We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly place right on the river with a great view, but needs a little work done”
Review of Drama Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drama Inn
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pet friendly place right on the river with a great view, but needs a little work done”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The location is prime, and right at the end of the Oconaluftee River park. We enjoyed trout fishing, watching the ducks, playing in the water, and tubing right at our back door. They have an onsite laundry facility. The rooms smell a bit old and the entire place could use a little upgrade. It's an ok place to crash for the night if you are going to be busy doing other things in Cherokee. Two of the lamps didn't work in my room and the fire alarm was off the wall. I asked maintenance about the fire alarm and he shrugged it off. I took it to the front desk staff to tell her it was lying on the clothes rack and not plugged in. Two days later after picking up the boys from boy scout camp, we stayed here again. They put us in the same room. No fire alarm in the room. Not sure if they have to go by any fire codes since it is actually on the reservation. Pool closes too early. Kids would like to swim at night. Weekend rates are considerably higher. Staff are friendly there, but not really attentive to getting things repaired. No charge for small dogs which is a bonus.

Room Tip: Choose the river view. This is the only reason you would want to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weeniedoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    16
    11
    23
See reviews for
25
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I just recently stayed we had a great view of the river but . . .... the sheets didnt fit on our beds they were terriably stained even our bed was stained on the side there are spiders every where the floor was filthy the maid didnt even come to our room had to go get our own towels in the pictures it showed such nice rooms in reality they were bad but loved the location

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank truthbetold9833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

ive stayed at the drama inn several times and have always loved everything about it.clean rooms. awesome staff. great view of the river.
i cant say one single bad thing about my experiences at this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattgreen058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westminster sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

this was suppose to be a clean room. the 4th of July 2013. reserved a room. walked in and the first thing I saw was trash, dirt and food crumbs on the carpet. went to the office and told the manager. hadn't even taken out things in yet... just opened the door. anyway the manager sent a guy to reclean room. He used a vaccume cleaner and left. I walked in thinking well maybe? checked the bathroom and was disgusted. the commode was dirty ( someone had #2 in it and it still had not been cleaned) I pulled the shower curtain back and low and behold. the tub had hair in it. I went back to the office, told the manager. She can back to room and saw mess and said she had fired the girls last week and the new man had been their a week. Then took us next door to a "clean" room that was in the same condition... floor looked like outside yard... She went and got the man to reclean our first room.. again.. We should have demanded our money back when we first walked in the door but didn't. I know I embarrassed my friend.. anyway, I thought.. what the heck, I'll just pull the covers down and see if the bed sheets were clean.... body hair and long hair all over between the supposedly clean sheets. back the man came. I watched him change sheets and reclean room for the third time.... I'll never stay at Drama Inn again.. I love the location but unless someone takes over, that place is for the ducks...

Room Tip: room next to the river but natiest motel I've ever been in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianabrockturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Cherokee NC is full of "classic motel" style lodging, Drama Inn is no exception. Not luxurious. Beds were firm but good, but bring your own pillow. Pretty basic room felt a little '70's ish. Now the interesting part...the Oconaluftee River is in the back yard. Several rooms have a back deck so you can get right down to the river in 10 steps. Great trout fishing. $59 per night is a fair price. Musieum across the street, shops one block walk, family restaurants 2 blocks. If you want luxury, stay at Harrah's

Room Tip: If you want river access ask for ground level with a back deck. Room 110 is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Was booked for 2 nights but stayed only 1 night because of death of a friend. The staff was helpful with our troubles with the room.They even helped move us. They also refunded 1 night because we had to leave for Tenn.the next day. Great people and will stay again.

Signed,
A pleased guest

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunshine616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My parents and i had entried a fishing tournament and stayed two nights there. Its not the first time ive stayed there we have plenty of times but may be the last. Couldnt get ahold of anyone to book room, when we did and went to check in they werent there to check you in and we had to leave and go back later. Gave us our room ,we went to it and hadnt been cleaned, had to keep asking for some clean towels because room wasnt cleaned while we were there. Love the veiw but dont know if it outways the bad.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 28 in Cherokee
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Cherokee
Econo Lodge Cherokee
#7 of 28 in Cherokee
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drama Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drama Inn

Property: Drama Inn
Address: 462 Tsali Boulevard, US 441 North, Cherokee, NC 28719
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Drama Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drama Inn is a historic motel nestled on the bank of the Oconaluftee River. There are rooms with balconies overlooking the river with rocking chairs at every room to relax and enjoy the view. If fishing is your thing you'll love our easy access to the river. We are located directly across from the ceremonial grounds in downtown Cherokee and within walking distance of the Unto These Hills drama, river tubing,restaurants, souvenir shops and many more. We are also 1 mile from Harrahs Cherokee Casino. Come experience Cherokee in a new way ! (UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF OCTOBER 23 2014) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Drama Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drama Hotel Cherokee
Drama Motel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing