We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, awesome breakfast, friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, awesome breakfast, friendly staff!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a very nice property, our room was comped from the casino. I will have to say the property is a little hard to find, but we should've called to verify our directions. The room was large, the bedding was nice, and it had a nice flat-screen television. Didn't try the pool area, so can't comment there. The staff was very friendly at check-in, as well as check-out. The breakfast is reason enough to choose this property, and delicious buffet, that includes a drink. Overall excellent property, would defintiley stay again, even if not comped...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmille_ky244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    102
    86
    29
    31
See reviews for
94
137
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklinville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was a comp room from Harrahs and read the earlier reviews and was a little concerned. The motel is obviously an old Holiday Inn. Our room was clean and comfortable.. The space and furnishings were good. TV flatscreen, but cable was not HD. I have been so many places that this is true.

We stayed two nights and used the breakfast room each morning. It was the same each day, but very good. Enjoyed the French toast and you can get a Diet Coke for breakfast, a real Carolina favorite. Good service.

Perfectly fine room for a short visit to Cherokee.

Room Tip: Stay in the lower building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband booked this hotel. I was a little concerned after reading the reviews. I was quite surprised. Our room had been refurbished except for the air conditioning. The room air was stale probably from being shut up for a while but after we turned on the AC the staleness disappeared. The king bed slept really good and the two different types of pillows were a plus. Everything was clean. We had a mini fridge and microwave in our room. The breakfast buffet was great! (included in the price). You can definitely hear the cleaning carts rolling up and down the sidewalk, not too early though. The pool looked clean and was open even though we did not use it. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are outside entrance. Even numbers in first building can park in front of their rooms. Odd num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJHH271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We received a comp room from Harrah's Casino. It is old & outdated. This is the old Holiday Inn.The rooms are small, the bathroom is awful. Harrah's can do better than this. You can hear guests in the other rooms talking. I would not stay here again. Even if it was free, it was not worth it. The hotel needs a complete over haul. The front desk staff are very friendly though. However, the buffet breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJIPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I, like most of the reviewers, received a comped room here. I decided to go to Harrahs on a whim and their hotel was sold out. I received a room here for no charge just like the other reviewers.

This is an older motel. It is not the same quality as Harrah's and apparently wasn't the same quality as most Holiday Inns which is why (in my opinion) it is now an independent motel. A lot of the reviews complain about lack of amenities, the location, and the quality of the place. Guess what? Those people paid $0 to stay here just like I did. You can't even say you get what you paid for because they paid nothing!

The rooms are dated, the bathroom wallpaper is hideous, and the location is not the greatest in Cherokee. What they do have in their favor is a nice and friendly staff, an uncrowded part of town, the beds are comfortable enough, and breakfast (for two) is included at no extra charge.

There are some reviews that don't like the breakfast buffet. Guess what they paid for it? $0! If you don't like it or don't want it, don't eat it! People are complaining that if you have more than two in your room, the breakfast buffet is then $6.95 per person. What does Harrah's give us for breakfast when we stay there? NOTHING! At Harrah's you don't get so much as a cold muffin for free - and their breakfast definitely costs more than $6.95 per person.

When you stay here you need to be realistic in your expectations. Most people are staying here for free and spend very little time in the room and on the motel's grounds. Don't be swayed by the reviews and opinions of people who expect the place to be something it's not - the Harrah's hotel.

Room Tip: Room 203 seems not to have the problems others are complaining about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RGE29680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

D not let Harrahs comp your room here. Place is dusty and smells of smoke. Breakfast is very minimal, $7.95 charge for each person over the two per room. Basic eggs, biscuit,(no toast available), grits, oatmeal, sausage, French toast and coffee or tea, nothing more. Bitten by something while there developed red whelks on my back.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeSane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Like many, this was a "comp" room by the Casino. Wouldn't have been my first choice but I found the hotel to be adequate. The room had been updated and was comfortable. The only annoying thing were some louder guests (not the hotel's fault.) I was put in a ground floor room by the stairway and could hear other guests tromping up and down the stairs and using the ice machine all night. My tip would be to ask for a room away from the stair wells and ice machine. There was a large refrigerator and Wifi worked well.

Room Tip: Get something away from the stairwell if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Property: Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Address: 37 Tsalagi Rd, Hwy 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719-9104 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located near Harrah's Casino, the Oconaluftee River, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Santa's Land Family Theme Park, Western Carolina University, Cataloochee Ski Area and the Cherokee Indian Village. The Chestnut Tree Inn offers guests an outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 7 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wake up service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities with A/V equipment and catering available. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls,air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. Mini-fridge is available. Microwaves may be available but requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing