We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was filling and good, price was reasonable”

Kobe Express of Cherokee
Ranked #34 of 47 Restaurants in Cherokee
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Food was filling and good, price was reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

There were few choices in Cherokee in March for dinner outside of the casino. Kobe looked like the best choice. Others agreed because both nights I ate there, the restaurant was nearly full of customers. The portions are good and the price is good. The teriyaki steak and broccoli was good enough for me to order both times. I avoided the ginger salad dressing the second visit--it was heavy and sweet. The wait staff was prompt and our orders were filled exactly as we hoped. This is not a great Japanese restaurant. It is, however, a great choice for dinner in Cherokee. I would even recommend getting out of the over-priced casino restaurants and get a dinner at Kobe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    7
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ate there back to back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

First experience: I come in somebody else yells, " sit where you want!" I'm glad I didn't leave though because it was awesome, awesome, awesome food, well the sushi chef was amazing, the second day I went to the drive thru though, LOL -jns

Helpful?
Thank msjordan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinsville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, not good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I don't think they were happy to see us. The server wasn't overly friendly and we didn't see her often. We ordered an appetizer, it was brought to us, then a few minutes after we finished it, it was brought to us again. We had to send it back. The food was delicious, but one of the meals was supposed to come with soup or salad and we were not asked about it or brought it. I just don't enjoy not having good service, regardless of the food. My one and only complaint about the food was that the shrimp and steak we ordered could have had more there. It was mostly vegetables with a bit of steak and shrimp thrown in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Food came out in a timely fashion and it was delicious!!! The portion for the price was very attractive and the location gorgeous!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveling_likecray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love Kobe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The food and service is great. I've been to Kobe's several times and always had a good experience. The sushi is really good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doodle35148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kobe Express of Cherokee also viewed

Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Kobe Express of Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing