We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and inexpensive”
Review of Great Smokies Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Smokies Inn
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed 20 August 2014

At the end of our last day on the Blue Ridge Parkway, we stopped across the street for fuel. A quick Google search (even though I could see the hotel from the gas station) for reviews verified that this hotel was within our budget and met our standards for cleanliness. Special walk-in rate was in effect, so this ended up being the cheapest hotel we stayed in the entire trip, but it was far from a 'cheap' hotel. No breakfast, but that has never been a requirement for us. The room was clean, comfortable, and had a fridge, microwave, and coffee pot.

The young lady on duty when we checked in was very friendly; the next morning, however, I could have done without the multiple calls to make sure we were checking out - one would have been sufficient. It was pouring rain, and we were on motorcycles.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Great Smokies Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

While googling things to do in Cherokee, North Carolina, I came upon this hotel and thought it looked very quaint and just the perfect 2-night stay place for my daughter and me. After reading the reviews, I was even more sure. I did enjoy the quaint cabin-like atmosphere. The room was clean and big enough for the 2 of us. The first night was perfect! Nice and quiet and the view of the Smokies from our room was beautiful. The second night (after we had been on a 2 and 1/2 horse ride through the mountains) was not so perfect. We were exhausted and ready for a good night's sleep to prepare for the 5 hour trip back to South Carolina. After noticing the people staying in the room next to ours and their friends who were staying one door down, I pretty much figured it was NOT gonna be a quiet night. They were partiers and came mainly for the drinking and casino action. While I am also a drinker, I do not gamble and I certainly to not come stumbling back to my room at 3:30 screaming at my roommate because they couldn't find their room key or it wasn't working. I immediately called the front desk and reported the activity and asked them to handle it. My request was basically ignored and the couple continued their ranting. I made a second call which was dismissed even more rudely. Finally, one of the 2 got their head straight enough to find their room key, get in and pass out. Leaving me to lay in bed until about 6a.m. which was when I finally fell back to sleep. So my rating is this .... rooms great, mountain view spectacular, hotel staff, HORRIBLE!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LauraN673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This place was great. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff was extremely helpful. We had a ground floor, no pet room. I know there wasn't an elevator, but since we were on the ground floor, it wasn't an issue for us. I loved that we could walk to breakfast at Hardee's across the street, the arcade down the block, a pizza place behind the hotel, and shops behind as well. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and the business center was perfect!

Room Tip: The bottom floor near the office was great, but didn't have any microwaves.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cmwilso3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I rec'd this hotel from Hotwire but was clean, staff was nice, felt safe. Older hotel, but clean, close to Smky Mtn park entrance. Would not spend a week there, but would do an overnight or quick weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnucfsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

reserving a room you get whatever they want you have. no elevators Ice machine doesn't
work Halftime. Pet rooms are on the ground floor. So you can't use the stairs you'll sleep in a room
A dogs been
sleeping in. The place had a smell you just know how clean it was. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildcard2832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel is a bit old but clean. Wifi worked great. On the 'backside' of the river but still close in to everything. During the off-season the shops around it close and I imagine it can be very lonely. AC was cold and room was clean. Could have used a blanket. Parking lot could use more light.
Would stay again but prefer the Rivers Edge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We got there on a monday without reservation. We had a room within 10min. Although it looks older from the outside it is well kept up. The location is good because it provides peace and quiet.The rooms were spacious, clean and taken care off. Parking is good.
The service was good. Internet access is reliable and fast. And for this price it is unbeatable.
When we come back to Cherokee, we will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatevername1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.0 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
280 reviews
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 28 in Cherokee
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Smokies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Smokies Inn

Address: 1636 Acquoni Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-9413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: £59 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Smokies Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cherokee Indian Reservation the Great Smokies Inn is less than a half mile drive to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway,also less than 3 miles from Harrah's Cherokee Casino and many other attractions. Guests can also enjoy white water rafting and tubing in the area. Guests will enjoy free wireless internet, an outdoor pool and business center. Spacious rooms with a choice of one king bed or two queen beds, in-room hairdryer, free local calls, iron and board and microwave and refrigerators in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Smokies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing