We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to slow down”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A lovely place to slow down”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After three days in Asheville, we arrived at The Esmeralda to explore some natural beauty and slow down a bit. The lodge is decorated to rustic perfection and impeccably clean. The service and attention we received was top notch. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The breakfast provided was certainly a step above most hotel chain continental offerings. I especially appreciated the fresh fruit. Consider enjoying your breakfast on the 2nd floor balcony. It is a great way to start your day with gorgeous views of Chimney Rock.
While we did take advantage of the game room one evening, it was the Esmeralda's beautiful patio that was the star of our stay. We visited off season and had very few neighbors in the inn. We had the patio and a beautiful, inviting fire all to ourselves. It was fantastic! We found Chimney Rock and Lake Lure to be pretty dead in the evening so we were thrilled that the Esmeralda offered us plenty of options to occupy our time after the sun went down.
While we would certainly recommend The Esmeralda, I would suggest that guests request a room with plenty of natural light and a view. Our room was lacking both. Upon reflection, we wish we had paid more for a different room.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 on the 3rd floor. Room was a little dark and dreary. No view. Pocket door on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for the great review! This is a beautiful Inn. When it was re-built after the fire in 1997, the owners wanted to keep the flavor of the old building, but with modern conveniences and added safety. They succeeded! We have wonderful staff who take pride in the 100% cleanliness rating from the NC Dept. of Health. We are very lucky to have good people working here.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Continental Breakfast. The breads as well as the yogurt are made in-house. We do try to have seasonal fruit available every day.

The Stone Patio and Jacuzzi are a favorite spot, especially in the evening. What a nice way to end a busy play day! Chimney Rock is pretty quiet at night. Part of the attraction to the area! Relax in the quiet.

Some of our rooms are larger and/or lighter than others. When the Inn was re-built after the fire in 1997, we had some restrictions in the size of rooms. Since the Inn is a Historical building, we re-built on the same footprint as the old Inn. For light, I would suggest requesting Room 110. It also has the best view in the house!

We appreciate your review and hope you will visit often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    86
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
103
369
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

They use the words luxury rustic, and that pretty much sums it up. My room was adequate, clean bed and clean bathroom which are my main concerns. Bed was extremely comfortable and linens and towels were the best I ever used.

Employees that I dealt with were all very nice and accommodating to my needs.

Very nice public read, porches, outdoor fireplace, etc.

This is where I would stay if I return to that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful review! While our rooms are not as large as the hotel chains, we make up for space by having great beds and linens!

We think of the Inn as home and every member of our staff takes pride in providing our guests with the best possible experience. We are very fortunate to have the people we have.

We hope you will return soon and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our third visit to this beautiful Inn. The owners Doug and Aileen are most gracious and have kept the Inn up to standards and continue to improve the surroundings.
They made us feel at home..This was one of our most relaxing visits. We had a premium mountain view room which was spacious with beautiful views of the mountains.The beds are very comfortable and pillows divine. Most hotels have lumpy pillows, these pillows were the best We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening viewing the mountains and the beautiful surroundings We had not enjoyed the game room on our last visits,but this visit we wanted to spend more time at the Inn taking advantage of the beauty found here. The game room has a lot of games to play, my husband taught me how to play pool, which we both enjoyed.The restaurant was not opened for breakfast, but the Inn provided a very nice set up for breakfast. The granola cereal was delicious, as well as the coffee. We used the refrigerator that was located in the hall not far from our room for snacks etc.. A refrigerator is also located on the second floor in the pantry. Ingles grocery store is a short distance from the Inn. The staff were all friendly and helpful, particularly Sharron, the general manager and Scout the evening staff. The Inn is close the Hendersonville and Asheville. This is the perfect place to relax and have a very restful sleep. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We love it when our guests return again and again! It means we are succeeding at making our guests feel at home. This is such a beautiful area, and we are so lucky to be in the perfect spot to enjoy the views and the quiet especially in the evening.

It's good that you made time to enjoy all the extras the Inn has to offer. The Game Room is a favorite spot, as well as the Jacuzzi which is now open for the season.

You would be surprised how many compliments we get on our beds and pillows! I'm glad you rested well.

We want all of our guests to feel welcome and at home when they stay with us. I'm glad this has been your experience each time you visit. Doug & Aileen take a great deal of pride in making The Esmeralda such a great place to stay (and work!).
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here many times under different owners. Rooms are clean and updated beautifully. Would stay here again if restaurant would be open for bkfst lunch and dinner. The food is so delicious when avail. Free brkfst was minimal, although fruit was very good. No decaf coffee though. Unfortunately the aura is very empty. I've stayed there when there was a warm welcoming atmosphere and I miss that. It is a beautiful place but it needs some warmth

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank RangerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I'm sorry your stay was not as pleasurable as you would have liked. We always want our guests to feel welcome and at home. If you look at our reviews, you'll see that the majority of our guests feel the Inn is warm and inviting.

If there is a problem, we want to do whatever we can to remedy the situation, but we can only correct a problem if we know it exists. There is little we can do to correct something if we only hear about it weeks later in a review.

The Restaurant operates on a reduced hours schedule in the winter and early spring, as there simply isn't enough business to warrant a full kitchen staff during the slow months. We will be open Friday, Saturday and Sunday for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, Brunch on Sundays beginning May 23rd. We are open every night for Dinner starting May 23rd.

We generally receive compliments on our Continental Breakfast as the breads and yogurt are made in-house. Decaf is always available, but we make it on request as most people prefer regular, caffeinated coffee. Had you let us know you wanted decaf, we would have been happy to make it for you.

We pride ourselves on providing a very friendly and comfortable stay. Because we offer a more personal approach to our visitors, it does involve some responsibility on the part of our guests to let us know their preferences and needs. We want every guest to feel at home.

We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great room with access to the upstairs porch complete with wicker furniture. It was good at evening to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. There is a fire pit and a 16 person hot tub outside. The room was fine; bathroom could have used more shelf space. There is also a restaurant in house. We had a good time!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JHR6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review! It's hard to beat our views and the sound of the River in the evening. I hope you made use of the Jacuzzi. There is no better way to unwind and relax after a day of hiking or shopping than to soak in a hot tub with a cold drink, gazing at the stars.

When the Inn was re-built after the fire in 1997, we had some restrictions on the design as this is an historical building. As a result, the bathrooms may not be as large as some, but we make up for it in charm and wonderful beds!

The Restaurant is wonderful! I hope you had Dinner with us.
Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etowah, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

An impromptu trip to Lake Lure led me to book a couple of much needed nights away at The Esmeralda Inn. Scout at the front desk was welcoming and accommodating. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I would have loved a room with a view of the mountains, but I booked at the last minute, so I was glad to have just gotten a room. The hot tub and outdoor fireplace was just what we needed! The views from the balcony and porch were breathtaking. Every need was met and there was much attention to detail. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room on the front of the hotel - it has a beautiful view and you have access to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I'm glad you found us! As we get further into the busy season, it's definitely a good idea to reserve in advance. But even though a couple of the rooms don't have a view of the mountains or river, they all have the wonderful beds, linens and toiletries to make your stay a little more than comfortable.

The Jacuzzi is a favorite spot to relax in the evening. Did you have S'mores? The views are pretty spectacular and in the evening, the stars add to the drama.

Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

* We stayed at the Esmeralda for two nights. We were in town for a wedding and the stay couldn't have been better.
* We had breakfast both days at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Since the Inn was full the wait time for the food was a little long. However this isn't a place for dash in and dash out. You should sit and savor.
* The room was very comfortable. The electric outlet dilemma was solved by the management (more on that later) by having each outlet equipped with a six outlet converter so you could plug in up to six devices.
* The bath is as shown in the pictures. A little small but very functional. Great shower pressure and plenty of hot water.
* There is only one bedside night stand. My wife likes to have a glass of water by her at night and we had to sit the glass on the floor. Perhaps the addition of a small table would be nice.
* The bath had only two plastic glasses available. If you have guests in for a wine they'll have to bring their own glass.
* There are ample towels and wash-cloths. Even a brown one for the ladies to use in make-up removal. A nice touch.
* There is no mini bar but refrigerators are provided in the hall and second floor recreation room for guest use. Somehow my 6-pack of brown ale was short by two bottles when I went to pick it up. I hope they enjoyed the beer.
* The recreation room on the second floor is huge and amply equipped TV's, pool table, etc. It's easily converted to a very large conference/meeting room.
* The wi-fi is complimentary at the Inn. I had a very strong signal in my room on the 3rd floor. No problems there. However, there is no desk/table in the room for the laptop.
* Now about the management. Obviously the owner, who is present, takes great pride in his establishment. The Inn is sharply run and a credit to their management skills. You can't beat an owner/manager. The buck stops with them.
* All in all a good stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! I'm so sorry 2 of your beers disappeared! As you said, we hope they enjoyed!

The Inn was rebuilt on the original footprint of the old Inn after the fire in 1997. As a historical building, we were somewhat restricted on the size of the rooms. Your suggestion for a small table in the rooms with only one nightstand is a good one and we'll give it some thought!

We work very hard to provide our guests with the best possible experience and it's gratifying to hear from someone that appreciates the details. We value your suggestions as well. It is only when we see the Inn through the eyes of our guests that we can make even small improvements that will add to your experience.

The owners are wonderful! They do take great pride in the Inn and work harder than anyone to make it a very special place.

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
2.1 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.2 mi away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
112 reviews
14.6 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
136 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
19.9 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Property: The Esmeralda Inn
Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing