We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

To be clear, I am talking about the Comfort Inn On The River here in Cherokee. I think there is another Comfort Inn property in the area. I would also add that we generally stay at Hampton Inns. But when booking in Cherokee I thought that having a balcony on the river would be great.

We loved our balcony room and the sound of the river at night was peaceful. Yes, this property is not brand new, but it is well maintained and our room was sparkling clean. Staff is friendly and cheerful, breakfast was much more than the advertised "continental" with hot egg patties (standard motel fare) and sausage patties available as well as fruit, yogurt, etc. and Really Good Coffee.

We traveled with friends, stayed here for two days and wished we could be in the area longer and have at least one more night at this motel.

Tip- pay the small up charge and book a balcony room. We were in 146 and really liked it.

Room Tip: Pay the slight up charge and book a balcony room. We loved room 146
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    102
    54
    20
    19
See reviews for
70
169
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

For a frequent traveler who is accustomed to safe, clean Marriott and Hilton properties, I'll be sure to book sooner in the area as to not have to settle for this Comfort Inn again. It had a nice view, was mostly clean and in working order. But carpet was gross and fixtures were all very outdated. For the price and a last minute booking, it was sufficient.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SLH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

No micro or fridge. Carpet badly stained. Spiders on balcony. Being a diamond choice member, was not recognized and received no upgrades. Very few tv channels. Mattress outdated. If not using points, definetly would choose other place to stay. Motel reminds me of one from the 60's. If planning a trip here , consider alternate plans.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struthers, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our family spent two nights in Cherokee in late July while vacationing in the Smoky Mountains.. The hotel was very clean and our room had a small, separate sitting area off to the side which led to a balcony overlooking the river. The ac was also in the sitting area, which made its noise less invasive. The staff was prompt and the breakfast was very good. The only disappointment was no fridge or microwave, but we made do. If we ever return to Cherokee, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed there for 4th of July 2014. We traveled with a group and it was a perfect meeting location. The rooms were old but clean & the breakfast was really good!! Our room overlooked a running stream.... bonus. All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyezzzofblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutledge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We reviewed hotels on Tripadvisor before making a reservation in Cherokee and chose this one. We liked hearing and seeing the river flowing by our balcony; the river was not directly underneath the balcony, but we stayed on the far right end on the second floor and had a great view. There was only one chair on the balcony though. We were afraid we might smell smoke because we read that one family smelled smoke here, but we did not since we were on the far right side. Inside the room was a little sitting area which was nice for relaxing and checking email or reading.

Two of the most important things I look for in a hotel are cleanliness and comfort, and the Comfort Inn did not disappoint. Everything appeared to be clean, and the carpet and bathroom tile were clean enough that our white socks remained white as we walked around the room. There were soft and firm pillows and the bed was very comfortable (mattress was kind of firm but not hard and definitely not lumpy).

The continental breakfast included eggs, sausage, waffles (plain and blueberry), yogurt, fruit, bagels, and pastries. The breakfast attendant was friendly with a nice smile which made us feel welcome, and she continued to clean and refill everything. My husband talked with a lady at the front desk who was very helpful when he inquired about nearby trails. She suggested Mingo Falls, and we were grateful. The trail was a very short hike straight up and definitely worth seeing.

We had a military discount, and our room was less than $85 with tax. For a clean, comfortable room with a view, you can hardly beat that price near the Smokies in the middle of summer. I would have given the hotel 5 stars if it had a microwave and refrigerator in the room, if another ice machine had been available (husband only found one which did not provide much ice), and if the tv had not been a little fuzzy. If you are visiting the Oconaluftee Village or Unto These Hills (we recommend both), you will like that this hotel is less than five miles of these sites.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Second stay and a good value for the cost. Rooms pretty average but beds very comfortable, TV new. My only complaint was the AC was loud and difficult to regulate and while the bathroom was small it served its purpose. Great view of the river, nice staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River
Address: 44 Tsalagi Rd, US 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719-9104 (Formerly Comfort Inn Cherokee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Cherokee Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing