We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well wroth the money”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spent one night while visiting smokey mountain national park. Can not get any closer to the river. Good help and extra clean. Will stay again when in the area. Local eatery good local food. Good area to look for native american items.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank You for review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will consider us for your next trip to Cherokee. Again Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I love this little motel so much that I'm writing my review before we even check out.

First of all, I cannot get enough of these balconies! You are literally on the river's edge and it is very peaceful and relaxing. Also, the motel is obviously a bit older but the rooms are fantastically up to date and stylish.

River's Edge has incredibly affordable rates. It's refreshing to find such a great room without having to pay a good chunk for it.

The only 2 draw backs (and these are certainly sufferable and easy to overlook draw backs) are the lack of a continental breakfast and connecting to the wifi. The breakfast issue is really understandable, as they don't seem to have the space to accommodate it.

Regarding the wifi, we're staying here on a Sunday night and the office was closed by 8:30. So, there was no one to ask for the wifi password. It would be nice if they would leave it somewhere in the rooms for guests.

Still, I cannot rave enough about this motel. I absolutely love it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank jennamarie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your suggestion for the wi-fi pass word is being taken into consideration. We hope you will choose us for your next trip to Cherokee and again Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent one night at River's Edge Motel while in route between two other NC locations. It was selected based on other reviews here on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed and are pretty much in agreement with most other reviewers. It is clean and comfortable and the balcony over the river was a big selling point. It is convenient to the rest of Cherokee and yet somewhat off the more traveled and more noisy path. It is also convenient to a couple of very good restaurants (Paul's restaurant and Peter's Pancake House) and several of the better shops. The caveats are that it is so close to the road that backing out can be an issue as well as the noise of traffic at night. Still, we would recommend it.

Room Tip: There are only 21 or so rooms on two levels. I'd recommend the second level for less road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will plan your next stay with us at Rivers Edge. Again Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our stay was awesome. Room was very clean, Very friendly and accommodating staff. Beautiful view from balcony. Great water pressure. Beds were very comfortable. Great location. All in all, a very nice place to stay. Will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanamchone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank You for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your will allow us to serve you again in the future. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Like many, we choose this motel according to reviews. As mentioned leaving the parking area is a bit hazardous(during peak season). The rooms are not equipped with a microwave and we weren't able to get the wi-fi connection. Other than that, we were quite satisfied the room was clean and comfortable. We would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, Director of Sales at River's Edge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope your stay was enjoyable and hope to have have the ability to serve you in the near future. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here on a recent trip based on reviews and were not disappointed. The staff is helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable, and you just can't beat the river view in the back. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. The only negative we found is the awful parking situation. You have to back into a busy highway to get out. We were in a tiny Miata surrounded by big SUV's on either side of us in the parking area, so I had to stand by the edge of the road in bitterly cold wind and wait for an opening in traffic so I could signal my husband when it was safe to back out and not get hit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbboomer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank You for your review. Sorry you had trouble with the parking , Were glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope you will think of us for your next stay. Again Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed end of Oct. on our way to Smokey Mntns, was awesome autumn road trip. The location was perfect the room was clean nice with river running in back. Also, the staff very nice. Would highly recommend :D

Room Tip: Great value great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabiola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.5 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 1026 Tsali Blvd, Cherokee, NC 28719-9217
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range: £62 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River's Edge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled and located on the Cherokee Indian Reservation in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains, River's Edge has everything to offer. You can sit on your own private balcony overlooking the Oconaluftee River, or just step out the door to choose from convenient restaurants, stores, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing