We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, roaring river”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Valley RV Park & Campground
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful, roaring river”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

W/ national park campgrounds closed, we tried River Valley. Our site was right by the river, so we definitely enjoyed the roar of the river rushing by. There was very little grass, so our site seemed dirty/muddy, & there certainly wasn't the privacy that we have experienced at Deep Creek & Smokemont in the past. Bath house was adequate.

Room Tip: If you are in a pop up camper or tent, opt for a site by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I went camping her with my family and we had a great time! We stayed on the riverfront site with picnic table, fire-pit, water,and electricity. Everyone that works there is very friendly and always willing to lend a hand. The bathrooms would get a bit dirty at times but they would clean it everyday so it happens. Its very relaxing and you can leave your stuff and not worry about anything getting stolen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We camped here during the Cherokee Trout Derby. The area was clean and quiet. It was great spending time with our family and relaxing. It was completely amazing to me that you leave you things the open and not worry about them being stolen. We could leave for hours and everything would be as we left it once we returned. I would recommend this campground.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
263 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a great riverfront site with table, fire pit, electric and water ($37 per night). The river blocked the noise around us. The bathroom is centrally located, but like most campground bathrooms was a little dirty. Mold all over the shower curtain and the tile grout. This could easily be fixed with a little effort. The laundry is expensive $2 to wash and $1 to dry (dryers don't work so plan to put clothes through three cycles). Staff were friendly. Close to town. You can do a short tube float from your site. I'd stay here again. The nearby Yogi Bear KOA is jam packed with campers and I would avoid it.

Room Tip: Stay on the river if you are camping or have a pop up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmore2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candler, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We reserved our spot on the river a month ahead just because we knew how busy they are this time of year. I had never stayed at this particular campground and, I admit, I was skeptical it would be much pumnkin because it was so cheap. I was WRONG WRONG WRONG!! The employees were fantastic and very helpful. Our spot on the river was as big as promised. The park was quiet and the childeren well behaved. Bathrooms were great, clean, and well stocked. We are already planning another trip there soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cooper city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we love the place Its terrific , great location , wonderful and refreshing, one major drawback NO WI FI and if you have ATT no phone reception so we drive to town to get emails and make calls, other than that its heaven

Room Tip: no WIFI and no phone reception sometimes thats a good thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElroyCooperCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Beautiful campground, river sites are awesome. So relaxing to be able to sit next to the river, fish or play in the cool water! The owners are super nice, and the campground is very pretty! Liked it so much the day we got home, I booked a trip to go back! We stayed in June and it was cool enough to leave the windows open at night and listen to the river! So relaxing!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
3.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.0 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Valley RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley RV Park & Campground

Property: River Valley RV Park & Campground
Address: PO Box 471, Cherokee, NC 28719-0471
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing