We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”
Review of Newfound Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newfound Lodge
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Have stayed at Newfound Lodge several times, The rooms are always clean, if a bit outdated. The new ower seems to be making improvements in landscaping, etc. Love sitting on the balcony and wtching the river flow and seeing ducks, otters, etc. will definitely e back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Newfound Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

It is the first to
E we stayed here and the rooms were filthy and we found dirty ubderwear in one of our bathrooms! Will not EVER be returning! We told the manger about the dirty rooms and they only gave us $20 back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaseykitty101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Room outdated. Linens old and very very worn. Shower curtain was stained with mildew, not just a couple stains but the whole bottome of the curtain. Wallpaper peeling off in several places. Room smelled like a wet dirty dog. Something bit my legs in several places during the night. Definately not worth $78/night. I definately would not stay here again..

Room Tip: For the price you can get a much better room across the street
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Love staying at the Newfound Lodge, always stay there when I go to Cherokee, this time was great, just as before when I stayed. My cousin and I stayed Friday night and Saturday night. It was great, sitting on the balcony watching the river. And the beautiful groundhog came out and looked at us, sit up on his back legs. Heard his name is George!! Loved George! Look forward to going back, hopefully it will be in October. Staff was wonderful and very polite. I think Sheila was the one that talked with us, it was so very nice!! Thank you so much Sheila for everything you done for Patsy (my cousin) and myself - Karen Pearson. Also ate at the Newfound Lodge Restaurant, it was fantastic also, we ate breakfast there this morning!! Room was very clean, beds were comfortable, view was amazing!!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed on the second floor with a king size bed twice, balcony overlooking river, beautiful...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

An inexpensive place to stay for a night in Cherokee, N.C. It's on a main thoroughfare in the Cherokee Indian Reservation, one lined with Indian t-shirt and gift shops. It doesn't have much curb appeal and it isn't fancy but the rooms are nice sized with a small refrigerator. Most importantly, each room has a balcony with rocking chairs overlooking the river. One could sit, rock and enjoy the flowing river for hours. There are ducks who like to be fed and a beaver or muskrat, not sure what it was, but it liked French Bread. It isn't fancy but it was just fine except no wifi. The lobby smells of smoke. One is offered the Comfort Inn lobby across the street if wifi is needed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights when the trout derby was going on. we arrived at 11 that moring an room was ready its a large room an very clean to be an older motel. staff was realy nice.not bad for the price we do plan on staying at this motel next time we come to cherokee.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

It was $75 on a thursday night. Was really looking for cheaper from the reviews. It was clean and the staff very nice! The private balcony overlooking the river is nice. Would most likely stay again. Close to Harrahs too.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crockettjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.6 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 28 in Cherokee
281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
0.5 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newfound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newfound Lodge

Address: 1192 Tsali Blvd, Highway 441 N., Cherokee, NC 28719-7200
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: £31 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Newfound Hotel Cherokee
Newfound Motel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing