We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Lure - our home away from home”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lake Lure - our home away from home”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nites at the Esmeralda and hated to leave. There was hot coffee,
pastries, cereal, juice and more for breakfast and that was no charge. The bedding was heavenly. My husband usualy is up by 5 but we both slept till after 8 each morning we were there. Looking forward to coming back and enjoying the spa. This was our 1st time staying at the Esmeralda and we look forward to a visit back. Lake Lure is a beautiful area - if you have
never been give it a try one weekend. You will be back. As a side note there is a new restaurant called Medina's in Lake Lure and we had an excellent meal there. I am assuming
the owner is a chef as there were fresh hot cinnamon buns that we took with us and they were soooo good. Thanks to the folks at the Esmeralda Inn for making our stay unforgettable. Lisa and Ron

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meme6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! We get many compliments on the great beds! It sounds like you were well rested while you were with us. Next time, I hope you'll be here when The Restaurant is open. The food is wonderful! We serve the continental breakfast on the mornings when The Restaurant is closed, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Everything is made from scratch (except the cereal!). The owners of Medina's are good people and do a great job with their business. Every area needs more than one great place to eat!

Lake Lure is a beautiful area. It's almost spring and things are beginning to bloom. Come back and visit soon. Spring, summer, fall, all wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    86
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
103
371
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and the inn is wonderful. The staff is excellent and the proprietors are fantastic and very friendly. The Esmerelda has ensured that we will be returning to Chimney Rock as well as recommending it to everyone we know. Thanks for such a pleasant stay, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to make every guest's stay a memorable one and as special as we can make it. We hope you'll make us your spot for anniversaries for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

They are a great place to stay if you have a lot of money. However they have NO help after hours in case of emergencys such as the power going out, etc. They charge your account twice within a week of your stay then a week later one charge will drop off. They call it "pre autherization" on the first charge...and there is nothing they can do about getting it back in your account. (so make sure you have plenty of money in your account for that surprise because they wont tell you about it up front) YOu dont get much for the money either. They over charge for their flowers and strawberries and their food in house. I have been there twice now and both were special because my husband planned the trip. HOwever, I wont be back due to the account being charged thing.

Room Tip: ask for their best room or you will be put in a shoe box of a room where you can hardly move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sb477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review! We are always happy to hear from guests with good and not so good comments. From the not so good comments our staff tries to reflects on ways we might have handled something a little differently.

The stay that you refer to in this review was over the Valentines weekend. During this time we offered rooms ranging from $119.00-$179.00. Your choice was our most expensive room. During the booking you also requested one dozen roses and chocolate covered strawberries. Rose during Holidays tends to climb in price. We do feel though a dozen roses in a glass vase on a holiday weekend are well worth the $50.00 charged.

The Esmeralda like many small Inn’s closes its office in the evening. There is always a person on the property if they are needed. This person can be reached in case of a special need or emergency by simply calling the number that is supplied to each guest at the front desk.
To our disappointment the reason you state that you will not be back to the Esmeralda is unfortunately not in our control. When a debit card is used to book a room some banks pre-approve the amount. Because the card is like cash, the bank does this to assure that money will be in the account when the reservation date comes. This is a credit hold that is later released at the banks discretion. You were correct when you said there was nothing we could do to get it back on your account. This is the banks rules not ours.

We are sorry that your stay wasn’t what you felt to be a good value. We hope that in the future you will give us a try again. Repeat guests are the only way a small business can survive. We value your comments as will do everything we can to make sure other guests don’t have similar stays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itasca, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I visited here for a quick 2-day weekend get-away.

Let me tell you it was both fantastic and relaxing.

I won't say I was too worried but all the favorable reviews of the Esmerelda had me a little leary...how could everyone who visits have such a great time?

Couple things, the staff is amazing, the restaurant is fabulous, the beds are to die for and the general ambiance is perfect.

They have a great game room with billiards, air hockey and puzzles. (See picture)

We had a fantastic lunch at the onsite restaurant and then asked the owners where we should have dinner. They told us we should have dinner at their place and then their second choice would be a restaurant down the road, Larkin's on the Lake. Well, we made the wrong choice and went to Larkin's on the Lake. Don't waste your time/money. Just eat and enjoy the fabulous food at the Esmerelda. I think they must have some type of professional chef on staff or something.

Anyways, we highly recommend this place as your and your loved ones will have a perfect experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetNJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review! I'm glad you had a great experience with us. It's our goal to make every guests stay a memorable one.

We recently hired Chef Michael and he's doing a fabulous job for us. He was trained at the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, NY. He has experience and a dedication to fresh, made from scratch cooking. He is a great addition to our wonderful staff. We are so glad you enjoyed dining with us.

I hope you'll be staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I feel so bad it has taken me so long to write this review. I do the travel and business planning for an office in Charlotte our company is worldwide. In early spring I saw the Esmeralda on-line and thought it might be a great place to host a business group leader retreat. After a few discussions with Doug from the Esmeralda, my husband and I decided to take a weekend and check out the Esmeralda before I booked my companies business retreat.

What an amazing place the Esmeralda. Our usual business retreat takes us to more of larger hotels or banquet facilities. After our stay at the Esmeralda we couldn’t believe how the Inn balances romantic weekends and vacationers with business groups. One rule was clear when vacationers are vacationing the Esmeralda doesn’t mix business. The same goes for business groups not being mixed with general guest stays. We found if you date is available you are assured the Esmeralda staff is there for you. The Inn’s decorating and service is geared to a refined guest who wants to sill have fun and relax.

My husband and I and our trip to the Esmeralda was nothing short of perfect. Every detail was met. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. While we were here we soaked in their new outdoor 20 person Jacuzzi and even roasted marsh mellows in a fire place on the patio. I had time to make all my plans for the business trip and when we left I knew the Esmeralda was going to set a new standard for a different type of business retreat.

Retreat days arrived and we were greeted by a staff person named Sharron. She is the Inn manager. She had everyone checked in before we arrived. From the moment we checked in through the fours day we were all here, the Esmeralda provided every item we needed for a productive week of work and pleasure. The breaks were added fun with the game room and many other spaces. Our off site team building we perfect for an afternoon of learning and team building. The food was adapted to meet our time, serving style and diet needs. A real home-run for our demanding group. We are already working on a return trip. Thank you to the owners of the Esmeralda and all the great staff.

I would like to make on side note about rooms. This is in defense of the Esmeralda and not other reviewers. When we were looking for our business retreat spot we saw some reviews cautioning future guest about rooms being small. Some of the rooms are small but looking beyond the room size we do extensive travel. Our criteria are Clean, Comfortable, Well Appointed, Wireless, Updated and Private Baths. The Esmeralda is all this times 10. The Inn itself has so many different areas to enjoy if you need size. The rooms were just perfect. We survey all attendees after a retreat and it was unanimous the Esmeralda had a perfect combination of elegant amenities and functional space to fit our needs.

Thanks Again,
Barbara
Charlotte IT

Room Tip: Book aarly if you are planning a larger event. The Esmeralda restricts dates for their leisure guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Barbara, thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! It was such a pleasure to have you and your husband, then your group with us. We like to think the Inn can be many different things, depending on our guests' needs. It's gratifying to hear we succeeded with your retreat. We have a great staff who take pride in making The Esmeralda a special place.

Some of our rooms are not large, but as you said, there are other great areas to enjoy. The game room and outdoor patio area are favorite spots. The Jacuzzi and outdoor fireplace were new this season. I'm glad you enjoyed them!

We so appreciate your thoughtful comments. We look forward to seeing you and your group again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Staying at The Esmeralda Inn right now. Beautiful. Hubby and I just had dinner and all I can say is, it was absolutely delicious! Our waiter was FANTASTIC. The Esmeralda is definitely a beautiful little gem nestled in the mountain.

More review to follow but wanted to give a quick little update to all of you considering heading out this way. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraS450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to write us a review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We think of the Inn as home and love it when our guests have a great time.
We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This Christmas week-end was our first stay at the Esmeralda. Our expectations were exceeded. Everything about the property was top-notch. Beautiful facility and location. Everyone went out of their way to make the stay comfortable and relaxing. We are generally not pleased with most "hotel" restaurants as they are often there for "convenience" rather than their culinary abilities. Not so at the Esmeralda. Had dinner, breakfast and Christmas buffet there and everything was absolutely delicious. We highly recommend the Esmeralda and will be back ourselves sometime next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreensboroCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you for the great review! We like to think we have the best Restaurant in the Gorge. I'm glad you enjoyed all your meals with us.

It is our goal to make every guest's stay a memorable one. I hope you will come back often and make lots of happy memories here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
113 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
136 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Property: The Esmeralda Inn
Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing