We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greensboro, Ga.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I spent out 40th anniversary at Harrah's. The room was free and we got it for 2 nights ,,, Friday and Saturday with only a 2 day request. The room was great. The only thing we complained about was that they air conditioner never really cooled the room. We are use to sleeping in a almost cold home. 75 degrees is not cool to us. Other than that, it was fine. We had a view of the top of a building but we never really stayed in the room and looked out. Had a great time. Everyone one we met was friendly and helpful especially bell service and check in. Valet parking was quick and the people working were extremely nice. Oh and the room was very quiet. No slamming doors or t.v. from other rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with a view if you insist on having one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christmas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,837
    3,844
    1,407
    487
    404
See reviews for
3,828
6,572
1,568
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

have been going since it opened and the expansions not always a good thing. the rooms are just gorgeous but they did not test them first.. showers are uncomfortable but the beds are wonderful.. great amenities and casino is fun... most rooms have a nice view and the hotel is pretty to see as well...

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
Green Features: excellent information...the provide lots of ways to participate or now.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassycat119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, N.C.,USA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Located in beautiful setting in smokey mountain on banks of rambling stream! This is our favorite resort casino! Not only is it a beautiful resort but it is a relaxing experience. The views from any window in the hotel are beautiful. Clouds on the mountains in the morning are the smokey mountains. Rooms are best of any hotel! Service I'd always great. Always make new friends in casino! Love this place!

Room Tip: All are nice but older mountain rooms have tub with shower, while new rooms have walk in showers, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catlover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

we have been going to this resort two or three times a year .starting with the first year they opened.it has grown into a very beautiful resort. the rooms are very nice and the beds are super comfortable. The casino has about every slot machine you could imagine. They also offer many table games. The service is very good They are always smiling and helpful. We will visit again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are working hard for our future. they use energy efficient lighting. and efficient ventilation systems They encourage all the green practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stay here two or three times a year and really enjoy this resort. This time we were assigned the Soco Tower and they have put in new carpet and wallpaper since our last stay. We had two awesome meals at Brio. The new outdoor pool & bar are open!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petenjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I go to Harrah's Cherokee about once, maybe twice a year. Usually for just the day since I live only about 2 hours away. I was given a comped room on on Sunday evening so I decided to take advantage of it. I got there at about 5pm and check-in was a breeze. I've read many reviews that complain about the amount of walking to and from your room to the casino floor. I'm not sure where they were staying, but I stayed in the Mountain tower and it was about a 30 yard walk from the elevator to the casino floor which was perfect. Not sure what the fuss is about.

First of all, I don't play slot machines unless I'm really bored and grates on my nerves those that rate a property poorly just because they don't win at a casino. If you plan on going to a casino for the sole purpose of winning then you shouldn't go. Anyway, I'll get off my soap box now. My favorite game is Pai Gow Poker, but alas they don't have this game. I asked one of the pit bosses if there were any plans on getting it and they said they didn't know but she said considering they just recently got Mississippi Stud that the chances were good. My friend and I walked around looking for a cheap game of blackjack and found a $10 table that had a TV above the dealer (most tables do). We played some cards and watched the world cup. It was a great atmosphere. Won some, lost some, had some laughs. Ended up getting back to even and went to get some food. I went to the food court and got a meatball calzone. It was a little expensive (which doesn't surprise me... I'm at a casino and expected it) but tasty. My buddy decided not to eat at this time so I met him back at a Mississippi Stud table ($10). It was my first time playing this game and I have to say, I don't think I will ever play it again. I was never a fan of Let It Ride and this game it basically the same except in reverse. I eventually left the table and went to look for my second favorite game, craps. There are about 10 tables and I think 4 were $10 and 2 were $15 and the rest not open. It took a little waiting but I finally grabbed an opening at a $10 table. This is one of the very few casinos that I've been in that offer the Fire bet at a craps table. After about 30 minutes of play, a shooter finally got hot and nailed a 5-point run, 250-1 for my $1 fire bet. I cashed out ahead and found my buddy again for some more blackjack. Played a few more hours then went back to the room. The room to me was just an average casino room. It wasn't a Super 8 by any means, but it wasn't like some of the Vegas strip rooms either. It was clean and comfortable and I can't complain considering it was comped. Got up the next morning for some Dunkin' Donuts in the food court. I paid $6 for a dozen munchkins. YIKES! Luckily I had enough points on my players card so I didn't have to use cash. I munched my way back to the craps table and quickly lost what I had won the previous night. Oh well, that's the nature of craps, you can win quickly and lose even quicker. All the dealers were very nice and quickly learned my betting habits to where they were reminding me about certain bets I like to make.

Overall, a very good experience. I was really happy that the table minimums weren't through the roof considering this is the only game for miles. Yes, there is smoke but it's not the fog that many previous reviewers have complained about. I'm definitely going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_kesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is set in a beautiful area of the Smokey mountains. The casino is the average casino, put it in and watch it go away. For watch you lose here you can buy an X-Box and be more entertained for a lot less. The hotel rooms are nice. Buffet very good and Ruth Chris is fantastic. The only problem was my 20 year old daughter was with us and couldn't get to any of the food places except the buffet and Starbucks, she had to be escorted by two guards to get to Ruth Chris. Had a way better time in Vegas. Best part was the river rafting on the Nantahala River.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DW A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
687 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort

Property: Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719-9761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing