We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Thanksgiving for two nights. Our first night was a comedy of errors...except we weren't in that mindset at the time. Somehow, the bar lock engaged and we had our two dogs waiting patiently (I think they wanted to kill us) for their dinner. Albeit 3 hours late. (NOT the hotel's fault. The darned casino's fault!) The nice gentleman that was on-call had to leave his Thanksgiving evening to come help us get in.
In the meantime, some nice gentlemen helped with bolt cutters, and the hotel's permission, they got is in the room. We had two more small issues that we were going to need and we decided it was time to see if another room was available.
I went downstairs to the desk and the young lady working the desk ::embarrassed that I didn't catch names:: was SO very helpful and empathetic to our situation. No one could have handled the situation better than the staff did that evening.
As far as the rooms go...it served its purpose. We had a place to sleep and we were able to bring our dogs with us. If that's what you're looking for, then you've found the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Wendy_in_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_C9042013, Regional Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

I can't tell you how good it feels to read a response like yours praising our staff. At the end of the day, a hotel is four walls, a bed and a bath. What makes the difference is the staff. Our staff prides itself on providing a clean, comfortable and safe place for our guests. They also take great pride in taking outstanding care of you while you are visiting. We genuinely do care for our guests, whether they be two legged or four!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John_C9042013, Regional Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is very clean, nice, and the staff are friendly. In addition, they are extremely pet friendly. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, and will not be the last.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Darrell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_C9042013, Regional Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff and our hotel!! I will definitely share your comments with our team, it's GREAT for motivation. We sincerely look forward to serving you on your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank bigdawg4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John_C9042013, Regional Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was apprehensive when booking this hotel but with nothing else available I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. I even called back to verify this hotel was above average the day of my trip. The room smelled smoky and musty even though it stated non-smoking on the door. The room décor was old and drab. No nice bed linens or bedspreads. The pillows were hard as rocks. The sink in bathroom was cracked as was the tile floor. It was adequate but barely according to my standards. If your standards are minimal, then go for it. As for me, no more staying here. I am surprised Wyndham would associate their name with this.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Drive to another small town and stay there. It is worth the distance to drive.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_C9042013, Regional Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Linda, I want to sincerely apologize for the conditions you described. I assure you this is not how we typically operate our hotel. I have printed off your comments and taken them to our Rooms Director for his review. I also want you to know each of our rooms are inspected by management after being cleaned by housekeeping to avoid mistakes. Please contact me directly the next time you are in the area and I will personally make sure your stay is flawless. jcollier@columbiahm.com

John Collier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank regeniap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John_C9042013, Regional Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John_C9042013, Regional Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.1 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 28 in Cherokee
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee

Address: 674 Casino Dr, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: £57 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Inn & Suites offers 63 guest rooms with queen beds,non-smoking, pet friendly, outdoor pool open seasonally. Conveniently located, walk to many area restaurants including Arby's McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Dominos, Lee Garden Chinese, and Rancho Viejo Mexican Restaurant. Free WIFI, free local and long distance calls, free deluxe Continental breakfast. In-room coffee, hairdryer, security safe and Flat Screen TV's with cable. Friday/Saturday/event/holiday complimentary casino & Bingo hall shuttle, Clean rooms and friendly staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites
Microtel Hotel Cherokee
Microtel Cherokee
Cherokee Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing