We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good-value accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Cherokee
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,643 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 757 helpful votes
“Good-value accommodation.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This traditional-style motel offers very good value if you are visiting Cherokee. The rooms are a good size and perfectly clean and comfortable. They are well appointed and come with a fridge and coffee maker. Breakfast at the hotel is of the cheap buffet variety but is OK if you are happy to make do with juice, cereal, coffee and toast in the morning, which we are.

The hotel is very convenient for downtown Cherokee, but to be honest - there is sod all in downtown Cherokee other than cheap tourist shops selling cheap tourist tat.

A mile up the road is the Harrah Cherokee Casino, and even if you don't like gambling you should note that this is the only place in town to get a beer (and you don't have to gamble - you can just sit at the bar).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank You for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose us for your next stay. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    85
    38
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
107
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Inn, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Came here 30 years ago on my honeymoon when it was called Red Skin. Just stayed 2 nights and it was just as great or better than 30 years ago! Would recommend this hotel to anyone, remodeled updated rooms. Roger Scott was really helpful and nice. We will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: No pool or hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank You for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose us for your next stay. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

me and my wife staying on Tuesday at the econolodge , the room was nice and clean, but the room above us make a lot of noise so my wife decided to call the desk clerk and complaint about it , the desk clerk response really well !!! and he move us to the other room that more quiet , although we have to move at midnight at the other room but I really appreciated how they taking care their costumer !

Room Tip: room by the office side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward_20112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank Your for your remarks. We are glad to know you were well cared for. We hope you will stay with us again. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelzer, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Newly remodeled. Very friendly staff. Great location. Will stay at this location every time I return to the Casino(usually stay at Casino Hotel). Great stay for the $$$$$$$
Will be returning frequently:)

Room Tip: Dont let the location or the price of the rooms fool you. Very affordable. CLEAN
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank You for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose us for your next stay. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This motel will not break the bank, and it is an excellent choice in Cherokee, NC. The rooms are larger than most, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Our room was next to a babbling brook--which was both peaceful and lovely. The motel is centrally located and within walking distance of all Cherokee attractions including a casino. The staff here was very accommodating. We couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: We had an end room--which was probably larger than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Thank You for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose us for your next stay. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clover, SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife had aces not so good weeks at work , so I decided to take her to the mountains for the week end.
Reserved a room at the Econo Lodge, who he'd seem a little high on the rates but better than the rest for being close to Harrahs.
We got there Friday afternoon, did our usual things, of checking out if the tourist shops were open, checking out the creek, and walked a trail.
We then went to Sylva for supper then back to the motel where she got comfortable, in her 1980's room, and went to try out my luck.
When I had returned to the room all was fine we talked, I took my nite time meds and went to sleep. About a half hour after, the most disrespectful people you ever ran across got started!
Every few minutes some one would jump on the floor stomp to the window and then stomp back, they had visitors that would park outside our door leave their motor funning while someone would run up the stairs laughing and talking loud enough to wake the dead, then after that they would stomp up and down the stairs the self to smoke outside our door then back up still every few minutes jumping on the floor to check out the window. Must not have been anybody else on that side of the motel but us and our druggie neighbors, at about 4:00 am I got up and had to call the office they got them to calm down a little but not good as the sun started to rise they were at it again.
The office couldn't apologize enough but I had to give in and leave.
They retuned my next night stay and gave back half of the first, I have no complaints about the management, but the motel is to out dated to charge what they do.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Mr W.
We and our team at the Cherokee Econo Lodge strive to make each guests stay enjoyable. The rooms were just remodeled this year 2014 New carpet,drapes,furniture,headboards, marble sinks, paint, heat and air. We are sorry that this did not meet with your standards. as for the drug traffic The Cherokee police patrol our Hotel on a regular basis and there has never been any complaints of drug activity. our staff is very aeare of such problems and is trained to observe such. As for the people walking above you Cherokee has become a 24 hour a day town with the Casino. We also gave you a free night and a half price night. I am sorry we failed to meet your standards and hope you will allow us the oppertunity to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habersham, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is an older hotel that has recently been renovated. I wouldn't have booked here if not for TripAdvisor reviews, so I'm glad to have read the feedback. I feel like we definitely got our money's worth, for sure.
CONS:
-The heater is beside the bathroom and not really in the same room with the beds, so we had to bump the thermostat up a little higher than usual. It kept blowing on the clothes we had hung up on the closet rack which meant it was turning off and on a lot, but it did the job.
-The beds were a little more firm than I'm used to for a hotel.
-No elevator.
-No in room microwave.
-The continental breakfast consists of mainly muffins, waffles, cereal and yogurt. (That really doesn't bother me, but my husband prefers hot breakfasts.)

PROS:
-The room was one of the cleanest I've seen in a long time.
-The staff was super friendly.
-The location is perfect.
-Even though it is right off the main road, it was surprisingly quiet!
There's not a lot to do in Cherokee in the winter, except for the Casino, if that's your thing. Still, the hotel is 30 minutes from Cataloochee if you like skiing or snow tubing. This hotel may be small, but it is definitely worth the money!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Veesknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.7 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cherokee

Property: Econo Lodge Cherokee
Address: 20 River Rd, US Hwy 19, Cherokee, NC 28719-9771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#5 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Cherokee 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge nestled in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains is a conveniently located hotel in the downtown area on the Cherokee Indian Reservation adjacent to the Oconaluftee River and is minutes from most of the areas popular attractions like Harrahs Casino, Paula Deen's resturant, The Cherokee Indian Museum, Oconaluftee Indian Village, Unto These Hills a powerful outdoor drama that brings to life the tragic history of the Cherokee people, Oconaluftee Island Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Other points of interest include: Santa's Land. Cherokee Bear Zoo. Cherokee Fun Park Tubing on the River. Fontana Dam, Deals Gap (Tail of the Dragon), Cataloochee Ski Area, Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, Great Smoky Mountain Railway. Come stay with us and enjoy being in walking distance to restaurants and many shops with a theater complex just across the street from the Econo Lodge. Activities include tubing, world class trout fishing, bonfires and picnicking on the river. The Econo Lodge is also just 30 minutes away from Western Carolina University. Guests of this Cherokee, NC hotel are invited to enjoy many great amenities like free fresh coffee, free wifi, free local calls and a free deluxe continental breakfast. Business travelers will appreciate the access to copy/fax services and free wifi. Traveling families will enjoy our larger family suites. All of our spacious guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, cable television with free Showtime and refrigerators. Handicapped accessible, smoking and non smoking rooms are available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure the Econo Lodge hotel offers a convenient location, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Cherokee area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing