We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA
Nearby Hotels
River's Edge Motel(Cherokee)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Cherokee(Cherokee)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River(Cherokee)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Cherokee(Cherokee)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Cherokee(Cherokee)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Cherokee)(Great Value!)
US$100
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
187
104
41
29
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
104
41
29
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolfork riverdeluxe cabintravel trailergreat campgroundcamp storeplanned activitiesmingo fallsbig cove roadbath housepull thrudog parkgreat smokiesrv sitescamp groundlabor daycable tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Spent 8 nights in tent section. Smelled strongly of urine the entire week. Only one shower worked after the first day, we made daily reports and was never addressed. The bathrooms were not cleaned the entire week. The same trash stayed in shower and stalls. The outdoor pool was not open. People were tubing and coming straight to the indoor pool and the water was gross. Only one of three washing machines worked during the entire week. With so much rain we needed a washer a few times but had to wait in line. With no phone service it would have been nice to have decent wifi as it was the only way to communicate with the outside world.
Had heard a lot of positive remarks from people prior to visit but we certainly weren't impressed! Will stay elsewhere next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crissy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Should have told us prior to 5put hour trip pool closed didnot even tell us on arrival had to drive to dollywood to find something to do. The campsites are nice but at 74.00 a nite that would get you a pool somewhere else beware call before you go my daughter very dissapointed in pool being closed for the summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Camper1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We just returned from a 7day stay at this KoA. in previous years we always enjoyed our stay. Not so much this summer.
Outdoor-pool closed!!!! (and no information about this on website) game-room not working, vending machines not working, problems with plumbing in showers and bathrooms. speeding employees in golf-carts yelling at kids for no reason. the indoor pool was partly so crowded that nobody could swim just stand side-by-side.
The Wifi is terrible & slow if you get a connection.
1 young employee trying to answer phone and help customers at desk while 3 or 4 more walk by and go to a backroom doing whatever and when they return, they have no desire to answer the people that are on-hold.
Guess we will try another campground next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael-Carolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Overall we were happy there. The grounds were a little wet from recent rains, and we had booked a tent site for our family of 4. We found a dry section to set up the tent without a problem but it was a little muddy walking around the campground. We were told they have had a higher than normal rainfall.

We were disappointed to get an email about 2 weeks before we left telling us the outdoor pool would not be open until after our trip. At least we knew before we got there or I'm sure the disappointment would have been greater. Glad there was an indoor pool to use, but it got quite busy as a result. The hot tub was very hot some days and not hot enough on others, and as other reviewers have mentioned, there were too many kids playing rough in the hot tub to allow the tired parents any rest. Honestly I'm not saying that's the campground's fault, they cant really have someone stand around and make people be attentive parents. At least the kids I encountered were basically good kids, no real troublemakers.

The staff were all very friendly and eager to help, although I got the impression that probably half of them were working their first jobs in high school. The young man who rented our family bicycles wasn't quite sure how to work the air pump or untangle the bikes, for example, but he was more than willing to take his time and figure it out, and it never seemed like a bother for him.

Very complete gift shop and store, good food at the outdoor cafe' although get there a little early. When it says they close at 8, that means they start putting things away at 745 and stop taking orders, and are locking the door and walking away at 8...you have been warned.

As far as cleanliness, I found it to be a mixed bag mostly. The bathrooms were cleaned pretty often, but on more than one occasion the teenage worker would walk in and mop the area in front of the sinks, then out the door and leave, when the showers really needed a quick mop the most.

Our kids LOVED the big bounce pillow, and honestly we could probably spend longer on property as the kids always complained when I got them off that thing!

But here's what sold us, on the last night of our trip, we were watching the weather and saw a pretty bad looking storm coming in. We had to get up and get going the next morning, with a 12 hour drive home, and the thought of laying awake all night while lightning crashed around our tent, and trying to figure out how we would pack up in the morning to leave if it was still pouring rain, as it was forecast to do, had us pretty stressed out. We had a tight schedule, as we were driving home a day early to attend a unexpected funeral. I decided to spend the extra and move into a cabin, but by then it was almost 10pm. I called the General Manager, Mark, and apologized for calling so late, but told him I was tent camping with two small kids and was worried about the weather, inquiring if we might be able to move to a cabin. To my surprise he said "don't worry we'll put you in a cabin, no charge" which I certainly wasn't expecting. We would have been happy to pay the extra $20 or whatever to sleep dry and safe, and that's without him even knowing the circumstances of why we were leaving so early.

It's true there are some repairs needed, and some cosmetic things really could stand to be addressed, but the help we received more than made up for it. We spent only 2 days here, but after the friendly service and hospitality we received, we are already planning to stay for a week next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Management needs to work on communication with workers when problem arrises... OUTDOOR POOL TORE UP & didn't tell us... Fail to tell us at time of check in... we are staying 12 nights..... Didn't give us a discount on it didn't offer chairs to sit in the sun... If they would have told us this at time of check in, before I paid $535.00 I would have went somewhere else...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Lynn_Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews