We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Holiday Campground Discriminates Against Handicapped”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Happy Holiday Campground
Cherokee, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Holiday Campground Discriminates Against Handicapped”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Be aware that if you are handicapped that you will be discriminated against in this campground. The management is extremely rude and very unprofessional. After many years of coming to the yearly Bluegrass Festival held each June and having the same camping site I am now being denied this site. The management refuses to take my deposit for next year but are taking everyone else's deposit to hold their current sites.

I was told by the manager that all the end sites along the main road in (where mostly handicapped park) are going to be used by employees (security) of the park. My current and former site is along this main road. I chose this site because of disabilities and not being able to get wheelchair around staging area and in grassy areas. I personally feel that the security people, who by the way, ride around all day and night on golf carts should be spread throughout the campground. Not all located in the same area.

So be aware handicapped people, your needs are not important to these money hungry people. I intend to report them to the Better Business Bureau, to the Federal Disabilities, campground authority for North Carolina, and any other organization that I can find.

BJ Ballard

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    21
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
48
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

My son is hiking the AT and we followed him a piece from Springer though until past the Smokies. We had our 38 foot RV pulling a Jeep. We saw several campgrounds along the way and drove around a LOT a saw probably every camp ground around. We stayed here over a week and it was wonderful. GREAT people there and very helpful. The campgound is like an island with a creek that splits and goes on either edge of the campground. There is a lake in the middle, but I was more impressed with the very full, roaring creek. We are beginning RV'ers and they had TONS of pull through sites. It wasn't crowded since we were there in April. A lot of "touristy" stuff in Cherokee did not open until 5/1, but the Native American Museum was. Most of the shops we thought were pretty "cheesy". But the Native American shop across the street from the museum was absolutely a must see. The campground gives you a list of interesting things to see close by. Several absolutely beautiful waterfalls!!! The Smokies are real close by but 441 was closed when we were there due to a landslide, but I understand it is open now, so the campground is a great place. Lots of mountains to get through on the way from Virginia, but once you are close to Cherokee the roads were interstate almost all the way to the campground. The campground had all that you would want....50 amp, full hookups. They had nice shower room and a fairly good pool (which was not open when we were there, but they are building a slide which looked like it was almost ready). Nice half shaded/half sunny sites with a good size space...picnic table provided along with campfire pit...you could only burn wood from the state.....which we were able to get from neighbors who had left and left behind wood. I LOVED the creek....it was full and beautiful and listening to it at night lulled you to sleep. They had plenty of back in spaces right on the creek....but we didn't feel experienced enough to back that big honking thing up....we'll get there one day.. Nice, big campground. It may get crowded in the busy season, but it sure was not crowded when we where there. Highly recommended!!! Little pricey 44.00, but if you are a Sam's Club member you'll get the 7th day free or 10%,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Hill, FL, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Not so many years ago, I and my son spent a SUMMER at "Happy Holidays Campgroound", as Workcampers. and I was, and is the only campground I have found, and I HAVE LOOKED, of its type and kind anywhere in the US.. Having a Motorhome I went looking, and after over 75,000 miles... HAPPY HOLIDAYS, wins HANDS DOWN... BRAVO... between that and being on the Cherokee reservation, so many wonderful places to explore and check out.... YOU OWE IT YO YOURSELF TO VISIT and stay a while...you'll NOT regret it... we won't even talk about the music festival every summer.. that alone...is another treat worth NOT missing... go enjoy camping by the creek.. and if you fish...well... bring your gear....and ENJOY.!!!!

Room Tip: try to get near the creek...very peaceful to sleep.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We went camping for 2 nights at this campground. We camped beside the creek in a travel trailer. The staff was very helpful and nice. The comfort station/ restrooms were extremely clean. I was concerned when we pulled up to the campsite because the creek runs along a busy road. You could not hear the cars because the stream was so loud. We have 3 kids. They enjoyed the pool. There were lots of kids and families who rode bikes even though the rules said no bikes. We drove into Cherokee during the morning and enjoyed the museum and lunch in town. It was an easy drive. After lunch, we drove into the Smokey Mountains and went to Clingmans Dome and the Mountain Farm Museum. It was a great camping experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in #6 which ran along the creek. There were RV sites at the back of the campground that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited last weekend July 5-8 2012. When we booked our cabin WOLF we were excited about our visit. Upon arrival we were checked in and given the key for our cabin along with an anniversary card. The young lady who had made our reservation remembered it was for our anniversary. Very thoughtful customer service. After one night we realized that the campers on the Otter cabin were checking out. We inquired at the front desk and were allowed to move over to the otter. It had a bathroom which the wolf doesn't but we didn't mind the short walk to the bathhouse. But since there was an opening, why not take advantage. We had a wonderful experience AND we will be back. Not sure if we even want to bring our RV since the cabins are wonderful. Very friendly helpful staff. Loved it and plan to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukegal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed for four days on the creek, expecting a great vacation, that was ruined by not having airconditioning. The temps were in the 90's. our ac would run about 20 min. and trip the braker . We called the office they sent some one to check on it . They did not have a amp metter to check amps on the 30 amp outlet . they told us it was our ac. I went an bought a amp metter and called them back to check the amps the guy didnot know how to operate the metter after telling him how it read only 15 amps. again they blamed it on my ac. after spending $60 dollaes 0n the amp metter. So I found an ac service person to come and check it all he wanted to do was replace ac under warranty and wanted us to stay for two more days waiting for shipment of ac we could not stay any more days. so we packed up an left after spending 5 days in the heat with no ac. After ariving home we turned on the ac and it ran all day without tripping the breaker so our broken ac was just fine . The hole problem was they did'nt have enough amperage to operate our ac which is what i was telling them all along . We will never go back there again. And will never recomend this place to anyone .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We were escorted by a staff member named Tim from the time we got on the property till we got backed into our site. He made us feel at home and was very nice to my family and friends.The staff is very friendly and they give wristbands to the kids with the campsite number so if someone gets lost or hurt a parent can be located quickly. Conviently located to town and attractions but we didn't leave the campground. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popupcamperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
3.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Holiday Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Holiday Campground

Property: Happy Holiday Campground
Address: 1553 Wolfetown Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-8749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
375 sites on 40 acres located right in the heart of the Smokey Mountains. Big rig friendly we offer large pull through sites as well as creekside sites, tent sites and cabin rentals. Live music on our campground stage every weekend during the summer season. See you camping..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Happy Holiday Campground Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing