We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem!”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband and I planned a 4-day getaway and stayed at this Inn. We booked it because of reviews on this website and we are SO glad we did! Room was a little small, but all amenities were there. We could see Chimney Rock from our window! The landscaping and grounds are just breathtaking. The staff was great to us--we ate at the Inn's restaurant 3 times and were never disappointed! Beautiful porches/with rockers to relax and sit-a-spell. We definitely will book again next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: just ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thayes1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review! We love it when our guests stay for a few days and enjoy relaxing in this beautiful place. Thank you for including the great photos! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

Great place to slow down and relax. You can spend time sitting on the huge front porch, hang out in the game room, or just relax. Wine and cheese is a nice treat starting at 5 daily, fresh fruit provides a nice plus for breakfast. Staff very nice and accomodating for any additional items.

One suggestion:Shift coffee time in the am to at least 7:00 for those that like to relax and enjoy the calm moments in the morning with just a great cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel noiser due to St traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRNC-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thank you for taking time to write a review. That front porch is especially nice this time of year!
I'm glad you enjoyed the many features the Inn has to offer. Providing for a relaxing stay is our major goal. We appreciate your suggestion for earlier coffee. We take our guests' suggestions seriously and will consider the change.
Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Great place to stay. Friendly service and great views of Chimney Rock. Would highly recommend this vacation spot.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meanie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for the great photos! We're always glad to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Last weekend our grandson got married and we were at The Esmeralda Inn for two days. Our experience from the start was one of relaxation, being made to feel at home. Our room was most comfortable and supplied with fluffey towels and bed linens that were crisp and clean. The food was certainly delicious and well prepared. The staff was outstanding.
We look for another opportunity when we are in the area to be a guest again at The Esmeralda Inn.
Sincerely,
Ruth & Don Storms

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storms32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review! We had such a good time with the whole wedding party. We always want our guests to feel at home and welcome. This is our "home" and we truly enjoy sharing it with such nice people.
We hope you find that opportunity to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

My Family and I spent 3 days. We were there for my daughters wedding. Had rehearsal dinner in the dinning room. The food was so good and the service was great. Everyone was so nice and so helpful. Having the game room for all the kids & parents able to hang out and play games together was wonderful. We also had the gameroom area for the day of the wedding for everyone to get there hair and makeup done. All in all the Esmeralda made our stay and my daughters wedding a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlene94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

It was a pleasure having your family stay with us. The Inn is the ideal place for a small wedding and the festivities that go with it. I'm glad you had a good time and that we could help make it a special time for all of you.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's always gratifying when we see that we've succeeded in making our guests feel at home!
Come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I'm not sure where the previous reviewer stayed, but creepy is not an accurate description. I'm currently in a wonderful room with great linens and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The staff is welcoming and inviting. All the hallways were lit and warm. There was a fire going most of the day and I spent a good amount of time reading in front of it. The room is clean, the bathroom is immaculate and there's a wonderful game room on the second floor. The continental breakfast isn't the best, but it's the off-season. The staff is so helpful and remembered our name and preferences. This is a great place to stay in Lake Lure. The Broad River is across the street and can be heard from the front porch. Can't say much better.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brady0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My wife and I love to travel around NC and up the east coast, exploring small areas and Inns like the Esmeralda. But this was by far the nicest place we have ever been to! From the great fireplace to the pool table and game room, the views of Chimney Rock, we were in heaven. Not to mention, the dirty dancing dance floor! The attention to detail in this place is unbelievable. The food was wonderful and the owners graciously took the time to tell us about all the history in this establishment and town. The rooms are cozy with beds you could just melt into. After seeing a few comments on the quality of rooms I was skeptical, but my first hand experience proved me way wrong. Regardless, who goes to Chimney Rock to just sit around in their room anyway?? My wife and I will be sure to return soon, just in time for the new hot tub to go in!!! Thank you Esmeralda staff for this wonderful romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wally754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! The Esmeralda has such a rich history and we love to tell its story. I'm glad you enjoyed all the great features the Inn has to offer. Everyone likes the game room! The Spa area is expected to be complete in early to mid April. We look forward to your return trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
17.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
19.4 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: £130 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing