We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump station”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Happy Holiday Campground
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our camp space had no water and electricity; no sewer connection or cable which was OK because our rate was less expensive; however, it was not easy to dump when we left Happy Holiday this
Morning. There are two dump stations. To use one of them requires blocking the road. The other dump was impossible to use because a Happy Holiday truck was blocking the sewer connection.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank WMJCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We camped here over Labor Day weekend in 2012 and 2013. We enjoyed our stay both times! The campground was very busy, with lots of other families and pets. This year, they were also hosting a fundraiser for the Shriners, which provided music, food, raffles, etc. for the entire weekend. They do have a pool, but our kids didn't use it, rather we stayed on the backside on the creek and enjoyed some water time there! Kids also enjoyed fishing and played in the gameroom. The cable did work, but was a bit grainy due to the type of cable line we use (although i wasn't there to watch tv so it really didn't matter). We did have an issue with power tripping a couple times, but it finally settled down and was fine. The campground is very close to Harrah's casino and Downtown Cherokee. After visiting some of the other campgrounds in the area, I would say this is one of the best options there! Most lots are flat and its an easy in/out (except the sites on the back side).

Room Tip: Best lots are those up front on the creek by the entrance but they are smaller and seem to book up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This campsite is very crowded and very active. They did give us the option of 3 spots when I said I didn't think the original one they gave us would work with our dogs (by the entrance and lots of traffic/cars, campers and walkers). We just returned home today. Unfortunately, Ga and SC were playing football on Saturday and there were lots of fans for both teams. It got really loud with many groups partying and watching the game. With it being so crowded, there was really no designated place to walk your dog. We always clean up after our dogs but did not feel right letting them go in front of anyone's campsite. There was also a blue grass gospel festival which was nice, not our thing but it was set up nice with local venders, organized and campers attending were great! We reserved a premium spot next to the creek. We really thought it would be "premium like". The info that they give you when you check in says that their cable system is an RS6 (I think) system and using a different cable would give a fuzzy picture. This would be good to put on the website or on your reservation confirmation. I went all the way to Radio Shack and bought an RS6 cable and the picture did not improve. When I asked if I was doing something wrong, I was told the closer you are to the office, the better the picture. We were not close to the office. Paid for cable service but it was very poor quality. Internet worked well. We had two vehicles. We had to park one in part of the area designated for the cabin next to us. I'm glad the folks in the cabin were nice and only had one vehicle. The hitch on our truck was about touching our picnic table and worse the next site's sewage connection was about 7 feet from our fire ring and 5 feet from our picnic table. Like I said, small campsites. If you like lots of people and tight quarters, this is your place. The bath house/ restrooms were clean. Be sure to check who's playing before you go (football). If it's GA & SC you may want to pick a different week unless you are a tailgater! We won't go back. Just not our kind of place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCCamper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I like this campground very much with just a couple of suggestions. We stayed out by the frisbee golf course right on the stream. This is away from most of the other sites with bad wifi and no cable. I wouldn't have had it any other way. Very peaceful. Very well maintained park with good live music some nights.
The staff was super from checkin to check out. Only three miles to casino and they have a shuttle bus.
Only to suggestions. When you sell firewood please don't sell waterlogged wood. They did offer to change it out but the new wood was just as soaked and green. Suggest you get your wood else where. We did not have sewer hook up, which was fine. At dump station please put a hose for wash out. It makes it much easier for your guests.
I will definitely return and would encourage others to go.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Happy Holiday Campground for four nights at the end of June. From the moment we set foot on the property all staff members were polite and extremely helpful. Our site was excellent and the views were exceptional. There were activities for the kids to do daily, and the pool/splash pad was clean and well kept. The live music on Saturday night was an added bonus too. For a family with two kids under 10 and a 19 year old it was a great spot. Fabulous stay, we are already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheGillelandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Not sure how I feel, I do know if it weren't for Tim my husband may have lost his mind, this place is ok, its prices are what they are, you are paying for what you get. If you want to be entertained and have lots of things to do , want to wash or dry you clothes, this place is deserted after dark and know one comes around to make sure your not in need of anything or if you are even alive. we confronted a bear in the middle of the night and there was knowone to call to help us except 911 if we would have been hurt. They do keep a good clean bathroom, The bunk houses are neat , but uncomfortable for a husband and wife to actually sleep and woke feeling like and been beat to death , shoulder and back hurt for a week. Their are other campgrounds with much better amenities and activities for families to enjoy , and they are available 24/7 in case of emergencies. I may go back again, but will be sure to check all the others first and base my decision on the prices. It is close to Cherokee , but almost all the others are too, koa is the best and has nice pools and a place to get really cheap food and great host all over the place, if you need it you will get it there, they have all kinds of great activities for cheap. like tie die shirts you make there for 5 buck, funny skits done by the kids that work there and everything. I honestly think they need to get rid of most of the women that work there as they are somewhat rude and made some crappy comment about Yogi when we walked in. Tim took great care of us though and if it weren't for him I really don't know what we would have done. oh and either some ones dog of a coyote got on our picnic table and made a horrible mess.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We arrived at noon it was raining, but that was not the problem we were camping on the lake front #828 when around 3:30 a friend that came to the campground today also and was camping across from us on the creek and the creek started running over its bank he came to us to let us know he was leaving and when we looked outside the lake was already up to the back of our camper so we left also went to the office and ask if we could get our money or either a rain check for another date and we were told no that this was all part of the camping experience, so we lost 3 nights we had paid for, $155.00 how thats for a July 4th vacation. we will be giving you bad advertisement---- Huffmans

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
3.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#7 of 28 in Cherokee
230 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
287 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Holiday Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Holiday Campground

Address: 1553 Wolfetown Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-8749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cherokee
Price Range: £15 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
375 sites on 40 acres located right in the heart of the Smokey Mountains. Big rig friendly we offer large pull through sites as well as creekside sites, tent sites and cabin rentals. Live music on our campground stage every weekend during the summer season. See you camping..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Happy Holiday Campground Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing