We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel”
Review of Newfound Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newfound Lodge
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Very close to the casino. Road construction was being done but was tolerable. Nice rooms and friendly atmosphere. The breakfast wasn't the best, all they had to offer was honey buns. So expect to eat out or get a suite with a kitchenette to cook your own. But over all a food place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southern_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I drove to Cherokee after the Martinsville race. It was our anniversary. We enjoyed our stay is an older motel. If you are expecting the Ritz or a chain hotel, you will be disappointed. But our room was clean and we loved the balcony by the river with the rocking chairs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shannon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Older hotel but room was very clean and the service was very nice and friendly. The location was very good. Will stay here again. Its not an upscale ritzy place but clean and good price for the location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I usually don't stay in Mom & Pop hotels as I fear they are not clean, but this one was a pleasant surprise. It is directly opposite the much more expensive Comfort Suite Inn. My non-smoking room had no trace of cigarette smoke. I liked the thick pile (clean) carpet on the floor. The room was clean and tidy and spacious. There was a balcony with a couple of chairs at the back of the room, overlooking the river. This hotel has no breakfast. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We usually stay here once a year, usually on a Saturday night on the way to Gatlinburg, TN. to hike the Smokies for a few days. There is a little Catholic church up on the hill for Sunday services. The rooms are large, the beds and pillows are great, and the peaceful river below has a calming influence on both of us that calls us back year after year. Depending on the season, the price is pretty reasonable as well. Leaf turning season makes prices rise higher than we like. Rooms are clean, the shower is good. It's probably the best value in Cherokee. There is no pool, which makes that a deal breaker during summer months

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived in Cherokee one night before we were to check in for our cabin in Bryson City and just wanted a room that was clean. Newfound Lodge was not bad at all. It was $68.00 for our family of 3. Room was clean, wall paper was ripped in a couple places but wasn't a big deal to us. My husband and son loved the boardwalk that runs along the river behind the lodge. Balcony overlooking the river was great. Place could use some TLC but was clean, people were helpful. The beds were kind of hard but we're just used to softer mattresses. Given the price, I was really pleasantly surprised. If you're looking for a spot in Cherokee that is low cost that gives you access to the river for fishing this is a GREAT spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

we have stayed here several times and love it. pet friendly and motorcycle friendly. rooms are older but very comfortable, the rocking chairs on balcony is very nice, sit by river and relax. staff always trys to make you comfortable.the friends we have had with us now love it too. we are going to the blue ridge to ride this oct. and stay here....walking distance to everything

Room Tip: rooms on north end are closest to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#5 of 28 in Cherokee
238 reviews
0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 28 in Cherokee
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newfound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newfound Lodge

Address: 1192 Tsali Blvd, Highway 441 N., Cherokee, NC 28719-7200
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: £31 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Newfound Hotel Cherokee
Newfound Motel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing