We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Mountain Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
“Delicious Mountain Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I escaped to the mountains amid end-of-semester craziness at our schools, just needing to slow down and breathe. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Esmeralda Inn. Our room was well-appointed, upscale without being snooty, with a spa-like bathroom and an incredibly comfy bed. The sound of the river from the front porch and the beautiful landscaping added to our experience and provided the serenity we needed. The crowning experience for us, however, was the 9-course tasting menu in the restaurant. We were the first to try it since it had only just been introduced and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for excellent food that appeals to all the senses--each course was beautifully presented and incorporated a variety of tastes, scents, and textures that made the whole event exciting and satisfying. Bring a bottle of wine. The staff members in the hotel and in the restaurant were attentive, friendly, and welcoming. The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant was the perfect retreat for us and for anyone in need of peace. Go. Now. Eat. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are very excited about the 9-Course Tasting Menu. There is nothing else like it in the area. I'm so glad you tried it and enjoyed it. I think it could become a signature feature of The Restaurant. Chef Michael has brought a whole new dimension in dining to the Gorge.

This is such a peaceful area, the river across the street and the little waterfall on the property make for a very relaxing atmosphere. I'm glad you enjoyed all of it!

We hope you'll stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    82
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
93
343
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The inn is delightful and offers all mod-cons in a lovely setting. The room we stayed in was super clean and comfortable. The mattress was a ultra comfy. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Bring your own wine as liquor law applies. We've already booked a few rooms for a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HakuTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to make every guests' stay an enjoyable one. It sounds like we succeeded! We get lots of great comments on our beds. They are wonderful! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and will be returning soon. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Exceeded expectations across the board. We stayed here after it was recommended by another hotel in Lake Lure that was booked. I was impressed. The place was clean and with many thoughtful touches. They don't push a luxury angle / luxury names on, say, everything from the food to the toiletries but the place is luxurious in many delightful little ways. The HVAC is a quiet European unit with no compressors going on and off. (We turned ours off and cracked the window to listen to the river outside.) The continental breakfast has lots of homemade items such as yogurt, coffee cake, and banana nut bread. The staff is professional, courteous, and knowledgeable without being chummy and familiar. I rarely see this kind of well-run establishment in this time but occasionally one runs across a restaurant or hotel where the owner has taken full ownership and pride in their business - and it shows. The Esmeralda is such a place. p.s. the wood floor downstairs was donated from the "Dirty Dancing" gymnasium.

Room Tip: The sound of the River can be heard from the front rooms but the back rooms are probably fine as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wireless200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We like to do everything we can to make your stay comfortable and memorable. The location helps! The sound of the river is so much better than air conditioners.

Chef Michael and our Pastry Chef Sharyn do a great job of preparing the foods you enjoyed for breakfast. We are very fortunate to have both of them with us.

We think of The Esmeralda as home and our staff as family. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we all hope you'll return many times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have wanted to stay at the Esmeralda Inn since I was a young child visiting Chimney Rock, and my husband surprised me with a trip there for our second anniversary. It was absolutely delightful! The accommodations were beautiful, cozy, and comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The Greek omelet that I had for breakfast was the best I have ever had. It is a most beautiful and enchanting place to be, and the hospitality of the staff adds to the charm. It's a must-visit stop in beautiful North Carolina!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realnurse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for the great review! I'm so glad you finally got to stay with us. It is our goal to make every guests' stay a memorable one, especially when it's a special occasion.

Chef Michael has been with us for a couple of months now and we continue to get rave reviews on his food. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast so much.

We're very proud of the Inn and love it when others appreciate it so much. Thank you again.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We are had a great time. The rooms are on the small side but being where they are who wants to stay in the rooms. The 2nd floor game room was great and little touches like mini fridges for left overs and wine was a nice touch. All of the staff was great. Will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review! Some of our rooms are not large, but as you pointed out, our guests generally don't spend alot of time in the rooms. Small but comfortable! There are so many great public spaces. I'm glad you enjoyed the game room. And the views are wonderful from there. Soon the Jacuzzi will be open. The Stone Patio area with the outdoor fireplace is always available as well.

We hope you'll be back soon and stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I just want to thank the entire Esmeralda staff for a perfectly wonderful weekend! You made certain that my daughter's wedding was everything she imagined that it would be! The food was excellent and the accommodations were outstanding! Everything was so detail oriented and beautiful and you guys are so professional! Most of all, I want to thank you for your friendliness and hospitaility. You made sure that our whole family and our friends felt right at home! Thank you again for everything and we do look forward to seeing you all again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 14. The bed was comfortable and our view was gorgeous. I really appreciat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamiSteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for the great review! It's always fun to have a wedding party take over the house! I'm glad you enjoyed everything. Chef Michael is doing a wonderful job for us in The Restaurant.

Our goal is to make every stay a memorable one. A wedding is an especially good opportunity to make those memories special.

It was a pleasure having you with us. We hope you'll come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had our wedding at the Esmeralda Inn and stayed for three nights. Our friends and family stayed as well. We all had the time of our life. The food was fabulous, the staff showed so much hospitality, and the Inn and landscaping is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are so nice and have some wonderful accommodations. The beds are the best I have slept in. I am so glad we chose this location and we had so many compliments by our guest regarding the food and the Inn. I would highly recommend the Esmeralda Inn, our experience was beyond words!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 and it has a beautiful view of Chimney Rock and you can also see the rapids fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! It was a pleasure having your wedding party with us. It's always fun when we have a group take over the house!

Room 10, the Premium View King, is the best view in the house. It's hard to beat our location. We have such wonderful views from most of our rooms. This time of year, it's especially lovely.

I'm glad your guests enjoyed their stay and we hope you will all come back many times and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
19.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
17.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 3 in Chimney Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,354 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Property: The Esmeralda Inn
Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing