We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Esmeralda Inn
Nearby Hotels
Falls Country Motel(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carter Lodge(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chimney Rock Inn(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Black Mountain)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hendersonville Inn(Hendersonville)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
491
93
15
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
491
93
15
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake lureair hockeyoutdoor fireplacebroad riverchimney rock parklarge game roomlarge hot tubterrace roomshrimp and gritspicnic lunchfront porchdirty dancingget awayrocking chairstroutowners and staffmodern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I normally avoid any buffet like the plague; however, I have come to trust (with complete confidence) that the food offered at the Esmerelda's Thanksgiving buffet will be fresh and delectable.
The room was well appointed and comfortable.
The entire staff worked incredibly hard to ensure that we were completely pampered.
~S

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for the review! I understand your hesitation with buffets, but Chef George and his staff do a great job of not only preparing delicious food, they also make sure it stays fresh so the last person served enjoys the same quality as the first.

We have a wonderful staff. Everyone here thinks of the Inn as home and we want our guests to feel the same.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Add four sisters, birthday celebrations, a beautiful scentic mountain location, superbly comfortable beds and a few days to spend together and you come up with a great family retreat. The Esmeralda staff were great to help us find the gameroom/kitchen/living area, supply bowls and were very willing to accommodate our every desire to eat privately in a "homey atmosphere" within a high class inn full of their other guests. One sister had brought (as a surprize for us) some of her homemade vegetable soup and homemade chicken salad sandwiches, another sister brought homemade chocolate with black walnut fudge, another brought her fun and humorous ideas for use in the Esmeralda gameroom. We made up our own tournaments for pool, air hockey, playing cards and boardgame competitions. And me, the last sister who loves the out-of-doors had a wonderful time as I encouraged a group walk along the beautiful river, shopping in the quaint town and was extremely pleased with our visit to the nearby Chimney Rock State Park. We spent one of our nights at a comedy show and dinner (held at the inn) which was very entertaining, memorable and delicious. My "picky eater" sister was willing to try everything the chef had prepared for her meal and eventually ate ...everything on her plate. In fact, she tried to sneak and eat some of mine. Another day we ventured out to view the surrounding Lake Lure geographical area. We discussed our thoughts for a day trip and the Esmeralda owners printed a map and recommended places for us to go. On our last day, we wanted to depart for home "taking a path less traveled" and they helped us to plan a new route (for us) through the back roads for our road trip home. My sisters and I (all) said the same thing... "our time together at The Esmeralda Inn was like having an adventure together". lke,rkh,mks,ekm
"Come experience the mountain inn and its surrounding area for yourself. You will not be disappointed"

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for the great review! What a fun time you had! Family get-togethers are one of our specialties. We are always willing to accommodate special requests when we can. The goal is to make every visit enjoyable and memorable. Add the four sisters and there you have it.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Comedy Night. This is fairly new to The Esmeralda, but the response has been good and we'll probably continue to host them periodically. Watch our Newsletter and facebook for updates. Chef George and his staff are the best! He is very good at coming up with delicious and different entrees to please even the pickiest eaters. I'm glad your sister enjoyed!

We are in a great location. Not only do we have fabulous views, we are within a short drive to Asheville, Hendersonville, hiking, fishing, horseback riding, zip lining and many other activities.

Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had a short Thanksgiving getaway to the Esmeralda Inn. It exceded our expectations. The Thaksgiving brunch was extensive and delicious. The staff was very attentive. The drink selectiuon was very good.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank goldenbear25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the Thanksgiving Buffet! There's another one Christmas Day if you're going to be in the area. :-)
We acquired our liquor license the end of May and are still perfecting our Drink Menu. We have a wonderful Wine and Beer List and will continue to add to the selections.

I can't praise our staff often enough. We have wonderful people working with us and we appreciate your acknowledging them.

We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Wonderful lodge, warm hospitality, great game room complete with pool table, delicious restaurant. Large, comfy rooms. Lobby & exterior look just as they did 100 years ago but amenities have been updated nicely to modern standards.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SCJazzlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your review! It sounds like you enjoyed many of the amenities we have to offer. Next visit, you'll have to come when the Jacuzzi is open!

The Inn burned in 1996 and was rebuilt to capture the flavor of the old Inn, but as you say, with modern standards. All the rooms have private baths and wonderful beds!

We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed there for an overnight trip to Chimney Rock and fell in love with the hotel. Gorgeous and earthy, very comfortable, and less than a mile from the main strip of shops and the park enterance. We arrived late in the evening, maybe an hour before the resteraunt closed, but still stopped in for dinner and we were made very welcome and weren't rushed. The beds and rooms had everything we needed and were incredibly comfortable! I think the only thing we had trouble with was the instructions for the fan, but I think that was more our fault. :) We would have loved to stay longer if our schedules had allowed it!! I look forward to staying there again in the future, it's our #1 pick when we travel there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larke35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for the great review! Whether you are staying one night or a week, arrive at 3:00pm or 9:00pm, we want you to know we're glad you're here and want you to feel at home.

We are very fortunate to be in this location. We are very close to many of the activities available in the area. And the views are wonderful!

We look forward to your next, longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews