We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable weekend for the entire family”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We wanted to get away for a weekend,and the criteria was: mountains, and some place very comfortable to stay because we have a 4 month old baby. I'm so glad we chose Chimney Rock and The Esmeralda Inn to stay at. We had a super comfy stay. The room was clean, and the beds very comfortable. And, most of all, the Inn staff are all really wonderful and helpful folks. My little baby boy (4 months old) made a lot of friends, and seemed to enjoy himself so much, he's missing all the fun now that we are home. :) And my daughter is full of stories for her friends.

I'd like to mention especially that chef Sean went out of his way to accommodate our vegetarian diet and we loved all the food we ate there. We're sure to return for a trip to remember.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrooti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thank you for your review! This is a great place to get away and relax. We are in such a beautiful spot. I'm glad you had a good time. We have a wonderful staff, who take pride in making sure everything is just right for our guests. Chef Sean is great. We're always happy to accommodate special requests if we can.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for The Esmeralda Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

From the moment we arrived, our gracious innkeepers, Doug and Aileen made us feel at home and like family. Their staff were all very attentive and helped to make our stay a special one. Our room was luxurious, the bed linens and pillows made for very comfortable sleeping. Dinner in the dining room proved to be first rate. The shrimp and grits and the tuna steak and crabcake were delicious. The homemade applecake was the best I've had. Overall, our stay at the Esmeralda was an exceptional and memorable experience. Can't wait to plan another stay at the Esmerald, perhaps for a family reunion or even a wedding!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonastrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We think of the Inn as home and love it when our guests feel the same. Everyone loves the luxurious linens! It's our pleasure make your stay a relaxing one.
We are very lucky to have Chef Sean and a great kitchen staff. We like to think we have the best food in the Gorge!
We'd love to host any special events you have in the future. This is a great place for small reunions and weddings. We look forward to making your next stay as memorable as your first!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Esmeralda. Rustic elegance describes the Inn perfectly. Attention to detail is evident inside and outside the Inn. We enjoyed sitting on the porch having our coffee in the morning or a glass of wine before dinner. The landscaping is beautiful and the azaleas and dogwood were in full bloom. There is also a lovely deck with umbrella tables to the side of the Inn that makes an ideal spot to have breakfast. They were finishing a beautiful jacuzzi and massage area out back with an outdoor fireplace that we will look forward to using when we return next time.
Everyone was very friendly and accomodating to all of our needs. We enjoyed several chats with Doug and Aileen, the owners, who told us all about the interesting history of the Esmeralda. The dining at the Inn is also excellent, and Sean the chef, came out and talked with guests as they dined making sure everyone was happy.
Our room was small but very clean and nice with a wonderful view of the mountains and landscaping below. The bed and linens are luxurious and so comfortable.
We highly recommend the Esmeralda to anyone and we look forward to returning and enjoying the Inn again and again. Thanks to the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review! You were here at the perfect time of year. Spring in the Gorge is breathtaking. We appreciate your comments on the attention to details. This is our primary goal - for every element of your stay to be the best it can be.
Chef Sean is a real gem! He takes great pride in making sure every guest has a great experience.
The Spa area is almost finished. The next time you come, there will be one more place to relax and enjoy our hospitality! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband and I planned a 4-day getaway and stayed at this Inn. We booked it because of reviews on this website and we are SO glad we did! Room was a little small, but all amenities were there. We could see Chimney Rock from our window! The landscaping and grounds are just breathtaking. The staff was great to us--we ate at the Inn's restaurant 3 times and were never disappointed! Beautiful porches/with rockers to relax and sit-a-spell. We definitely will book again next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: just ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thayes1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review! We love it when our guests stay for a few days and enjoy relaxing in this beautiful place. Thank you for including the great photos! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Great place to slow down and relax. You can spend time sitting on the huge front porch, hang out in the game room, or just relax. Wine and cheese is a nice treat starting at 5 daily, fresh fruit provides a nice plus for breakfast. Staff very nice and accomodating for any additional items.

One suggestion:Shift coffee time in the am to at least 7:00 for those that like to relax and enjoy the calm moments in the morning with just a great cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel noiser due to St traffic.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRNC-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thank you for taking time to write a review. That front porch is especially nice this time of year!
I'm glad you enjoyed the many features the Inn has to offer. Providing for a relaxing stay is our major goal. We appreciate your suggestion for earlier coffee. We take our guests' suggestions seriously and will consider the change.
Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Great place to stay. Friendly service and great views of Chimney Rock. Would highly recommend this vacation spot.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meanie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for the great photos! We're always glad to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Last weekend our grandson got married and we were at The Esmeralda Inn for two days. Our experience from the start was one of relaxation, being made to feel at home. Our room was most comfortable and supplied with fluffey towels and bed linens that were crisp and clean. The food was certainly delicious and well prepared. The staff was outstanding.
We look for another opportunity when we are in the area to be a guest again at The Esmeralda Inn.
Sincerely,
Ruth & Don Storms

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storms32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review! We had such a good time with the whole wedding party. We always want our guests to feel at home and welcome. This is our "home" and we truly enjoy sharing it with such nice people.
We hope you find that opportunity to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
116 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
#3 of 5 in Chimney Rock
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: £148 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing