We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buyer beware”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

They are a great place to stay if you have a lot of money. However they have NO help after hours in case of emergencys such as the power going out, etc. They charge your account twice within a week of your stay then a week later one charge will drop off. They call it "pre autherization" on the first charge...and there is nothing they can do about getting it back in your account. (so make sure you have plenty of money in your account for that surprise because they wont tell you about it up front) YOu dont get much for the money either. They over charge for their flowers and strawberries and their food in house. I have been there twice now and both were special because my husband planned the trip. HOwever, I wont be back due to the account being charged thing.

Room Tip: ask for their best room or you will be put in a shoe box of a room where you can hardly move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sb477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review! We are always happy to hear from guests with good and not so good comments. From the not so good comments our staff tries to reflects on ways we might have handled something a little differently.

The stay that you refer to in this review was over the Valentines weekend. During this time we offered rooms ranging from $119.00-$179.00. Your choice was our most expensive room. During the booking you also requested one dozen roses and chocolate covered strawberries. Rose during Holidays tends to climb in price. We do feel though a dozen roses in a glass vase on a holiday weekend are well worth the $50.00 charged.

The Esmeralda like many small Inn’s closes its office in the evening. There is always a person on the property if they are needed. This person can be reached in case of a special need or emergency by simply calling the number that is supplied to each guest at the front desk.
To our disappointment the reason you state that you will not be back to the Esmeralda is unfortunately not in our control. When a debit card is used to book a room some banks pre-approve the amount. Because the card is like cash, the bank does this to assure that money will be in the account when the reservation date comes. This is a credit hold that is later released at the banks discretion. You were correct when you said there was nothing we could do to get it back on your account. This is the banks rules not ours.

We are sorry that your stay wasn’t what you felt to be a good value. We hope that in the future you will give us a try again. Repeat guests are the only way a small business can survive. We value your comments as will do everything we can to make sure other guests don’t have similar stays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I visited here for a quick 2-day weekend get-away.

Let me tell you it was both fantastic and relaxing.

I won't say I was too worried but all the favorable reviews of the Esmerelda had me a little leary...how could everyone who visits have such a great time?

Couple things, the staff is amazing, the restaurant is fabulous, the beds are to die for and the general ambiance is perfect.

They have a great game room with billiards, air hockey and puzzles. (See picture)

We had a fantastic lunch at the onsite restaurant and then asked the owners where we should have dinner. They told us we should have dinner at their place and then their second choice would be a restaurant down the road, Larkin's on the Lake. Well, we made the wrong choice and went to Larkin's on the Lake. Don't waste your time/money. Just eat and enjoy the fabulous food at the Esmerelda. I think they must have some type of professional chef on staff or something.

Anyways, we highly recommend this place as your and your loved ones will have a perfect experience!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetNJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful review! I'm glad you had a great experience with us. It's our goal to make every guests stay a memorable one.

We recently hired Chef Michael and he's doing a fabulous job for us. He was trained at the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, NY. He has experience and a dedication to fresh, made from scratch cooking. He is a great addition to our wonderful staff. We are so glad you enjoyed dining with us.

I hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I feel so bad it has taken me so long to write this review. I do the travel and business planning for an office in Charlotte our company is worldwide. In early spring I saw the Esmeralda on-line and thought it might be a great place to host a business group leader retreat. After a few discussions with Doug from the Esmeralda, my husband and I decided to take a weekend and check out the Esmeralda before I booked my companies business retreat.

What an amazing place the Esmeralda. Our usual business retreat takes us to more of larger hotels or banquet facilities. After our stay at the Esmeralda we couldn’t believe how the Inn balances romantic weekends and vacationers with business groups. One rule was clear when vacationers are vacationing the Esmeralda doesn’t mix business. The same goes for business groups not being mixed with general guest stays. We found if you date is available you are assured the Esmeralda staff is there for you. The Inn’s decorating and service is geared to a refined guest who wants to sill have fun and relax.

My husband and I and our trip to the Esmeralda was nothing short of perfect. Every detail was met. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. While we were here we soaked in their new outdoor 20 person Jacuzzi and even roasted marsh mellows in a fire place on the patio. I had time to make all my plans for the business trip and when we left I knew the Esmeralda was going to set a new standard for a different type of business retreat.

Retreat days arrived and we were greeted by a staff person named Sharron. She is the Inn manager. She had everyone checked in before we arrived. From the moment we checked in through the fours day we were all here, the Esmeralda provided every item we needed for a productive week of work and pleasure. The breaks were added fun with the game room and many other spaces. Our off site team building we perfect for an afternoon of learning and team building. The food was adapted to meet our time, serving style and diet needs. A real home-run for our demanding group. We are already working on a return trip. Thank you to the owners of the Esmeralda and all the great staff.

I would like to make on side note about rooms. This is in defense of the Esmeralda and not other reviewers. When we were looking for our business retreat spot we saw some reviews cautioning future guest about rooms being small. Some of the rooms are small but looking beyond the room size we do extensive travel. Our criteria are Clean, Comfortable, Well Appointed, Wireless, Updated and Private Baths. The Esmeralda is all this times 10. The Inn itself has so many different areas to enjoy if you need size. The rooms were just perfect. We survey all attendees after a retreat and it was unanimous the Esmeralda had a perfect combination of elegant amenities and functional space to fit our needs.

Thanks Again,
Barbara
Charlotte IT

Room Tip: Book aarly if you are planning a larger event. The Esmeralda restricts dates for their leisure guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Barbara, thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! It was such a pleasure to have you and your husband, then your group with us. We like to think the Inn can be many different things, depending on our guests' needs. It's gratifying to hear we succeeded with your retreat. We have a great staff who take pride in making The Esmeralda a special place.

Some of our rooms are not large, but as you said, there are other great areas to enjoy. The game room and outdoor patio area are favorite spots. The Jacuzzi and outdoor fireplace were new this season. I'm glad you enjoyed them!

We so appreciate your thoughtful comments. We look forward to seeing you and your group again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Staying at The Esmeralda Inn right now. Beautiful. Hubby and I just had dinner and all I can say is, it was absolutely delicious! Our waiter was FANTASTIC. The Esmeralda is definitely a beautiful little gem nestled in the mountain.

More review to follow but wanted to give a quick little update to all of you considering heading out this way. :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraS450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to write us a review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We think of the Inn as home and love it when our guests have a great time.
We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This Christmas week-end was our first stay at the Esmeralda. Our expectations were exceeded. Everything about the property was top-notch. Beautiful facility and location. Everyone went out of their way to make the stay comfortable and relaxing. We are generally not pleased with most "hotel" restaurants as they are often there for "convenience" rather than their culinary abilities. Not so at the Esmeralda. Had dinner, breakfast and Christmas buffet there and everything was absolutely delicious. We highly recommend the Esmeralda and will be back ourselves sometime next year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreensboroCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for the great review! We like to think we have the best Restaurant in the Gorge. I'm glad you enjoyed all your meals with us.

It is our goal to make every guest's stay a memorable one. I hope you will come back often and make lots of happy memories here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Esmeralda Inn in December. We planned a visit to the Biltmore House to see the Christmas decorations. We were SO pleased with The Esmeralda! The location, the staff, the CLEANLINESS were all wonderful. The rooms are small and quaint, but the views are great from your room. Comfy beds and pillows. Nicely appointed rooms and bathrooms.
We thought the staff was warm and welcoming. We met Chef Michelle...she does a great job and loves her work! She made us a wonderful picnic lunch that we enjoyed creekside just down the road from the hotel in Chimney Rock. Her picnic lunch was thoughtfully made and packed nicely for us. The food was very fresh and of good quality.
Overall, we cannot wait to go back again and again! We feel like we found a little slice of heaven in the mountains. Can't wait to go back and hike in the park at Chimney Rock!

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a view of the mountains. The hotel is in a valley, so there are mountains on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bethy1SouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's hard to beat our location! We're close enough to enjoy the benefits of the city and far enough away to have the quiet of the mountains.
Our guests' comfort is our top priority. I'm glad you were pleased with your room and the amenities.
We are very fortunate to have Chef Michelle and the rest of our great staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This trip was for our honeymoon and we found it to be the most accommodating and amazing place ever! It was peaceful, serene, and magical. the food in the restaurant was great and again the service was top notch. Our stay at the Esmeralda was a breath of fresh air :)

Room Tip: corner rooms offer a great view of the surrounding mountains and the beautiful Esmeralda property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful review! We're glad we could share in your special occassion. This is a beautiful area. Winter here is quiet and restful.

We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
1.5 mi away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19.4 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Asheville
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: £126 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing