We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We absolutely loved Chimney Rock and it was a pity we were only staying for one night.

The Esmeralda Inn looks beautiful from the outside and even better on the inside. The staff were very friendly and the complementary cheese and wine between 4-5pm was lovely (and unexpected). Our room was a little basis and quite dark, perhaps we should have paid the extra for a mountain view room? Regardless, it was clean and comfortable. It was pretty quiet when we stayed but we were probably a little ahead of the main season and it was actually quite nice with not too many other people around.

It's definitely worth the trip out to Chimney Rock and if your coming here you must stay at bthe Esmeralda.

Room Tip: Our room was quite basic so maybe the mountain view rooms are better.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungerpangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful review. The Traditional King rooms are on the back side of the building and therefore don't have as spectacular a view as some of the other rooms, but they all have the wonderful beds and furnishings. The Inn has great public areas such as the Game Room with wonderful views of the river and Chimney Rock. There is also the Front Porch for relaxing and enjoying the sight and sound of the river. The Deck off the Dining Room has the best dining views you'll find anywhere in the area! So we find our guests don't really spend alot of time in their rooms. And of course, lounging in the Jacuzzi under the stars isn't bad either!

We all think of The Esmeralda as home and want our guests to feel the same. It's our goal to make your visit as memorable as we can. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for The Esmeralda Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

History and world-class guest service are alive and well at the Esmeralda Inn! This past month, we were honored to host our wedding at the Inn, sharing it with our closest family members and friends. The experience was magical! From the food, to the luxurious accommodations, to the wonderful staff at every level, the experience exceeded all of our (fairly high) expectations. Thank you to Taryn, Doug and Aileen for orchestrating an im-peccable weekend! You created memories that will last us a lifetime and we will be back to visit soon.

With love and gratitude,
Brian and Heather Gladys

Room Tip: Room 10 has a great view of Chimney Rock! Rooms 1 & 2 have a private balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Hello Heather & Brian - Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was such a pleasure having you, your family and friends with us. We enjoyed it almost as much as you did! We have a great staff and when it all comes together for something like a wedding, it's very gratifying. Thank you for being so organized and making our jobs easy! It really was fun.

I hope you and your friends will be coming back often to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The Esmeralda is a modern version of a famous inn at Chimney Rock, NC. It combines the charm of a 19th century inn with the modern conveniences of a five star hotel. The staff and owner were extremely helpful and friendly.

This location is great for folks looking to ride some killer mountain bike trails. It is located within 30 mile of Dupont State Forest and Pisgah National Forest. Both are top-notch mountain biking locations with gnarly single track. Once you are done crushing your body on the trails it is nice to come back to a clean shower, complimentary wine and cheese, followed by a soak in a huge hot tub. Then enjoy diner at the hotel restaurant. The food is wonderful and uses great fresh local ingredients. The wife and I have become real foodies and the Esmeralda restaurant did not disappoint.

We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Room 12 has an excellent view of chimney rock. It is small but cozy for two.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write this great review. We get quite a few mountain bikers here. There are some great trails in the area, with more planned for the future.

It's nice to come back to a little pampering after a strenuous ride. I'm glad you enjoyed the Jacuzzi and dinner.

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We used this hotel for an overnight stop to see the area. The hotel has lovely reception/public areas, with old wood and open fireplaces. The staff are particularly friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful evening meal - the best French onion soup I have ever tasted!!! The room was fine if a little crowded and the bathroom very nice. Excellent place to stay if you visit this beautiful area!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful review. I would agree, it's great French onion soup! Some of our rooms are not large, but we think that adds to their charm. We have great public areas with wonderful views, so you probably won't spend a lot of time in the room! This is a beautiful areas, with many fun things to do whether you're here for a night or a week.
We hope you'll stay with us again, the next time you're coming to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Perfect and friendly service. Comfortable rooms, great restaurant. Worth every dollar.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Thank you for your review! We love it when a guest has a good time and wants to come back.
We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Esmeralda, the ambiance, the staff, and we loved the food.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inesrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review! It was a pleasure having you both with us. This is a great place for family get-togethers. Lots of things to do in the area as well as here at the Inn.
We hope you'll return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My family and I spent a girls weekend in Chimney Rock for the Easter holiday this year. I found the Esmeralda on google and decided to give it a try. The hotel is amazing and cozy. We got a mountain view room which was worth the extra money. We ate at the hotel restaurant for most of our meals; the food is world class. The staff epitomizes Southern hospitality. I highly recommend the Esmeralda Inn. It's one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarheelrn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review! The views here are hard to beat. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Restaurant and your stay at our Inn. We are very fortunate to have Chef Michael and his staff. I think we have by far, the best Restaurant in the Gorge, but I might be a little prejudiced. It was a pleasure having your family with us. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
116 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
#3 of 5 in Chimney Rock
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: £148 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing