We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best camping experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian Creek Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Indian Creek for a week. We were not expecting it to be so far up the mountain, but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We have three small children who absolutely loved playing in the creek. The owners were very accommodating and even when we asked to come a day early. The facility is very well maintained. Bathhouse was always clean and well stocked. Laundry room was also clean. The office cared many basic supplies just in case you forgot something. The views were breath taking. After an entire week we were all sad to leave, but are certainly looking forward to coming back next year.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Malysa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family stayed here the last week in June, for 4 days. We were creek side and it really was a pretty spot. However, it is waaaay back in the woods and a serious drive to civilization. It is up to you to entertain your little ones because there is no pool and no game room. We rented side by side sites. The sites were a little cramped but nice. The bathroom was immaculate!We used one to park because the parking for one was up near the road. We took our 3 Yorkies along as we were told they were a pet friendly campground. One of the grounds workers snapped at us because the 2 puppies wandered off our site and were headed across the road. I was grateful for him preventing them from being run over but he was a jerk about it. The rest of their staff was really nice. Their Wi-Fi was sketchy at best and we were just across the road from the store. If you don't need Wi-Fi or want to visit town often, this place is for you.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for 4 days after a week at the OBX NC. This was a great end to our vacation. We were met right away by the owner who was friendly and helpful. We had a site which was clean and right by the creek. Kids played all day in that. Clean RR!!!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank BrentFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This campground is deep in the woods, and many of its camping sites border the stream that comes tumbling down the mountain. It was relaxing to hear the stream flowing by and even wading in its cold waters during the hot weather. The restrooms and shower were kept spotless during our time there. Your cellphone won't work there because you are high in the mountains-there are no cellphone towers nearby. But I came there for rest and relaxation and got both! They have wifi but it is slow-but you are in the mountains, not near an urban area so this is to be expected. The town of Cherokee is nearby, which has a choice of restaurants. We stayed at site 3B which was near the playground-it can get noisy during the day if there are a lot of kids staying there, so just get a site further away from the playground if you like quiet all day.

Room Tip: check map of the campground on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

*NO CELL PHONE SIGNAL, NO WIFI* We choose Indian Creek for a month while waiting on our house to be finished. Terrible mistake! I requested an rv site on the water but rarely got to enjoy it. On our weekends off we looked forward to fishing, only to find people (different people every weekend) fishing on our lot. Every weekend we would have to listen to screaming kids and parents getting drunk as the day progressed. For a place to have SO many rules (including not feeding the geese but throwing lit firecrackers instead) respecting other campers space. Then came karaoke time where the drunk parents would sing (scream) well past midnight and then pass around a jar of shine until sunrise. Keep in mind that this was different families, but still happened every.single.weekend. Jean is very nosey and extremely loud. On June 16th we were leaving to run to town around lunch time and she informed us that her electricity bill was higher than normal & if we didn't start turning our air conditioning off when we left then we would be responsible for the bill. It was 90 degrees outside and we had a dog in the camper!!! Some of the other permanent campers drive diesel trucks and you WILL hear them driving by at least 15 times a day. Someone that lives on the other side of the lake enjoys working on engines and revving them up, echoing throughout the campsite. Yeah, it's pretty down there. But we got sick of the noise and feeling like we were in detention. So we left early and came to Twin Lakes Catfish in Baxter. Best decision we have ever made! 

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jlbuckner82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M, Owner at Indian Creek Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

This review was posted to the wrong Indian Creek Campground. There are many Indian Creek Campgrounds in the US. We are located in Cherokee, NC. We have 2 fast running streams at our campground- not a lake as mentioned in this review. We also do not have geese, nor have we ever had karaoke at the campground. We do not have anyone named Jean employed at our campground. I would encourage this person to resubmit her review to the correct campground.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I couldn't believe how many campgrounds we passed on our drive to Indian Creek! I loved sitting by the campfire and sleeping in the tent while listening to the stream. We also enjoyed laying in our hammock right beside the water. I noticed they try to maintain some natural barriers between sites. The bathhouses were constantly maintained by staff, VERY clean, and I enjoyed my short walks there.The small store was well stocked and the firewood they sold was not green so it burned well. The campground was quiet. However, the site next to us decided to hang their bright lantern up high to make it seem like noon at midnight. There always has to be one group who doesn't get the concept of just being in the woods, go figure! Also, I was amused by the lady who sat in the stream for several hours stacking rocks like she was playing Jenga!

Room Tip: While making my reservation, Heather was very helpful and suggested site 63. It was right on the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked this campground based on reviews but was quite disappointed with the site we picked. We picked site 60. The location is away from the rest and has a beautiful view; however the vehicle lights of the locals or whoever else that goes around the highway will shine on your site at night, the water was too strong to get into and you could not easily fish from this site as it is up on a embankment. There was a few issues with the site that we brought to the attention of management. Management was very helpful in those issues. The bathrooms were very well kept. The bathrooms are a little bit of a hike. If you like true primitive camping with no electricity and no fire pit grate to cook on easily, this site may be for you, but not for us. This campground seems to be pretty popular and we believe it is a great campground to the area, but we felt we wasted our time on this particular site. If you do camp with a tent, pack a rug for front of tent and air mattresses inside as the campsites are on top of rock gravel. Also, the topic of fishing in Cherokee - Good luck actually catching a fish. My husband tried numerous areas and there was nothing to be found, except some tadpoles and small fish. We heard a rumor that they stock on Wednesday's. Maybe that was the issue. Do travel to Mingo Falls while in the area - Great falls, but be prepared for the hike up to them on the stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpag8rgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
6.5 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
129 reviews
6.8 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
5.5 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#7 of 28 in Cherokee
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
283 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
284 reviews
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Creek Campground

Address: 1367 Bunches Creek Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-6414
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Campground Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing