We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Breakfast”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Breakfast is above average. Hotel is nice and across the street (diagonally) from the Casino. No problems noted. Would stay again...actually this is my second stay here. I would recommend this hotel since it's so close (could walk) to the casino.

Room Tip: Had a ground floor room which was nice not to have to travel upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jump2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    101
    80
    31
    13
See reviews for
65
148
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I recently planned a trip to the Harrah's Casino in Cherokee. They called me and moved us to the Holiday Inn Express because the Casino was overbooked. That is like going from the Ritz to well, the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel was fair. The sanatation rating is high even though I did see a dead bug in the front extrance way. When we turned on the air conditioning the room smelled like a dead dog. There was no sense complaining since there were no rooms available anywhere and our rooms were free away. We did tell them when we checked out and they offered to discount the room. The free breakfast was good and the hotel is close to the casino, but this is a big letdown compared to staying at Harrah's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear charles c,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is great to know your concerns were addressed by our staff during your stay and that you appreciated the breakfast and our location. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the condition of our hotel. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you are going to Cherokee, NC or in the area I would recommend the Motel. They serve the best breakfast in town and it is included in the price of your room. This motel is a good value and is close to the casino. Room are clean, bed very comfortable, and bathroom is large.

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place was okay for a last minute stay in Cherokee as it is right across the street from the casino (there is a cross-walk but it is a busy street). The first night we had a room in which the air conditioner did not work right (second floor next to vending machine room) so they moved us across the hall and it was very cold air so hopefully they will really fix the one room. It is an older property and was just okay.

We did use the pool and it was pretty clean though the pool is in need of some repairs.

The hotel is close to several eating places and some shopping. See my other reviews in Cherokee.

On a more positive note, the front desk was helpful and though I thought is was simply a continental breakfast, they actually served scrambled eggs and bacon one morning and an "omelets" and sausage the next. Both mornings they served some cinnamon rolls which I tried one morning and was surprised how good it actually was. My husband had them both mornings.

If passing through, this is an acceptable short-term stay location.

Room Tip: There are only three floors and I believe the 3rd is smoking so if you do not smoke, would not recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loribledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear loribledsoe,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our property. It is nice to know that you found our reception staff to be helpful and the breakfast served met your liking. However, I regret any inconvenience you may have had with the rooms you were allocated and if the pool facility did not completely meet your expectations. Your comments will be shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We found this hotel difficult to find as Cherokee seems to be in three sections and we thought we had come out of town. Check -in seemed efficient but a bit casual and unfriendly. The room was big with everything you needed, but a bit tired,- in need of updating and the lighting was poor as there were no ceiling lights. The pool looked lovely, although we never saw anyone in it. The best thing about Holiday Inn Express is the breakfast which is included and very good,- a wide variety of food including cooked and you could take food with you if you wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilambutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Sheilambutcher,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are sorry that the level of staff service and room accommodations did not meet your expectations. I would like to sincerely apologize and assure you that this is not the type of service we are accustomed to providing. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate people and departments.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you for another visit soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Had a great long weekend with my grans just before back to school.

Our rooms looked out over the pool which the grans loved!! We had clean, comfortable beds. Front desk was helpful with tips for finding a tubing location and the fleamarket.

The breakfast was adequate but advise you not to lag behind because it is removed PROMPTLY at 9:30 (or 10 on weekends) with no last call. The way the items are arranged it is necessary to stand in line when things are crowded. That and fact that we were given too few towels for four people is the only thing that detracted from our stay.

This being said we were more than happy with our get-away!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Management denied that it was a bed bug. Took it to the front desk on a tissue. They did not charge us for the night and moved us to another room giving us the opportunity to check the new room for problems before moving into it. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank virgwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
0.1 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#6 of 28 in Cherokee
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Address: 376 Paint Town Rd, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719-9120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing