Mall -- Charlotte's upscale shopping mall. You don't see or feel the mall from the hotel, but you can walk there without any problem.

The Southpark area is the best place in Charlotte for shopping and dinning. (Even better than uptown.) Though the hotel's inhouse restaurant is OK, you'd be crazy to eat there when there are so many other choices. -- e.g. Go the the Pancake house for breakfast. It's on the other side of the mall. Other dinning options within walking distance include: the Cheesecake Factory, Ruth Chris Steakhouse, Marggionos, Brio's, Panera bread, Zebra, PF Chang, the Palm, Boading Chineese, Harpers, Uptsteams, Dean and Deluca, McDonald's, Burger King, Bojangles, Cyros Sushi bar, Rooster's etc. etc. etc (Just too many to name!)
If you are traveling during June, you will be in for an extra special treat. -- On Friday nights in June, the Charlotte Symphony puts on free concerts in Sympthony park, which is adjacent to the Mall. It's like an evening at Tanglewood, without the long drive!

If you need to get to uptown, it's an easy 20 minute drive. There are also some other great activities all withing 30 minutes including : Carowinds Amusement Park, the U.S. Whitewater rafting center, Zip lining, Mountain biking, Kyaking, Hiking, Golf, Golf and more golf, tennis, etc. etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    171
    55
    23
    25
See reviews for
97
114
20
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2010

despite the reviews, everything with my stay was fantastic. Service was great and they had awesome amenities when I checked in. The rooms were clean and whenever I asked for something extra it got sent right up. I look forward to staying in the southpark area again, so much to do in this area too.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitching1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I would agree with those who were disappointed with this hotel. First, the good; it's in a very nice location near south park mall and restaurants, the rooms are clean, and this fitness center is nice and for the first time ever a real plush bath mat in the bathroom.
We chose this hotel bc we had such a great experience at Marriott Greenville, SC a few weeks before and unfortunately the Greenville location is head and shoulders above this one.
The things that were disappointing; the breakfast was not good, just greasy diner breakfast. The website said sauna and there was not a sauna (the reason we selected it) but there was a steam room which was for us comparable to having a sauna. But the steam room is in the fitness area with no shower anywhere (not even outside by the pool) no place to leave a towel etc other than on the floor. The pool outside was very small and surrounded with concrete wall and lounge chairs for approx 8 people. The hotel room was fine but nothing special. It was not nicely decorated...just generic. We expected more. It was tolerable but in the future we would stay someone else and save the "upgrade" money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelincritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2010

First, kudos to Restaurant.com, because I would not have found the restaurant without them. The boyfriend and I went there for an early dinner last week and the food and service rocked.

I was not super hungry so I ordered the Maryland Jumbo Crabcake and a tossed salad. Boyfriend order the Pot Roasted Shortrib with roasted carrots and cheddar mashed potatoes. He also ate a tossed salad.

Our salads came out immediately with an order of bread. While I wasn't a fan of the bread they set on the table, boyfriend loved it and ordered more. The salad was fresh, crisp, and absolutely delicious. We both commented that if they did a great job with tossed salad, we knew we were in for a treat. We were both in a chatty mood and didn't mind the wait for our food. I new boyfriend's order would like a little extra time, but before our salad forks hit the plate for the last time, the waiter (who was fantastic by the way), brought our entrees. The aroma was straight from foodie heaven. Boyfriend and I traded bites from our plates. I was instantly in love with my crabcake and I know seafood. Boyfriend doesn't even like seafood but he said "thats good." So there. Also, honorable mention for the bread on my sandwhich. This was no pick up by the hands sandwich. In my opinion, it is best eaten open faced with a fork, and so I did.

Boyfriend's shortrib was indescribedly great. Like the kids say, "oh my goodness!" That was a lot of food and my hungry man was loving every bite. He gave me three bites of his shortrib and then I knew without a doubt that he really loved me. (smile)

Later, we ordered Wam Apple & Walnut Cobbler that came ala mode with vanilla ice cream. This made my foodie senses soar! The walnuts were seasoned, perhaps in cinnamon sugar which knocked this desert into the foodie hall of fame. Of course this dessert was accompanied by cups of freshly brewed coffee. The chef was obviously professionally trained at a fine institute and it showed that he/she appreciated fine dining. We loved our dining experience. Thankfully, we were headed to go shopping and walk around for hours.

There comes a time when a dining experience is so amazing that you need to shout it from the rooftop. That time is now. I wished I would have gotten the names of the fantastic wait staff and phenomenal chef to thank them publicly, but I didn't. I will give thanks to Robert Morgan, Restaurant Manager.

Thanks for feeding us great food and treating us like we were worth a million bucks. We WILL be back!

Delores McCarter
Columbia, SC

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

The hotel was very clean. Most guests were staying there for a relative's wedding and the hotel staff was very nice to our party. The building was very nice and kid-friendly.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andpetros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We were surprised and loved the hotel.....
We made the reservations in a hurry and just for location and were surprised at how awesome it was...we will be back..over Easter!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathygenevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

My company held a conference here with catered lunches during the week of March 15th. Overall the hotel was clean, pleasant, and the service was good. The service staff at the front desk in particular were very easy to deal with.
The room was fairly standard, but spacious (except for the bathroom), and the bed was incredibly comfortable. It had a flat screen TV with a nice picture, and internet access for an additional charge. I've never quite understood why if I stay at a Marriott Courtyard the internet access is free, but at the actual Marriott they charge for it, but I guess they know more than I do about running hotels. The connection was actually not very fast, so I was a little miffed at the $12.00 per day charge for such a poor connection.
The only food I ate at the hotel was during our catered meetings, so it was mostly a selection of lunch fare--sandwiches, chips, etc. The quality and taste of the food was very good, but there are excellent restaurants very close by that I would recommend for dinner.
There are some very nice shops attached to the hotel, but it can be a little annoying if you have a room adjacent to these, as some of them appear to take deliveries at 6:30-7:00 AM from very loud trucks.
Overall it served our needs well for our business meeting.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SargentRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark
#63 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott SouthPark

Property: Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Address: 2200 Rexford Rd, Charlotte, NC 28211-3431 (Formerly The Park Hotel)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#32 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#42 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte Marriott SouthPark 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Charlotte Marriott SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing