We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DESPERATELY in need of renovation!”
Review of Cool Waters Motel

Cool Waters Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cool Waters Motel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed 13 May 2010

This place may have been nice 30 years ago but it is EXTREMELY run down. Towels literally denigrated when we used them. TV had no remote; there was no WIFI or ANY internet at all. Cheap but not worth it. If they fixed the rooms it might be nice but until then- STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sari13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

Always enjoyed the people, motel, and the stream just back of the motel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

The room smelled so good when we went in,which was a wonderful welcome. The room was large and very clean. I did miss having a table and chairs to sit at. The office staff were very friendly and took care of fixing out airconditioner immediately when it froze up,and it worked very well after that. The cleaning staff kept fresh towels in our room everyday along with cleaning and taking out trash. Shower time was great with plenty of hot water and very good water pressure. The pool was a life saver. It gave the kids something to do and they loved it!! A happy customer

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We were very tired and just looking for a place to sleep. $55.00 was way too high but I took the room anyway. Sour puss clerk. Tiny little TV, tiny little bathroom but clean. Old sagging beds. No table in the room. No fridge or microwave. It does have a nice backyard with a creek and a pond for someone who would be there during the daytime.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob2322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

near the casinos and bingoand the motel was ciean aiso had smoking rooms smoke i smoke

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We stay at Cool Waters Motel twice a year, every year. It is a small cozy one story establishment with a pool outside, a lake full of fish, a play ground, and a beautiful creek big enough for children to play in. We stay here because it is kid friendly and my children just love it. There is not much to choose from in Cherokee and no hotel or resort can match the play ground, pool, and creek with several picnics tables. However the rooms are small and the door makes a horrible loud sound every time you open and close it and if the guest beside you are at the casino late...you will know when they return. I do not like the fact that there is no microwave or ice box in your room. The porch light outside also shines in and you have to hang your blanket over the window if you are sensitive to its bright effect when you sleep. Most of the room's have a small porch at your back door overlooking the creek and swing set area and it is relaxing to sit back and watch your children play from your back porch. You do have to be careful as the staff are the owners and have been known to quote you a price over the phone and jack it up once you arrive. The front clerks are not very friendly and do not seem to care if you stay or leave. They could be polite and smile and perhaps more guests would return. We laugh every time we check in or out at their nonchalant attitude. The place has its ups and down, just thought I would be honest and list them all. I recommend this establishment to families with children. Just do not go in thinking this be a high end hotel but more like sort of a rustic 70’s style motel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaSunSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2007

We just stopped in on a Sunday Night. I have 2 small children, so the playground and pool was great, plus all we had to do to eat is walk across the road to Granny's Restaurant and have a wonderful meal. This motel was not crowded, and our room was very clean. I thought $50 for a room with 2 beds was a good deal. It was a pretty peaceful stay. The only thing that would have made it perfect is if they had a small fridge in the room. But there is no fridge or microwave.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daltongeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherokee
4.8 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#5 of 28 in Cherokee
237 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
287 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
132 reviews
8.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
4.6 mi away
El Camino Motel
El Camino Motel
#24 of 28 in Cherokee
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cool Waters Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cool Waters Motel

Address: US Highway 19 N, Cherokee, NC 28719
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Cool Waters Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing