We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
DENVER, North Caroli
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean and good service”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hubby took me up for my 50th birthday! I do love my slots :)The Hotel is about a 5 min walk no issues at all and they also have a shuttle that runs until 3am on the weekends. We walked becuase it was a long drive up so wanted to stretch our legs. the staff was friendly and our room was very clean, bed was comfy and a whole lot cheaper than staying at the Casino..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehavasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager105, Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
51 is also a good age to celebrate and hope you will come back to see us again and check out the new upgrades we are doing to the hotel! Thank you for the great review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    71
    47
    27
    38
See reviews for
52
112
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived in the early evening with two friends to find a number of people waiting to check in. Despite this the front desk staff were efficient and pleasant. We were allocated a disability-friendly room (we do not have any disabilities) - the first room on the first floor next to the lobby and the lift. Since the hotel was full there was no option for a different room and we anticipated a fairly noisy night with people returning late from the casino. However, we were pleasantly surprised that the room was both comfortable and quiet. Our friends were in the room directly above us adjacent to the open atrium and had the same experience.
The room was pleasantly furnished, clean and had a large bathroom with a huge shower (no tub) because it was adapted for the disabled. Not a problem and possibly an advantage if you wish to shower together !!
The breakfast was very good with hot and cold choices. The breakfast room could be bigger for a hotel of this size but, despite it being fully booked, we did not have much of a wait for a table for 4.
This was a pleasant stay - not in my top 20 list - but we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merritt island, florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we stayed there because of the proximity to the casino, did not realize that the free shuttle only ran on friday and saturdays. The room was small and outdated, old tube type t.v. but it had a great picture window with a beautiful view of the mountains. the hot breakfast was good also.
this hotel needs to add more electrical outlets to keep up with the electronic age. we had three cell phones, an.d ipad and a laptop and had to unplug almost everything in the room to charge our devices.
hotel staff very nice and accomodating
we could hear people running around upstairs until late at night

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyrider49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Cherokee Grand Hotel for three nights. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The main problem we encountered was the cleaning of our room. The first day there was no problem, but by 5 p.m. on the second day it was not yet cleaned. The weekend was coming; they were fully booked; and they must have been shorthanded. We told two of the cleaning people that it was not yet done, but nothing happened. We then went to the front desk, told them the problem, and we were told that they took care of the new incoming guest rooms first and the layovers later. We left for dinner and came back about 2 hours later. The sheet had been pulled up on the bed (but was not neatly done). New towels were put in, but no new shampoo or glasses. We ended up using the same two paper glasses for three days. Not once while we were there did they vacuum the floors. The same stuff was on the floor the entire time. Here's a hint: If you don't book the deluxe room, you will get one of the outside "motel" type rooms instead of one of the newer inner rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a "deluxe" or "upgraded" room. A regular room is one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick L, Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We would like to apologize for all inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Your comments will not go unheard, and we thank you for letting us know. We are glad that you found the front desk staff to be kind and accommodating. We will be continuing with our renovations as the busy season comes to an end. We do hope that you keep us in mind of any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

we stayed at a room in the main hotel for one nite after a 13 hour drive....the price was 150 which included a AAA discount and tax...the room was very outdated and dirty for the price we paid...however being tired from a 13 hour drive we decided to stay...willie nelson was in town and so the availability of rooms this evening was very nominal and slim pickings at any hotel in this area...soooo we started to unpack and get ready to go on the shuttle for the casino when we saw the mold over the air conditioning....omg...mold...so we went downstairs and told the front desk about it as we were getting ready to leave for the casino and they were surprised and said to talk to the morning manager as the evening one was gone...we said ok as we fiqured they would do something for us...sooo the next morning we go downstairs to leave and no manager was there...we were leaving so i got the name of the two managers and was assured one of them would call me..NO ONE CALLED ME ....i waited 24 hours...NO ONE CALLED ME..so i called and spoke to heather..i questioned her as to why she never called me on this situation and she brushed it aside and i told her about the mold that i was overcharged for sleeping in that room and i wanted a refund...she told me she needed to talk to her GENERAL manager and would call me back...she did within the hour and told me they would give me a discount on a room the next time...i told her we live 13 hours away and that wasnt acceptable i want to talk to this GENERAL manager myself and she said she would give that person my number...i asked for the NAME of the general manager and she refused to give it to me after i asked her several times...unbelievable.....so guess what people? I NEVER GOT A CALL BACK FROM THIS GENERAL MANAGER....i told heather the whole thing is shady and i wanted to get the number for corprate but she said they r privately owned...guess they have me over a barrel on this one...i tried to stop payment on my card at the bank but they said only in cases of fraud to they do that...so this is my only way of telling people DO NOT STAY HERE...it looks presentable on the outside but it is so bad in the rooms and way way overpriced...poor poor management

Room Tip: sleep somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milleniashopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

When I booked this hotel for a Friday-Saturday weekend visit to the casino, I saw a photo of multi-story hotel with inside rooms. Upon arrival, we were located in a side building ala a 60's motel with entrance from the street. Needless to say we had lots of street and parking lot noise, walls were so thin I could hear the neighbors toilet flush. Room was comfortable but very dated. Carpet needed cleaning, bed was okay.

Rates were not as pricey as the resort but still high for what we got. I didn't realize that housekeeping, except for straightening the bed and fresh towels, was not included. The bathtub/tile was so nasty — dirty and moldy — it grossed me out every time I showered.

The breakfast was nominal but typical; fridge in room was so cold that all our food was frozen. No thermostat to control temperature.

Maybe we should have asked for an interior room but my expectations still might have not been reached at the over $100/night rate. Being privately-owned and sold-out, maybe you can get away with offering less.

So many hotels/motels in this area, you can be choosey when selecting one. Casino has lots of free parking. Some hotels offer shuttle as this one did.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick L, Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments. We will continue to make improvements to our Hotel on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Grand Cherokee Hotel is located across the street and a short walk down from the western entrance of the Harrah's Cherokee Casino/Resort. Despite it's close proximity to the Casino, the hotel offers free shuttles to and from the casino on weekends from 3:00 pm till 3:00 am. Unless you can get a comped room at Harrah's, Grand Cherokee is a great place to stay while gaming in Cherokee. The hotel is also conveniently located for visiting the many local attractions such as Great Smokey Mountain National Park, local waterfalls, historic mountain towns, etc.
The Grand Cherokee is a clean, well appointed, family owned, mountain hotel. It has been recently renovated. Obtained our reservation for a Friday through Saturday visit for around $80.00 per night via an internet site. I was told that the owners live in a large house which is located on the property. There is a 4 story main hotel building. The rooms to the main building are accessed through the lobby. There is also a long row of single story motel style direct walk in rooms. Hotel staff are helpful and friendly. Complimentary hot/continental breakfast served in the lobby until 10:00 a.m. every morning featuring just about anything you might desire for breakfast. The hotel has a swimming pool located in a gated pool area.
Unless we are given comped rooms at Harrah's we would probably stay at the Grand Cherokee next time we go gaming at Cherokee. Please note that my ratings are based on my estimated comparison of similarly situated, similar type hotels.

Room Tip: The hotel's strip of motel style rooms located on the left side of the property allow unincumber...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaboskcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
0.2 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherokee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Grand Hotel

Property: Cherokee Grand Hotel
Address: 196 Paint Town Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719-8134
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherokee Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherokee Grand Hotel is located in Cherokee, NC adjacent to Harrah’s Cherokee Casino. Come stay with us and you can choose to take a leisurely 5 minute walk to the Casino, take our complimentary shuttle on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, or just drive over and use valet or park in the parking deck at the casino. The Casino offers all the live action gaming and slots available plus there are numerous places to eat, from Johnny Rockets and Dunkin Donuts to Brio and Ruth’s Chris, stay with us and you will be in close proximity to some great food and great entertainment! We are also very close to the historical attractions of the Cherokee Indian Reservation, including the Indian Village, Outdoor Drama, Museum of the Cherokee and downtown souvenir shopping. Our Hotel features spacious rooms with many having beautiful mountain views. We offer a number of complimentary hotel amenities including a free continental breakfast, a free shuttle to and from the casino on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, free wireless internet access, free local calls and free parking. Each room has cable offering over 30 channels with a 32 inch color TV, in-room coffee, iron/ironing board, and hairdryers. We also offer triple sheet bedding with a down comforter and a mini-fridge and microwave in our deluxe rooms. We have a meeting/conference room available for your business needs. There is a fireplace located in the lobby for your comfort and each guest room is air conditioned. We also have a few spa/Jacuzzi rooms and connecting/adjoining rooms are available for your comfort. Our Front Desk is open and staffed for 24 hour service and our housekeeping staff takes extra care to provide a clean and comfortable stay. Come, enjoy your visit and let our home become yours. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cherokee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Seven Clans Hotel Cherokee
Inn Of The 7 Clans
Ramada Cherokee
Cherokee Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing