We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Close to everything, clean (a few hairs here and there, though), nice staff, loved the balconies. I was not worried about going off-season, but there really wasn't much open. Maybe go during the summer for more to do.

Room Tip: I liked the top floor, I think you could hear through the walls/ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisatravels4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews. This is how we find out where we can improve.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    91
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
65
124
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here Valentine's weekend this year. Although Cherokee is very quiet this time of year, there is plenty to keep you occupied. We visited the casino Friday and Saturday night. Within walking distance of the hotel is Peter's Pancakes and Waffles which is worth the trip to Cherokee. We had breakfast there Saturday and were so impressed, we returned Sunday on our way out of town. We stayed on the first floor and the sound of the river was soothing. Be sure to bring a box of saltine crackers for the raft of ducks! Room was clean. The king size bed was very comfortable. The room had recently been completely renovated. Enjoyed the balcony overhanging the river even in the snow!

Room Tip: We prefer First Floor (closer to water).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews. This is how we find out where we can improve.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statham, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed here for a quick getaway for my birthday. This motel was beautiful, clean and wonderful location in Cherokee. The town was dead because it was off season, but the hotelroom was clean and fresh. It was updated and modern inside. King size bed was super comfortable. The room had a fridge and a table for two. The balcony overlooked the water and it was beautiful and calming. We were at the casino within 3 minutes. We will return when the town in a little more alive :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews. This is how we find out where we can improve.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I was so excited to go to Cherokee I had never been, the river was very pretty to look at but for the money we had to pay for three night was so over priced, this room doesn't even have a microwave, and yes all it does have is a TV and a refrig that's it, no pool, no fitness center. And the city shuts down at 6 including all stores it's like being a ghost town, I have to say the only fun I had was at harrahs.

Room Tip: I was so excited to go to go to Cherokee I had never been there, when we arrived I was so disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolBowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
We regret that your first trip to Cherokee proved disappointing. It is true that a lot of the stores and activities close up in November until Spring. It is definitely a must see in the Spring, Summer & Fall.
The rates during New Years holiday are always higher at all motels.
Hopefully we will get the opportunity to have you as a guest again in the future during a time that is more active for your needs.
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed here in November and will stay again! The rooms are VERY clean and close by all the great attractions. There is a pancake house in walking distance that had great a great breakfast menu. Debbie the front desk person couldnt have been nicer. She talk to us like she had known us forever. She would ask us everyday if we needed extra's. Can't wait till next year!

Room Tip: all rooms have belconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews. This is how we find out where we can improve.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night after attending a concert at the casino. We were quite pleased. Rooms were recently remodeled, were clean and very comfortable. The balcony and view were lovely even though this time of year not too useable. Also very quiet despite being right on the road. Definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robinwood1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews. This is how we find out where we can improve.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Have stayed here twice, first time was in 2005 and again in April, 2012. Both times were great. Rooms have a balcony that overhang the river so you can leave your screen door open to listen to the river flowing back without any security worries. Nice rooms, staff was great, it is a no frills no thrills hotel though and the price is comparative to most others in the area that offers more amendities (i.e. pool or breakfast) so in my opinion you are mainly paying for the privilege of being on the river and a really nice and clean room. Conveniently located to everything that Cherokee has to offer.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews. This is how we find out where we can improve.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.3 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 1026 Tsali Blvd, Cherokee, NC 28719-9217
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — River's Edge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled and located on the Cherokee Indian Reservation in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains, River's Edge has everything to offer. You can sit on your own private balcony overlooking the Oconaluftee River, or just step out the door to choose from convenient restaurants, stores, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing