We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel with Good Access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was a good hotel for a trip with my grandson. It's right across the street from Harrah's Cherokee Casino but not the reason for our selection. It was more availability. the room was clean, well appointed, and quiet. I did find the staff a bit detached...the girl on arrival seemed to be more interested in the computer screen than our check-in. I also don't think a hotle should allow staff to smoke at the entrance to the hotel...just not good hospitality greeting.

The location is great. Easy access to all parts of Cherokee and at the intersection of major highways allowing access to attractions in the area. I found breakfast surprisingly good.

Good rate. Good location. Adequate service. We'll stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear popsontheroad,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that our location, accommodations and the breakfast served were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the service you received. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Recently, my family and I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Cherokee because one can usually count on a level of standards in regards to cleanliness, hospitality and continental breakfast. My husband and I had our two boys, ages two and four, in one room and my in-laws stayed in another. When checking in, we were checked in to the wrong room's and charged for the incorrect amounts. We visited the hotel desk many times questioning this and we never received a corrected response. We spoke with the attendant while she was eating her pizza at the front desk and even the manage on his smoke break out in front of the hotel and nothing was ever resolved. Also, there were dirty towels in our bathroom when we entered and candy wrappers on the floor. Lastly, when entering the breakfast room, I noticed the breakfast attendant in the kitchenette picking his nose with his gloves on...HONEST! The walls in the facility were paper thin and we could not sleep throughout the night. The outside of the building was dirty and missing some paint and plaster. Usually, I don't not post bad reviews but this one took the cake! Great location....terrible facility.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear ktedder,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cherokee Casino, NC. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for one night on our way to Gatlinburg. This Holiday Inn Express is in an excellent location and the staff is very helpful. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The breakfast was very good as well. We would stay here again the next time we travel through Cherokee, it's very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lslsbl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Good location and value. Short walk to casino and close to all attractions. Clean rooms and free breakfast. Free wi-fi and helpful staff. I wanted to get a cabin but this was a better value hotel for a three night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lapyr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We wanted to stay within walking distance of the casino, but we did make reservations. We came across the Holiday Inn Express on our way to the casino, which was right across the street. I didn't think we would be able to get a room for our stay, oddly enough the staff was very understanding of our needs and within an hour we were given a room for our stay. The room was clean and very well maintained. Thanks to the staff for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Suites have microwaves and refrigeration for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiny2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I love staying at Holiday Inn Express. My husband and make it our business to find one wherever we travel. However this time we were both very disappointed. The wall paper was peeling and dirty. The shower curtains were very dirty. It was obvious that they needed to be cleaned or exchanged. The carpet was dirty. There was no microwave or refrigerator in our room. Front desk staff was not friendly or welcoming. If this had been our first stay at a HIE we would never go to another one. We know that this particular hotel is not a representation of the quality of service and cleanliness that we have grown accustomed to during our past stays at HIE. To sum it up we are VERY disappointed. Will not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1firstlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear 1firstlady,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are very sorry for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino on July 1st. Hotel was clean, room was very nice, nothing special. NO refrigerator. No problems to report. The free berakfast was awesome! Hot eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy and more and more. The best part is the location. It is right across the street from the casino. Easy walking distance, however, it was raining so we drove to the casino. Made reservations on line. Got the corner room for a couple bucks more. It is located at the back corner of the hotel. A little larger room and very quiet. Probably would not get the corner room next time. But would stay there again. Friendly people at check-in and check-in was easy.

Room Tip: Corner room was a little larger and located in the back corner of the hotel. Room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
0.2 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Address: 376 Paint Town Rd, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719-9120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: £68 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing