We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newfound Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newfound Lodge
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Milton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The people there are very nice and I love the river sounds and the ducks .We stayed there overnight in May of this year and 2 years ago. There was an beaver by the river this time, that was awesome .We plan to go back again next year !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walkbyfaith2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    52
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
44
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leslie, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is my second time staying here and I loved it both times. The rooms are clean, odor free and the sheets smelt wonderful. And the best part of all is the private covered balconies with rocking chairs overlooking the river. There are also large windows looking out on the river. There are no windows on the street side helping cut down on road noise. There are several excellent restaurants and gift shops within walking distance. The southern most point of the Blue Ridge Parkway is only a mile away.

This is an older motel but it has been well maintained. The room also had a fridge, coffee maker and hair drier. If you're like me and hate the noise of Pigeon Forge and Gaitlinburg and want a smaller town feel go to Cherokee.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs get a second story room for even better views and no one walking by you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Pros: Bobbie at the front was very nice. Loved the top floor overlooking the river and rocking chairs on balcony. Coffee in the room. Walking distance to many stores and restaurants. Cons: Thought the rate was a little high for the time of year. No signal on cell phone. Water in shower never got hot and beds were very uncomfortable. We would probably stay here again because of the river balcony but would bring something to put on the bed to get some sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthCarolina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesnee, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Very close to the casino. Road construction was being done but was tolerable. Nice rooms and friendly atmosphere. The breakfast wasn't the best, all they had to offer was honey buns. So expect to eat out or get a suite with a kitchenette to cook your own. But over all a food place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southern_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I drove to Cherokee after the Martinsville race. It was our anniversary. We enjoyed our stay is an older motel. If you are expecting the Ritz or a chain hotel, you will be disappointed. But our room was clean and we loved the balcony by the river with the rocking chairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shannon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlem, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Older hotel but room was very clean and the service was very nice and friendly. The location was very good. Will stay here again. Its not an upscale ritzy place but clean and good price for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I usually don't stay in Mom & Pop hotels as I fear they are not clean, but this one was a pleasant surprise. It is directly opposite the much more expensive Comfort Suite Inn. My non-smoking room had no trace of cigarette smoke. I liked the thick pile (clean) carpet on the floor. The room was clean and tidy and spacious. There was a balcony with a couple of chairs at the back of the room, overlooking the river. This hotel has no breakfast. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.5 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#15 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
0.5 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newfound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newfound Lodge

Property: Newfound Lodge
Address: 1192 Tsali Blvd, Highway 441 N., Cherokee, NC 28719-7200
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Newfound Hotel Cherokee
Newfound Motel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing