We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cherokee KOA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Easley, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cherokee KOA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying 6 days in Cherokee at the KOA. Loved the campgrounds and the surrounding area. The campground is currently under going some renovations and some updates. The only one that actually affected us was the water connections. The old ones leak but didn't cause any inconvenience to our water pressure or our campsite. We were told they update these but have to shut down the water to do so, therefore will be closer to winter (I suspect). The have cable tv, and full hookups. They also have cabin rentals. Some of these areas were a bit unkept, but again, didn't affect us. We traveled with another couple and both have 5th wheels. We had side-by-side sites. All sites are concrete pads and pull-thru. They also have concrete patios with picnic tables. For travelers with children, they have a variety of things to do... jumping pad, minature golf, indoor/outdoor pools, bike rentals, plus craft events daily. On Saturday evening they have entertainment near the main building. The staff and associates were very pleasant. They stopped occasionally at our site to visit and see if we needed anything. They also supply a shuttle to the casino, Cherokee "Unto These Hills" and shopping. We're going back in August. This is an active campground, if you like wilderness it may not be for you. We loved it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank blizzard1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    91
    35
    27
    32
See reviews for
226
54
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here June 30- July 3. The facility is in a beautiful location and it was a very relaxing stay. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. The site was level and large and had a large concrete pad so set up was easy. A nice firepit with a grill top was at the site. We found the staff to be mediocre. Definitely not what we expect at a KOA. An escort to the site and a simple nod as they zoom around on golf carts would have been nice. The bathrooms needed some attention and the patio furniture by the pool could have used a dily wipe down. There is no way we could have eaten off the tables. There was an abundance of staff but not an abundance of the service we are accustomed to at a KOA. Several fellow campers commented that the campground has declined in the past few years. Could be a great park with a little attention to detail/

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just went for 4th of July. This was our first trip to any KOA campground, we are used to camping at state parks, with a bit more privacy. The campsite was very family friendly, and TONS of amenities, close to Cherokee and Mingo falls, plenty to do on the campground. The bathrooms were clean, and private. My biggest complaint, too many campers/cabins on top of each other. It seemed like if they found an empty patch anywhere, they put a cabin. The map online DOES NOT REFLECT the true layout. For instance, we stayed in lot 377, online shows creek behind us...well there was a cabin not even 15' from us. Clearly the best sites on the campground are 233, 234, which are premium sites right along the water with some breathing room (any of those premium sites along the water are good, but not all have the same view from the sitting area like 233, 234 do)....other sites that are good (relatively speaking) would be 130 & 220... Will go back again....but will be more selective with our site...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Family of 5 stayed in this campground for three nights. We were disappointed that they had to cancel a movie night for no reason. Their wifi was so-so. Big plus- they do have a nice pool and on the river, it was really nice but very cold in May. Their price was kinda over priced for the tent with no hook up. 35 dollars per night is kinda crazy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazyvols92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walhalla, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have camped at this campground for years, this trip was most probably our last. The lady at check in was rude and condescending, the wifi is a false advertisement as was the cable TV. We paid for a deluxe river front site, and it was pretty and on the river, but that was about it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have been going to Cherokee Great smoky Mountains KOA for 35 years. It is still a great place but Owner or Management has gone down hill. Way over price and is NOT a 5 star KOA anymore! SEVERAL Showers were out of order, leaving a long line & No Hot Water. Faults adverting about having 5 pools. They only had 1 pool & 1 hot tub that was(COLD) opened that were indoors. Hot and muggy in that area! No cable but still charged deluxe campsite fee's. Golf cart rentals DOUBLE in price. $100.00 per day. There snack bar had short hours 8am-10am on sunday. The snack bar cashier lady was very RUDE, treated us like we were little kids, stomped her feet when we asked for a spoon. So Sad this was our home away from home. Looking for a new place after 35 + years.

Room Tip: THEY ARE VERY VERY SMALL. River ones are nice but really high bank infront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevee553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My 6 yr old son and I stayed for 4 days and we loved it! New KOA fan! Very safe community feel, friendly staff and many surprising amenities. Clean Kabin and a few single bathrooms. Kabin had outlets for our personal heaters and coffee pot. At night it was so pretty to hear the river as we sat in the porch swing. We will be back!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Season D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherokee
4.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
8.0 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Property: Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA
Address: 92 Koa Campground Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-6451
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a location! The Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA is bordered on one side by the serene Raven Fork River and on the other side by three tribal trout ponds. It lies just across the road from Great Smoky Mountains National Park and one mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. From almost anywhere on the KOA's grounds, take in 360-degree mountain views. The resort campground offers camping cabins, cottages and Deluxe cabins, large RV and tent sites. This KOA is ideal for the biggest group gatherings with year-round indoor and seasonal outdoor pools and hot tubs, food service,an outdoor movie-cinema, a Jumping Pillow and adventure mini golf. Campers enjoy the shuttle to area attractions and events too numerous to count. Check online for special events, theme weekends and seasonal activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherokee / Great Smokies Koa Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing